Thread: Dogs at Awoonga....

Dogs at Awoonga....

hey guys,

im looking at doing my first trip to the barra dams,
    initially i was thinking Monduran but reading a lot about all the timber and navigation (night) i thought Awoonga might be a better bet for the virgin barra fisher.

My question is can you take Dogs there...? and or camp with them...?
    i heard you could at Monduran but cant find any reference to it at awoonga...
    would love to camp up there, but the catch is the missus wont come unless we take the dogs haha

Re: Dogs at Awoonga....

G'Day Ben,
    Mate if you go to the Gladstone Area Water Board's Web site you will find the info.

I actually asked a couple of years ago and was told no dogs allowed unfortunately.

I'm a member of a stocking group in northern Brisbane and SEQ water will not tolerate dogs either.

You may have a win at the bush camp up the back of the dam, Boynedale i'm not sure of the spelling.

John.

Easy fixed mate, leave 'em both at home and enjoy yourself!

Couple of cans of chunky soup and a saucepan it ain't that hard.

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Nope no dogs or cats....

Quote Originally Posted by Awoonga View Post
    Nope no dogs....
    Unless you happen to be a dingo of course
    Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

We camped at Mondy In March 2008 & were allowed to take our little dog....

Cheers Baz

Sorry didn't read the question properly....

Baz

Quote Originally Posted by Awoonga View Post
    Nope no dogs or cats....
    Dog says bugger!

Quote Originally Posted by Dick Pasfield View Post
    Dog says bugger!
    That's what i reckon to Dick

A well trained dog is a lot cleaner than a lot of humans out there

Still miss my cattle dog which had to be put to sleep 5 months ago

John.

Still miss my cattle dog which had to be put to sleep 5 months ago
    Sorry to hear that John.

Yes I echo that Dick. It would be a real kick in the guts to lose your best mate John. I am absolutely terrified of the day when it comes to my two pups.

Cheer
    Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Paul, they become a part of your family and would give their life to protect you.

My dog stopped a large snake from entering my house through the back door one night, made a hell of a noise, then came and got me. From the way she was acting and the noise she was making i knew straight away she needed my help. When i got to the laundry there it was and it started striking at us, so she must have already given the snake a tickle up.

Great animals are dogs.

John.

Thanks for the thread as I had the same question.

I havent been to the dams in over a year, and since then I have acquired a dog.

Looks like Monduran will do me just fine.

Talking Re: Dogs at Awoonga....

Quote Originally Posted by Big_Ren View Post
    Yes I echo that Dick. It would be a real kick in the guts to lose your best mate John. I am absolutely terrified of the day when it comes to my two pups.

Cheer

Big Ren AKA Two Dogs

The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Cool Re: Dogs at Awoonga....

Quote Originally Posted by darylive View Post
    Easy fixed mate, leave 'em both at home and enjoy yourself!

Couple of cans of chunky soup and a saucepan it ain't that hard.

I hope I wasn't out of line with the above. I certainly did not indent to offend anyone.

I understand your predicament; You really want to take your dog but if you do the wife will come. It is a difficult situation.

The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............