Thread: Baffle Creek

Baffle Creek

Hi All

Went to Baffle Creek for 4 days fishing last weekend. 1st time there, and stayed at Baffle Bob's camp.
    We managed to find enough sandbars to keep us busy on an outgoing tide - the place is full of them, but no damage to the prop on rocks.

We mainly fished Baffle Bob's down towards the mouth, and found a few nice deep rock holes which look promising for next time.

The tally stood at a couple of flathead and bream, couple of eels, and 3 legal muddies. Plenty of undersize and jenny crabs, but decent size males were hard to come by.

The flathead were caught on soft plastics the lazy way - throw them out and drift with the current. It was my 1st time using plastics and caught 3 flatties in quick succession so i am converted (bait didnt get touched). Even my Dad had a go !

A local told us we were about 6 weeks to early so we will be back up there again in 6 weeks !

As far as fishing goes, everyone seemed to head downriver towards the mouth. Is this the most productive area for fishing?

Cheers Rob

Re: Baffle Creek

G'day Robsie,

Just got back from 4 days on the Baffle myself - stayed at the camp stay a bit further up from Bob's. The wind made it a bit tough casting lures, so at times we soaked a few live prawns amongst the snags. We managed 15 odd jacks over the 3 days fishing - best going 44cm. Also caught two small barra on the live prawns - that was a first time for me after fishing the Baffle and other creeks for the past ten years or so.

Might see you up there again in a few weeks time.

Trent

[QUOTE=Trent Butler;1087098]G'day Robsie,

Just got back from 4 days on the Baffle myself - stayed at the camp stay a bit further up from Bob's. The wind made it a bit tough casting lures, so at times we soaked a few live prawns amongst the snags. We managed 15 odd jacks over the 3 days fishing - best going 44cm. Also caught two small barra on the live prawns - that was a first time for me after fishing the Baffle and other creeks for the past ten years or so.

Trent

G'day Trent,

mate any chance of a run down how and what types of areas to catch live prawns ?

Regards Mick.

I heard they were in bottle creek (in the baffle). can anyone confirm this? I'm going there Saturday.

Hey trent. Were they hitting pstars mate? Gonna try and head up there soon. Got a couple up the burrum on the weekend. Bloody good country up there and a bit closer to brissie.
    Cheers. Keith

Mick,

We found the prawns in a tiny little creek, using a top pocket cast net - according to the locals they move in and out of the little creeks when the wind gets up a bit. They can spread out pretty quickly if the wind drops off. So it is always a bit hit and miss.

Pero - we didn't spend very long in Bottle Creek so I can't confirm there were any prawns it that system.

Keith - Yep caught a couple on the Prawnstars - I get the missus casting the Prawnstars because they are little bit more forgiving if she pitches them a bit to far into the snags, trees, logs, bushes, mangrove roots, grass, timber, twigs, rocks, scrubs - which she did all day long!!! She still caught three. I had a couple of prototype Prawnstars colours to try - the new colour Ranga (bright orange) lasted all of 10 casts before a jack liked the look of it more than I did and he took it off me!

Trent

Quote Originally Posted by Trent Butler View Post
    G'day Robsie,

Trent

Do you ever work Butler? Good to see Nicole getting in to the action as well. Won't be long and you will forget how to fish

Come on Greggo you know I work in risk management which to me means managing the risk of not enough fishing! Will have to get at least one more trip off DI before all hell breaks loose in late Jan!

Trent

I hear that 2 blokesgot their 20 litres in 2 hours on Friday. In amongst their catch were 6 leader prawns at 350mm long.

G'day fellas,

Looks like the jacks are about. Any decent prawns caught?