Mondy from the dirt
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mondy from the dirt

Mondy from the dirt

Gday all
    Fished Monduran this week for a couple of days and had a blast. Had a mate up from NSW and so took him to beat his PB barra of 103. I decided to fish land based for a change and we landed 10 barra all land based and smashed his PB with a 125 .
    On a depressing note I managed on one particular night to hook up god knows how many times to the biggest barra I have ever seen! All fish were over 115 and some even looked to give the 125 fish we scored a scare I straightened 1 jighead, opened 1 owner split ring, broke a bomber lure, got bitten off twice, spooled, smoked twice ending in bust offs, pulled out of 3 plastic hookups and lost count of fish jumping and throwing the lures. One fish threw a lure in mid air that hit my mate 20 feet further up the bank
    Never have i seen so many XXXL barra hooked up in one session, when the bite slowed down and the barra were harder to entice, when hooked were on average much smaller.
    I have never lost so many fish in one session.....but still a great experience....cant wait to get back there!

Re: Mondy from the dirt

Thats amazing bet you were hyped with all that going on ,
    must have had a ball ,well done ,

cheers.

Hi Rob thats sounds like a incredible couple of days. You and your mate must of had the time of your lives. What prompted you to go landbased? I imagine the stealth factor is easier to achieve. Bet you get others thinking the same with that report. You mate must have been a excited getting that 125 and you happy also to see him achieve it. You were into LBG, now its LBB! - cheers Richard

fark that sounds like madness. great fun though.hey im heading to mondy for a few days at begining of dec round the moon. what time do you normaly fish to at night.how long did the bite period last for that night.

Brilliant stuff Rob. I'm convinced you could catch fish anywhere anytime.

Wags

Cheers Guys
    The bite started moon rise and finished when the moon began to fall. Stealth is acheived much easier and with most fish hooked at our feet in the dark it was heart starting. I think between the 2 of us we had 25 hookups and only landed 10...Back too the drawing board this week to work out ways of preventing this happening again as the fish we were hooking were a size that needs to be seen... almost as if we came across a school of fish all around 30kg and more, I only hope they stay there till i can get back there.
    I have wanted to do land based for a while but having the boat and being clean and comfortable I put it off time and again. But just thought i had found the perfect spot for it and gave it ago.Have some video footage and photos ill post when i have time.

Pretty exciting stuff,thanks for the write up

Do u think that being land based (and stealthy) was the biggest contributor to the hot bite or could it be being at the right place at the right time the biggest contributor to the sesh? Its amazing how much of a ruckus the leccy can make underwater, or maybe u had much better angles from land?Just curious...

Hope the chunky one's are still there when u go back
    Last edited by 5Zigen; 07-11-2009 at 08:36 AM. Reason: Missed some info

Rob ..... you are a fish magnet - sounds like you had this place on your mind for a while now - great stuff & certainly sounds like the best shore based sessions I've heard from mondy.
    I reckon there are quite a few landbased spots that would fish well ....... & good onya for actually doing it

Fishing and Land based IMO had everything to do with the "hot Bite" no noise, no lights, lures travelling the oposite direction and easier to focas lures on the fruitfull parts of the bank....

Uploaded a flick too Youtube from the trip, hope i post it properly.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9mNDc2VElo

Man, has that got the IBD stinging, thanks for the vid Rob, awesome.

How was the wind pushing in on that shore line, ring ring goes the dinner bell.

Awesome!

Nice work Rob. I'm also a big fan of the land based approach. Had a couple of great sesh's at Awoonga that way.

I agree with you on the lures travelling the other way. Fish facing into the current, lure travelling toward them.

The stealth factor is important too, especially when it's super windy. Trying to hold position with the leccy, boat drifting accidentally onto the target area. Even when anchored/tied off in windy conditions, there's still a lot of noise with waves slapping the hull etc.

Can imagine there'll be people pulling up on banks all over the place there now, maybe shoulda kept this info to yourself . Remember people, it's mostly private property up there, and farmers carry guns.

well done rob some nice fish there mate

sane

Quote Originally Posted by setthehook View Post
    Fishing and Land based IMO had everything to do with the "hot Bite" no noise, no lights, lures travelling the oposite direction and easier to focas lures on the fruitfull parts of the bank....
    Thanks for the reply

The lures travelling the opposite direction can make all the difference too sometimes. This has happened with kings, where I'll put in 10 casts from one direction for no hits, swap to the other side, then wham, pick up 2 fish in succession.

Can't agree with u on ur "no noise" declaration though, the fluoro green shirt and bright yellow crocs is plenty noisy

Ausfish Platinum Member warrior's Avatar

brilliant stuff rob to have that many fish hookup must have been awsome ,i did that once a few years back up around whiterock area and had a ball on smallish fish not the size of your but landbased definately has a place up there cheers AL

Thats great fishing Rob. I did the same last time i was up there and it was brilliant fun. Big barra smaking surface lures at your feet is heart stopping. Did you try the surface? Ben