Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

Thread: Good Luck In The ABT Blokes!

Re: Good Luck In The ABT Blokes!

Going well boys lovein it chriso, hope it get even better towards the south.... nothing like seeing the bream fisher going so well. Trev stop playing games get serious lol.

SMASH EM

Nath

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Had a bit of fun yesterday during our prefish with a big big Mondy barrel girl that had me stitched up -----
    we used the boat to pull a tree over ....... & I went for a swim trying to work out line direction ........ found the line ( cut & re join ) ......... only to cut the wrong place. We had half the fish in the net at one stage when she surfaced exhauseted - It was the longest fight I've had ( around 40 mins)

Chris, wow what a fight, so close.......yet so far! Trev said she was probably a 130 plus..That would have been an awesome story if you boated her. Damn Barra!

The most challenging fish in the world,

Geez, you've had some issues sticking 'em! Obviously those stingers are up to sh*t . Still not too bad an effort up north. Now you guys are back on home grounds, I hope you find your patterns working, your hook sticking, and your net being used to effect often!

I'll see you up there tomorrow, can't wait to swim a barra lure!

ps How good are the Taylor Boys? They are freaks! Well done to them on the Northern leg, can anyone stop them on the Southern Tour?

Gee's I hope there's a bit of footage on that struggle Chris.......Best of luck to you both on the Southern leg's........Hopefully Karma will play a small part.......Nothing like home turf......Go get'em Boys......Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Quote Originally Posted by matt fraser View Post
    Chris, wow what a fight, so close.......yet so far! Trev said she was probably a 130 plus..That would have been an awesome story if you boated her. Damn Barra!

The most challenging fish in the world,

Maybe 120 + ....... but really fat - her first jump was a cracker (unfortunately no footage of her ..... or the efforts to net her (I did have my still camera in hand trying to photograph her)

Congratulations to everyone on the tour, good post Brian.

I'd also like to congratulate a couple of friends, the Taylors who let us know how they went and i'm in awe. I predicted at Teemburra bream tactics might go well and won some cash nice work, but barra tactics & barra fisherman also did well and won both competitions.

Teemburra Comp

1st Place: Cy Taylor: 5/5 barra on first day, bagged out.
    Second Day 5/5 Bagged out.
    Total: 10 Barra.

5th Place: Kerrin Taylor: 4/5 first day.
    4/5 second day.
    Total: 8 Barra.

Team Total: 18 Barra for the Teemburra Competition.

Team Position: 1st.

--------------------------------

Peter Faust Competition

Results

1st: Cy Taylor
    First Day: 5/5, Second Day: 4/5. Cy's Total: 9 Barra Caught

2nd Place: Kerrin Taylor
    First Day: 5/5, Secon Day: 4/5. Kerrins Total: 9 Barra Caught

Team Total: 18 Barra Caught.

Barra caught in 2 comps = 36 Barramundi.

Northern Tour Champion Team: Taylor Brothers
    Northern Tour Champion Angler: Cy Taylor

Well done fella's and well done Chris, Trev, Steve and anyone i missed i wish you all well on the southern tour.

I'm off to watch the cricket.
    Go the Aussies.

P.S.
    *This is a congratulations type of post wishing people well, please don't find anything to argue about. Others have wished mates well, now i am.

I just think we might be seeing something special with these fella's, that doesn't happen in each generation, so i'm not taking it or granted.

Doing Something Different
    E.g. In the early 90's Kelly Slater did yoga, many would have canned him for it, then he went on to win 9 world champs and is considered the best of all time. Mick Fanning took up similar training and won his world championship (As shown on 60 minutes).

