Thread: Monduran - Free Range Camping Vs Fully Charged Batteries

Monduran - Free Range Camping Vs Fully Charged Batteries

G'day All

Heading to Monduran for our 3rd annual boys trip, this december. We all had Donuts last time so hopes of a return to form are high.

We are thinking of not booking one of the lovely houses this year and camping in the "free range" section so we can have some of the camp fire and star gazing action that many advocate on this forum.

Quick question.

Is there a way (other than booking a powered site up in the caravan land powered section) that we can charge our boat batteries at night. Do some of you pay a bit extra to tap into the amenities block, or something else?

Cheers in advance people. This has been our only little question mark on the upcoming trip. Now i'm off to buy some more lures!

Re: Monduran - Free Range Camping Vs Fully Charged Batteries

Talk to them at the kiosk/office. Think you can sling 'em a couple of bucks, and use a point under the building to recharge.

Good luck on the trip. Pretty sure you can pay ($3.00 per day) and charge from the power points outside the Camp kitchen. But this does mean the boat may be parked away from the camp site.

Save ya $$ on lures and see Foxie on the way through Gin Gin, he will have the latest on what they are catching them on.

Dam levels way down so watch the prop killers.

Pete.

Holy Moley!!

How wonderful is the Ausfish community!

One hour after posting i have my answer...boom!

Thank You Tiges, nice Barrell!

Thank You Pete. We always stop in at foxies for the latest 'good oil' using the time honored barter sytem of a couple of lures for a couple of bits of info. Also stop at the butchers for half a cows arse worth of prime steak, which they carve up in front of you!

Will keep an eye out for Prop killers. We seem to have an affinity with them at the best of time. I too am from Coffs, so the 11 hour haul is the only bit we are not looking forward too.

It's still a month out and i am amped!

Cheers All

Whale

As you get closer to your trip ..... put up a post with your dates

Probably be other AFers there & you just might be able to tee something up - might cost you a beer & a chat around a fire though

No worries. Camping is the go, if/when u book your site ask to be up the top (site 12 is a good one). Not bad down the bottom section but more fishoes to chat with in the top section. Camp Kitchens are well set up with Fridge/freezer gas BBQ, hot plates, toaster and boiling water.

Oh, and buy heavy duty tent pegs, the ground is like rock.

Yep the drive is a bitch, two words for ya...........Red............ Bull

Pete.

Sorry mate gave u a bum steer there, site 12 is actually a powered site. My bad.

Pete.
    Last edited by Pete62; 10-11-2009 at 02:50 PM. Reason: wrong info

Righto Pete- Site 12, Star Pickets and 2 ltrs of the truckies best friend. Got it!

Nagg will be there 15,16,17 of December. I haaaate beer and i haaate having a chin wag around a fire. So i don't know if i will be of any contribution! Insert sarcastic emoticon here.

xoxox Whale

Quote Originally Posted by Pete62 View Post
    No worries. Camping is the go, if/when u book your site ask to be up the top (site 12 is a good one). Not bad down the bottom section but more fishoes to chat with in the top section. Camp Kitchens are well set up with Fridge/freezer gas BBQ, hot plates, toaster and boiling water.

Oh, and buy heavy duty tent pegs, the ground is like rock.

Yep the drive is a bitch, two words for ya...........Red............ Bull

Pete.

Sorry mate gave u a bum steer there, site 12 is actually a powered site. My bad.

Pete.
    Site 13 ( Naggs site) is the only powered site with a fire

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Site 13 ( Naggs site) is the only powered site with a fire
    Don't forget good shade and great coffee is also available from that camp site

Lee

Quote Originally Posted by leelee View Post
    Don't forget good shade and great coffee is also available from that camp site

Lee
    Shhhhhhh .....

When you going to give Mondy another shot Lee ?

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Shhhhhhh .....

When you going to give Mondy another shot Lee ?

Doubt it will be this year unless a miracle happens

This house building caper is making things hard.

Lee

Quote Originally Posted by Pete62 View Post
    No worries. Camping is the go, if/when u book your site ask to be up the top (site 12 is a good one). .
    can you even book a particular site?

Last time i went all i said was "top campground please , maybe site 10 to 16 if you can swing it" and the reply was "we dont allocate sites till the time comes but i'll put a note with your booking" and thought since we booked early we'd at least get in the top camp but they threw us in the Bronx, was a little annoyed to say the least

When I go powered I usually get the site I request, provided its not booked at the time.

#13 is good for the closeness to the camp kitchn, and the fire aspect, but suffers a bit from run off in a storm if you dont set up in the right spot.
    Personally, I prefer #12, but most times go un-powered down along the fence line on the level ground, havent been flooded out there yet, the leccy will last 3 days at a pinch so re-charging isnt a problem on a dash and splash.

I had site 12 last time there she is a good powered site short stroll to the loo's and the camp kitchen but make sure you put points on your pegs i camped down where brian done on the fence line unpowered that is great also better showers at the bottom camp but i like the top camp kitchen as you find out what is going on as most of the bottom is normally grey nomads who cook in there 90k van not in the camp kiychen besides the top kitchen has the tv

shane