Who fishes out from Cairns - Page 23
Page 23 of 25 FirstFirst ... 13141516171819202122232425 LastLast

Thread: Who fishes out from Cairns

Re: Who fishes out from Cairns

Depends on your boat size Robbo. South of Cairns looks best as usual, tomorrow wouldn't be too bad in a larger boat.

Hey guys, Techniice sent me the wrong size esky, so I'm going to send it back unless anyone wants a 200L long-square esky as per their website: http://www.techniice.com/ice-boxes/t...e-box-sqr.html

$212.50 is what I paid plus postage via a fleabay auction, so got it for a very good price, so thought I'd offer it in case anyone wants an esky for reefies, I was chasing the longer mack esky. No skin off my nose but will contact them on Monday to ship it back if no-one is keen. I'd keep it as a reefies esky but I can only fit one decent esky in my little tub.

Cheers PM me if keen.

I'm all good for eskys at the moment but a good offer anyway.
    I went out for a run from port to a wreck I saw on navionics off wentworth reef this arvo. Couldn't find it on the sounder and it was a bit rough so I came back without even wetting a line, was still good to test the boat in average conditions as I'm still getting use to this one.
    Anyways the girl and I went up the inlet and caught 2 nice muddys. The by catch was a little jack and two fork tail catfish. Dunno about their eating qualitys but good fun on the light gear.
    Gonna pull the pots again in the morn

I'm planning to go find the charted wrecks out there sometime, there's three or four from memory and some uncharted wrecks too apparently.

Quote Originally Posted by Mattya View Post
    I'm all good for eskys at the moment but a good offer anyway.
    I went out for a run from port to a wreck I saw on navionics off wentworth reef this arvo. Couldn't find it on the sounder and it was a bit rough so I came back without even wetting a line, was still good to test the boat in average conditions as I'm still getting use to this one.
    Anyways the girl and I went up the inlet and caught 2 nice muddys. The by catch was a little jack and two fork tail catfish. Dunno about their eating qualitys but good fun on the light gear.
    Gonna pull the pots again in the morn

Sometimes I just enjoy looking at the sounder more than the fishing. Haha.
    I know there is a ww2 bomber wreck out there somewhere but I'm not sure where, I could only find pics but no numbers on its location.
    If I find anything good il be sure to let you know, I'm hopefully going to get some marks from the local trawlers, the spots they avoid for snags.

Ausfish Platinum Member scuttlebutt's Avatar

I went out near oyster today. Got 4 nice trout and 3 undersized spaniards. Was pretty choppy and quite a few showers but not unfishable. Probably be worse for the rest of the week though.

I found the swell/chop to be a little to much as the rain squall was approaching and then bearable as the rain fell and shortly preceding it. The girly gets seasick otherwise I would have stuck it out. Glad to hear you got a few

Yeah, bugger that!! went out last night as my mate convinced me, i should have known better!! Got to alington and it was choppy rough. Two hour ride home. Too rought to fish, lasted an hour and pulled the pin lol. we were in a 15 foot runabout glass boat with a 115 evinrude on the back.....i think it's ment for 5-10 knots

You should have rode the night out Robbo..the winds dropped off overnight thursday and friday was good ,at least down this way..we went out to Silver sands off Kurrimine beach chasing Spotties but nothing was happening so we motored over to the bait grounds off Dunk island and had to work hard for just 8 fish....hopefully the big schools will arrive later in the month.

down towards mission always seems to get better winds than up here, it sucks! regularly (according to BOM anyway) Cairns area will be 10-15 and Mission area will be 5-10.. lucky bastards!!!

Quote Originally Posted by sean1418 View Post
    You should have rode the night out Robbo..the winds dropped off overnight thursday and friday was good ,at least down this way..we went out to Silver sands off Kurrimine beach chasing Spotties but nothing was happening so we motored over to the bait grounds off Dunk island and had to work hard for just 8 fish....hopefully the big schools will arrive later in the month.

Quote Originally Posted by Nicko_Cairns View Post
    down towards mission always seems to get better winds than up here, it sucks! regularly (according to BOM anyway) Cairns area will be 10-15 and Mission area will be 5-10.. lucky bastards!!!
    Too true Nicko...and the trade winds up cooktown way and further north just about blow a dog off his chain..

Managed to get out both days on the weekend, just fishing in the inlet for estuary species. Although the water temps are still down (21-22 degrees), the inlet had a different feel about it. I'd pretty much given up hope of catching barra till at least the start of Spring but this weekend was different. Manage 3 barra on Saturday (2 in the 60's) and 5 barra on the Sunday (2 in the 60s again, one in the 70s).

Normally in winter you usually only get rats so it was good to see some better fish among them.

Edit: Forgot to add, mainly caught on either Zerek prawns (larger size) or transams. With the prawns, was casting right on top of the structure and bouncing it down through the structure into the depths. Had to be right on the snag though (30cm was too far away) and have a bit of patience. I think I just annoyed them into taking the lures by hitting them on top of their heads.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Took this afternoon off and managed to get a 77cm and 68cm this time round.. also hooked a couple of smaller fish but didn't land them.

Richard you and Steve really have those Barra wired! Along with the impressive captures its also the regularity that is impressive. There's a post about some advice in the other forum a bloke has asked for. I advise he takes you blokes with him on that trip!!

Ausfish Platinum Member scuttlebutt's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Daintreeboy View Post
    Richard you and Steve really have those Barra wired! Along with the impressive captures its also the regularity that is impressive. There's a post about some advice in the other forum a bloke has asked for. I advise he takes you blokes with him on that trip!!
    I can usually find a barra in the inlet but Richard does a lot better than me! There are some great fish in the inlet but you've got to concentrate on what you're doing.

Quote Originally Posted by scuttlebutt View Post
    There are some great fish in the inlet but you've got to concentrate on what you're doing.
    yeah I agree, people jokingly ask me where i got them and what i got them on.. They're surprised when I don't mind telling them at all, even show them the lures when i pull up at the boat ramp and are having a chat. It so much comes down to the right placement and technique. Gotta think like a fish and be aware that barra are pretty lazy for the most part, especially in winter anyway