Taylors Must Be Doing Something Different

E.g. if someone 3 years ago said "Some teenagers will beat and go past every competition barra fishermans results in the ABT & AFC before they are 20 and win 3 titles in a row, rack up the most ABT barra wins and total prize money by 21 years of age" You would have been canned on the net & mainstream & ended up the butt of all jokes. But what happened? It did happen. Amazing stuff. Note: I realise there are 100 current and ex guides not fishing the comps, but the Taylors have still done really well in my book. Well done everyone competing and good luck

Cheers Lyndon
    Go The Aussies In The Cricket It's good to see a few young fella's from the Cricket Acadamy go on to make it in to the Aussie First 11. I hope Hilfy & the rest of the crew go well.
    Last edited by SeekingBarradise; 27-11-2009 at 10:11 AM. Reason: Spelling as usual :)

Yeah nice Lyndon they are going well, good to see the boys out in front... Just as well we cant afford to do it cause then we would see them win rather the read it

Anyhow good to see ya back on here mate, now we got to get back to basics and enjoy a bit of fishin....

Well said gentlemen and yes good to see ya back lyndon lets all not take things to serious and like nath said back to the basic fishing and relaxtion thatas what im all about works stresses flog us all this is a past time where work just dissapears out of the head for a while and i lov it cant wait tog et the boat back in the water now when will i go .

oh yeah i agree if i could get the time off work and afford to do it i would as welll just for the chance to see them taylors in action damm there good

Some awesome fishing at the Awoonga night champs. The info I heard has really got my blood boiling and wanting to go barra fishing again....Double hookups on 120's in a comp, and numerous others over a metre...Now we are talking!!!!!

Lets see what this arvo brings, and hope for everyone the roll keeps on going

P.S.
    *This is a congratulations type of post wishing people well, please don't find anything to argue about. Others have wished mates well, now i am

Those boys are amazing, far and away better barra fishos than most, and consistant to boot. Anyone can have a good day, trip, season, year, but they just keep doing it.

Congrats gentlemen.

Lyndon,

Too right....the Taylors are just awesome. Not much else to say. I think you are right..we are witnessing something special with these lads.

I just read the Awoonga results too....wow, what a comp!! pretty tough when you get a 5 for 5 mtrs plus bag and scrape into the top 10!!!!!!

Cheers Steve

Good luck All, I'm heading up to Mondy for my 1st ABT event this weekend, in the amatuer ranks obviously, at the campground, look for the Silver D-Max Dual Cab. Not expecting too much, just having a crack, be stoked to get one in the boat.

PS - Thanx Trev & Matt for the tips, Soron combo is good to go and plenty of Hollow Bellies in the bag, Thanx for your help guys, Cheers, Jamie.

My PB's - Have Photos of most of them.

Flathead - 98cm - Bait - Tweed River
    Spottie Mackerel - 105cm - Bait - Palmy Reef
    Australian Bass - 48cm - Spinnerbait - Spot X
    Yellowbelly - 48cm - Yellowbelly - Jackall - Sommerset
    Bream - 38cm - MF40 - Nerang River
    Whiting - 40cm - Bait - Nerang River
    Jack - 40cm (Pitiful I Know) - Live Bait - Coomera River
    Barra - 104cm - Storm Pro Paddle Tail - Mondy

Well guys Session One is over and l was part off a awesome session... Six anglers...Three boats.Double hookups..every minute somebody was on.One angler lost at least ten fish...How did l go ? Not a bloody touch in 7 hours...

Bugger, that had to hurt!!!! I'm sure you'll come good, good luck today, Cheers, Jamie.
    My PB's - Have Photos of most of them.

Flathead - 98cm - Bait - Tweed River
    Spottie Mackerel - 105cm - Bait - Palmy Reef
    Australian Bass - 48cm - Spinnerbait - Spot X
    Yellowbelly - 48cm - Yellowbelly - Jackall - Sommerset
    Bream - 38cm - MF40 - Nerang River
    Whiting - 40cm - Bait - Nerang River
    Jack - 40cm (Pitiful I Know) - Live Bait - Coomera River
    Barra - 104cm - Storm Pro Paddle Tail - Mondy

Quote Originally Posted by Awoonga View Post
    Well guys Session One is over and l was part off a awesome session... Six anglers...Three boats.Double hookups..every minute somebody was on.One angler lost at least ten fish...How did l go ? Not a bloody touch in 7 hours...
    Your turn today bloke ........

Pretty awesome stuff to watch ...... & be part of ( a new Awoonga PB for me @ 113cm)