Thread: 2mile heaven 4 barra virgin

2mile heaven 4 barra virgin

Hi All
    Well my long awaited trip back to mondy has come and gone, All my normal deckie's could not make it they were either working, travelling interstate, or oversea's so i put up a thread on here looking for a deckie for the weekend for all the days away if they could make it or just drive up themself and meet me there if they had to leave early ie; could only stay sat-sun hd a pm back from ryba stating he would love to come so arrangements were made to meet at the Caboolture bp's at 4 am friday morning,
    We met up had a chat tried to help a guy with a stripped tyre but could not as all my gear was on my tools and he needed a block of wood to jack his car up so told him to check the garage for help,
    We hit the road and got to gin gin at 8am to find foxy open to went for a chat and walked out $40 lighter bu i had t get pink dip as Daryl had taken all his chartruse dip (mongrel) got to camp at 9am and st up till midday spoke t a few people to find out what was happening but wa told it hd shut down since the monday before due to south east wind and only the odd 1 caught we hit the water about midday and checked out the water levels around place i normaly fish and went for a fish in bird till dark where we got zip moved back to the island in bird and watched 2 barra caught by nomads and people staying in the 5 m boats for there weekend on the water, we went back to camp to form a plan of attack for Saturday morning after dinner.
    Saturday we hit the boobie at the entrance to bird where a lot of bait was working i 2 m of water for an hour but we got zip there so we worked our way to A for zip then we moved up to behind white rock and fished the bay in there and down to the creek at the back all looked like it would hold fish and the wind was blowng down onto it spent an hour there for zip, decided as this was only Marek 2nd time barra fishing and first time at mondy i would show him a bit of the dam so taking my time and only hitting 1 submerged stump i made it up to the 2 mile we were the 2 nd boat there and motored down and tied off to a tree near 2 little run off's i chucked my modified evil minnow and put on a dark green storrn plastic for merek we cast there until 10.25 when all hell broke loose on Merek's rod an a nice barra came out of the water and then headed for the tree's up from us i told him to try and steer him out while i undid the tie off and gave chase on the leccie the fish mad it to the tree's so i told him to freespool and he did that and i drove between the tree's and we hauled him out the other side he then turned and made it back to the tree's but we manage to lever him out and net him , i looked at Merek he was huffing and puffing and shaking at the knees we put him on the measure and he went 98cm photo's are on mereks camera and he has not sent them to me yet but will post when he does . we motored back to the tie off tree an composed ourself's and started casting again and having a chat and relivng the moment next minute my evil minnow got smashed and the fish came straight at me and out of the water and spat the hook at my feet i could not get a hit on him to drive the hook home to muh slack in the line ,fish 1 me none on the modified rig back to camp for lunch we hit A an bird again in the arvo for nought,
    Sunday we went back to the 2 mile to try again and had the company of a few boats but Merek only managed a cattie there and me nothing so we started to work our way down stream got to J and went to go into a little canyan just down from J but a boat was there so i tied of to a tree in the sticks in J with little weed bed and some lantanna in it i put on a normal 110 green grunter slick rig and started to cast the area after about 15 minutes i hooked onto a very healthy and hard going fish who kept going for the tree's and weed so i locked him up with my fingers and the spool while the deckie cast off the tree as he did not know how to operate the leccie i had to man handle the fish into submission to keep him out of the sticks the deckie did a good job netting him and he went hard but was a very healthy 94cm fish got a few photo's and back in the water and got drenched now we are very happy and both off donuts .
    The arvo sessions i stayed downstream as the odd fish was starting to show up on the points and islands so i went to theboobie for sunday afternoon for a fish anchored up to the right of the boobie and just behind it in 5 m of water and cast up on to the bank in 2 m of water just on dark i put my modified green grunter slick rig on and had a few casts and it got smashed this time i hooked up but i was not convinced i had set the hook so went to st it again and i gave him an inch of slack and he spat the hook fish 2 modified rig 0 but my fault and the hook broke away as it was suppose to so that worked but i had a mustard big boy hook and it was pretty thick where i had a nice thin worm hook in the updated version of the rig mmm back to camp
    Monday morning we decided to spend in Bird and A we cast our arm off then the breeze came up so it allowed up to drift the points casting down in bird we came across a couple of tree's in the water with a bit of weed ect beside it so we put the anchor out and we decided to pepper the fallen logs marek asked why and i told him the wind was blowing onto those logs and the food would push there and the barra would use the logs as cover to sit in the shade ect and that there would be 1 there and just keep hitting the log with the placcie next minute m hollow bellie got a smack and a big tail swirl in the water then gone no more fish, we went back to camp for lunch and Merek had to go home so left i decided to hit the water at 3 pm and got out tere and the wind had finally gone nth east yippie but by now i was feeling knackered and decided to go home at 5 am on tuesday and not fish i even got to the ramp on monday arvo and forgot my hat and eskie just not thinking and i knew the afternoon was just gong to get worse i worked the edges in A fo nothing so i went back to the boobie to fish the sunset moonise session anchored up as per the photo casting distance the photo does not show how close i was about 20 metre's with the waves crashing onto the island and me casting the edges next minute a boat with 2 old gents trolls between me and the island i just shake my head and get te camera out next minute they run aground on the island the wind blew them there so they get out the boat and paddle in the water to get the boat off the rubble i uped anchor and went to the weed bed island in the main basin where i met up with mylstrom (trev had a chat and got a drink from him and pauline asked if i could ancho up the top he said no worries next minute we have more blowflies drifting in so i take more photo;s and they take off ,5 minutes later another 2 old gents in a different boat just motor between me and the snag on the island i was casting at it i just shake my head in amazement ,i then look over my shoulder and see a seajay boat drifting in and i ask trevor if he wants another photo for the collection and the boat drops his anchor behind me so that was not too bad i sat at that islan for and hour casting and looking for the moonrise nothing much happening so i put a 130 normal dropbear on cast that around for a while i look to the west the sun is just going behind the tree's i glance over my shoulder the moon is just showing over the tree;s and all of a sudden i got hammered by a barrel of a fish that looked well over a metre and doubled my rod in half the fish came out of the water as i was setting the hook and the drop bear ended up near the seajay behind me and the guy at the back of the boat said hey mate did you see the fish jump near your boat i just shook my head trevor heard the splash from the other end of the island and heard me swear so he knew i dropped another 1 , 4 cast later i got an overun on the baitcaster so i put it down picked up another 2 cast later i snagged up so i knew it was only going to get orse as i was tied to pulled anchor and went back and pulled half the camp down ready for a gettaway at 5 am

