Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Have You Ever Read A Barra Thread And Not Posted?

Re: Have You Ever Read A Barra Thread And Not Posted?

I sometimes wonder if I'm on Facebook or Twitter when I'm reading some if these threads. Seriously. Now a few of you made the point about posting banter & good old fashioned chat in selected threads, but how many other threads from people who may be asking questions about different fish/locations/techniques could be lost? Barra threads seem to over-ride everything on this section of the forum, and thats not because 'barra are the flavour of the month' (thats debate-able), but most of the threads are just general chit chat and nothing too serious. Don't think for one minute I'm knocking this, because we all do it - but perhaps there is a better place to do this. MSN as Plastic_Magic suggested is a good example... you can have a single window open and be chatting to 30 odd people and run it like a mini forum. Can't do that on Facebook, Twitter, MySpace etc...

The recent 'I'd Be killed' thread is a fun, good honest thread ALL fisho's can get into... but how many will possibly look at it and go 'Oh no... its the barra boys again... I can't post here!'. Probably a few. There's a few more examples I can use.

Just my honest thoughts. Nothing un-toward

Theo
    TT

agree theo,
    I thought the same when I read the title too!!!
    Chris, change the title to 'the shed' or 'show us ya man cave'....or 'where do you hide from the wife'!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Dicko,

you still have the best avatar on Ausfish mate...I laugh everytime I read it!!!

Are you trying to chat me up ?

lol,

I just like barra fishing, I don't add much as I don't fish the dams very often. Most of my time is in the rusty water. I only duck down to Faust once a year to rinse my gear off.

Re: Have You Ever Read A Thread And Not Posted?

Quote Originally Posted by STUIE63 View Post
    doesn't the view count go up every time you go back on to read the responses ?
    there I managed to post as well
    I have been watching the view count and this is a wrong statement by me
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Quote Originally Posted by Dicko View Post

lol,

I just like barra fishing, I don't add much as I don't fish the dams very often. Most of my time is in the rusty water. I only duck down to Faust once a year to rinse my gear off.
    Dicko,

you can chuck salt barra tips in the fresh section....its all about the fish. lots of stuff crosses over, and its good info when we go salt barra fishing too...I look like heading NT next year for the first time in many years..I will need a salt water barra refresher course before then!!!
    cheers Steve

Nothing un-toward taken Theo, if I dont hear from every thread viewer, how will I know what is really wanted? So many viewer, so few posters.
    I dunno what face book or twitter is, I get these invites on my email to join up, I just delete them, sounds like something 16 year old school girls do

Thousands of views, but a lot less posters = a lot less input, mite become a bit one sided at times due to "shouters" I reckon?

Be nice if we could keep this one civil, relevant to the original question, and factual.

Should there be a sticky that is entitled "Help Me Catch An Impoundment Barra", what would you, or I, or others post? That is truly helpfull, un-biased, has no hiden agendas or and benefits the question asker?
    I got nuthin, just a minnow in the pond, so I can put up what works for me.
    Or would a link to another site be more apllicable for a new barra angler seking the good oil?
    Should that be it.
    Sticky - "How Do You Catch An Impoundment Barra" - reply - link to another site?

Quote Originally Posted by Dicko View Post

lol,

Steve, for your sake I hope Dicko is really Miranda Kerr moon lighting on Ausfish to increase her Barra knowledge!

G'Day Brian, Mate you know me a hopelessly lost barra man with IBD that would derail the Tilt Train,

I obviously read this forum a lot and i post on most of the barra threads although i don't post in mass numbers on most threads. I just generally have my say and thats it, or say congratulations on the results. I do like to get involved with some of the more social threads, like organsing group trips be it at Mondy or else where and then reliving the experiences of those trips with the good mates that we have all made here on Ausfish.
    Be that talking about paticular fish captures or losses, gear failure, new ideas etc, its all good stuff and really enjoyable.

