I'm sure if you are bogged (or getting close to being bogged) everyone will know about it Greg.....
Will I need to bring along a huge HELP sign for when I get bogged ?????
I'm sure if you are bogged (or getting close to being bogged) everyone will know about it Greg.....
Thanks for that site, great to read as a teen in the late80s we did quite a few deliberate trips over a year or two looking for anything that resembled a lost buried hospital based on an old timers recollection + other stuff, if in that link they did find it I suspect we never had a hope.
Cruzin' the net and found this:
Changes to Bribie Island Permit Issuing Agents
Please note that Bongaree Caravan Park have withdrawn from issuing camping and vehicle access permits. You will not be able to obtain permits or permit packs from Bongaree Caravan Park after Friday the 18th of December 2009.
You can book your permits online (www.qld.gov.au/camping), book by phoning our call centre on 13 13 04, or by visiting the Bribie Emporium located at Jacana Avenue, Woorim (opening hours – 8am to 5pm daily – closed Christmas and Boxing Day).
QPWS apologises for any inconvenience.
(posted 16 December 2009)
Can you update the directions to include this please Phill.
All I want is to catch MORE legal fish!
Thanks Phill.
I will get onto it asap.
This link will work....
https://www.epa.qld.gov.au/parks/iap...T_TYPE=SERVICE
costs are $36.60 for a weekly permit
and $114.20 for a yearly one.
all money goes to Captain Blighs superfund...
Please read the first page again. I have edited directions.
phill
Is anyone considering camping up there? I have the Friday through till Sunday free. I need a break. I will probably head to DI Friday, then Bribie Sat depending on how I feel.
Just thought I'd throw up some pics of equipment I have for offroad.
Beach travel does not require much.
TOW BLOCK AND BOW SHACKLE... ( bad things can happen if you use towball )
TYRE DEFLATORS PER-SET TO 18PSI ( STRAUNS )
RECOVERY BAG.....KEEPS THINGS NEAT..
SNATCH STRAPS...I ALWAYS CARRY TWO......
GLOVES ARE A NECESSITY.... LEATHER PREFERABLY.
FIRST AID KIT......JUST IN CASE.
JUMPER LEADS.....VERY HANDY
COMPRESSOR......BEST YOU CAN AFFORD,
COMPRESSOR.....TWIN PISTON
TOOL KIT....... HOPE YOU DON'T NEED TO USE IT.
PLIERS TOOL KIT WITH RESCUE TAPE, ZIPPY TIES ETC..
IF YOU HAVE A WINCH.... A TREE PROTECTOR
AND A SNATCH BLOCK
you will notice there is no pic of a shovel..... I do not usually carry one. They are great for digging dunny holes. In all the years of beach driving and getting bogged etc, never had to use a shovel, but each to their own.
for the beach the basics would be snatch strap.
and of course:-
[IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/P/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.png[/IMG]
yep, new UHF.
any questions... ?
LP.
Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 25-12-2009 at 12:30 PM.
Geez Phil,
Most of us just drive around in the bush or on the sand and have never used that sort or gear.
Oh sorry - maybe it's the sort of car you drive around in.
I think you forgot to display a bit of your kit. A mask and snorkel set to find you car after you drive into a two foot mud puddle.
It's Christmas
That's true Brett, you ferets in the pretend 4 x 4's never carry your own gear 'cause you're spending way too much money repairing faults to just keep them roadworthy.. The items above are for my Toyota, Landy, Mitshi, Subar and Nissan recovery kit...
OH, and my Lada recovery kit consists of 2.5ltrs unleaded fuel and one box of matches....
Just because you are over the border doesn't mean you are too far away.... I know where you live remember
LP>
Well it looks like we have three minimum ready to go.
Depends on the older two if they make it.
Otherwise we will be there with bells on
Harry
I love the sound of reels screaming in the morning
On another note, All things going to plan and the weather is ok I think we'll camp the night up on the beach.
That does sound like a good plan Brett. let me know what site number you are at, if they tell you. ?/ I think the larger numbers are the furthest north.
LP.
Phill..Flea and his mate are going to come along also..2 patrols.
I am just trying to decide now about lunch.
I can bring along the big bbq and cook up everyones snags, steak etc or leave it to the individual ????
your thoughts ????????????
LP.