all in all i had a good trip we got 2 fish to the boat 98 and 94 i dropped 3 and got slapped by another and the roookie got his first barra and 2 catfish so he was stoked

Re: 2mile heaven 4 barra virgin

Good onya Shane - That was great that you both got a barra

You certainly put in a solid effort.

Those "Ball scratch bites" - they'll get you everytime ( I wish I could incorporate it in my retrieve )

Thanks for your report & pics

Great detailed report Shane. Good to see a couple of fish in the boat and the other action you encountered. Sounds like there was a lot of boats up there last weekend.
    Well done on putting the rookie onto his first. Was it hairy driving up to 2 mile with the water level? - Richard

Hi Richard i took my time quarter throttle just on the plane and backed off to just sit on the plane i bumped 1 or 2 sticks but nothing 2 solid as you know it is nt the one's you se it is the 1 sitting 6inches under that worries me but people were still screaming up the dam up at H is getting dodgy very slow speed there needed to pick throught timber
    sorry about the missed ltters in the post the key board is not picking up the strokes of the keys

Good Job Shane certainly wasn't a waist of time
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Great work Shane - your persistance paid off. How good was it putting a virgin onto his first barra? Nice pics too...

Do me a favour though...break up your report into a more shorter paragraphs next time. I enjoyed the read but it was bloody hard work!

Regs

Hi pete
    Thanks for that yeh it was great to get him a fish and explain why we were chucking to and area and after a while it bore results his legs were like rubber when he got the fish to the boat .

sorry about the ramble i should get into the habit of spacing things out but i just ramble on
    I also have to mention i made a call to nagg when i was away to have a chat and get a bit of advice on wind spots ect so it is good to see all the help that goes on in this site so thanks Chris
    Shane

Nice work Shane, well done for putting the deckie onto a fish.

Pete.

Top report Shane. They are the special trips....those ones where you can deflower a virgin .

Pity about the blowies though. We almost come to expect it these days.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Well done mate.

Thats a good effort and a good reward

Might have to catch up for a fish up the Pumistone soon for some Why tings soon.

Let me know.

Lee

Quote Originally Posted by leelee View Post
    Well done mate.

Thats a good effort and a good reward

Might have to catch up for a fish up the Pumistone soon for some Why tings soon.

Let me know.

Lee
    Hi Lee I am available most saturday and sunday mornings except sat 28 nov so you pick one and let me know and i will get some bait and poppers together for a go at the tings
    I hd a good trip up there i am still finding my green grunter colour doing better than any other but i did drop a big fish on a drop bear

shane

geat post sounds like a good trip cant wait to get up there only a few weeks now.do you boil your slick rigs or any thing like that.

Hi llis a lot do but i don't personal preferance
    shane

Top stuff Shane. Will have to catch up again soon. Darren.

top work Shane.

Sorry I didnt get out there mate. Work, work and now holidays

Couple of nice fish there. So well done again.

Cheers Steve