-
Coffs Harbour at Xmas
taking boat down to coffs at xmas for a week for the first time. planning on mainly trolling, possibly some reef also. Would greatly appreciate any info that may help get some reels screaming.
-
Re: Coffs Harbour at Xmas
G'day ncn,
Don't want to dampen your spirits but the currents are pretty crappy down there at that time of year. That black cold water stuff that holds sharks and thats about it. We had to go out to the FAD last year to find water over 21 degrees but it was still a no show.
I have done the last two xmasses down there but this year i am gonna stay in qld, reckon i will catch more.
The best chacnce you have of a fish is probably black rock or the light with livies for a kingy or bottom bash for some snapper.
Good luck
p.s. you probably should post this in saltwater chat.
-
great time for blue marlin and Mahi outwide maybe a mackeral or two in close ,good also for big reds Fishd xmas there for the past 10 years and always
always found plenty of fish Hopefully the blacks will show
-
Hi NCT, as long as the current is pushin that blue warm water in you should be able to bend some rods.. Try for dollies around the FAD & also trap floats when you find them, we got some nice ones last chrissy 10k also lost a stonker 25k plus next to boat, also usually plenty of kingies around the usual hangouts this time of year lots of school fish but you will get BIG ones if you fish for them!! Reds are always an option but bit early for mackies unless you luckey..
Good luck..
-
Ausfish Gold Member
NCT, Bushwacker is on the money. Probably a bit early for spoitties/spanish/wahoo but the dollies are usually in good numbers at xmas (if the current is running). Maybe some small blacks in close but maybe a little early given south west rocks doensn't usually fire right up untill first week of feb or so on blacks. Shelf would be a good option over xmas of coffs if game fishing is your thing. Also maybe worth a look for cobes and thers always kings. Given whats happenning up in central Qld now would think the pelagis run is timed about average to a maybe a little early at this stage, although Big South easterly's and big rain on the north nsw coast through dec can bugger xmas pelagics down that way if your unlucky.