I am not generally one who dominates a discussion or talk over someone else, if i do comment on a certain subject and some one else wants to argue about what i have said, i will drop out of the discussion, thats me, if they don't want to hear my experiences then i will keep them to myself. I am a great believer in our Hosts footnote (Thanks Steve Brown) which is, Arguing with an idiot only proves there are two. After all there is no one person that knows it all and all things are changing daily so i carry the philosophy that i can learn something from everyone, so i will have a chat to anyone, listen to what they have to say and put to use any thing that i may have learned from that chat.

I refuse to get involved in threads that are quite obviously personal and i believe they have no place here or on other forums, they actually disgust me.

Then getting back to your question, i am a person who does not normally have a lot to say, if somebody asks me something i will always do my utmost to help, but then again there are people on this forum that know way lot more than i do.

There you go mate, i have probably said too much already.

John.

I read every barra thread I find, but very rarely reply because I simply don't know enough about these big silver beauties to make a worthwhile contribution to other readers. I read them to gather any scrap of information I can on a species I plan on stalking very soon.
    Keep em comin'
    So shines a good deed in a weary world
    - William S Shakespeare and William S Wonka_

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic_Magic View Post
    What a great thread this will become. I for one do spend a fair bit of time on this website. I do not post much at all in this Fresh Water Section. Now its not a personal thing dont get me wrong but i get fed up with the hooligans who turn it into pub talk. This a a forum not a chat site so if people need to chat amongst there friends and talk BULLSH** then get a msn account. I use this site for one thing and that is to learn, share experiences with other fisherman who like to do the same. I am sick of having to look through hundreds of posts just to find that a post with a bit of meaning. I am not scared of getting shut down cause i know for a fact that i can teach people many things that i have experienced on impoundment fishing. But i still have years of learning ahead. this is Just my opinion and why i dont put posts up. I dont see the need for me to Put a thread on how my weekend fishing went and to try and teach poeple what i am learning when it just falls down the list and a thread on Beer and Barra stays at the top of the list. As i say this is no need to be taken personaly but just answering the question to the above post.

Thats a pretty fair call Lauchy ........ I can certainly understand where you are coming from

However

People see fishing web sites differently ...... some want it like a resource others as a place to generally chat about their chosen subject - while others use it as a platform for their own personal gain ...... then some just want to share their experiences ......
    With reference to this particular section ....... those that are regulars (be it vocal or silent) have become mates - & its here that topics can & do wonder..... & yes it can make it pretty difficult to find the answers that you might be looking for.
    Now ...... there is a simple solution - POST THE QUESTION IN A NEW THREAD That way you will get an answer quickly ...... or at least steered in the right direction - - - - At least here , you usually wont have to wait 2 weeks to get an answer .
    If you think you have something of value to share ...... and it is seen that way by all the members - It will stay at or near the top of the page .

I guess ..... with the banter - it can seem a little intimidating ...... lots of people who seem to be mates _ Its in part why we have musters , bashes , sessions ..... it allows those that feel intimidated , shy what ever to come along & meet those here.
    As for the recent sarcasm ..... & references to alcohol - well , you know what the catalyst there was

most of us enjoy these pages for what they are .......... There is another site which can be viewed as a reference centre - many are members of that site too but are generally drawn here .

John, how long before we see you around the bush telly mate?

Michael, no one knows everything about Ms Lates mate, jump in, add your thoughts based on bassing, you do extremly well in that field mate, its all relevant!

[quote=BR65;1091844]John, how long before we see you around the bush telly mate?

Hey Brian, My next appointment at the hospital is on the 26th of this month, hopefully the Doc will give me a clearance then.

So that means i would be looking at Mondy in the new year if there is any water left in it.

John.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Now ...... there is a simple solution - POST THE QUESTION IN A NEW THREAD

Or should there be a sticky - "How Do I catch An Impoundment Barra"

[quote=Obi _ Wan;1091853]
    Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    John, how long before we see you around the bush telly mate?

Hey Brian, My next appointment at the hospital is on the 26th of this month, hopefully the Doc will give me a clearance then.

So that means i would be looking at Mondy in the new year if there is any water left in it.

John.
    Put it up mate when your heading up, its your shout for a lemon aide!

Un-known viewers (and not posters), I know your out there, jump in!