Darwin Trip ??

Thread: Darwin Trip ??

Darwin Trip ??

Im just after some imformation regarding fishing in Darwin. Im heading up there from the 21-11-09 to 28-11-09. I decided id rather be fishing and enjoying myself then do the whole schoolies thing. So just intereseted in some local spots and or imformation regarding what areas are the best. Will be based on land as i am flyin up. Will wholey and soley be using lures.

Any thoughts or help would b appriciated.

Cheers PM

Re: Darwin Trip ??

Gday plastic _magic i lived in Darwin for 8 years so know the area well,but land base is good but man you have to watch the lizards and im not talking flattys. BE CARE FULL.,anywhere there is salt water or fresh there will be a big lizard or more the best land based advice i can give is shady camp barrage ,and the best of all would be east alligator river just head for jabiru and turn of the main road you cant miss the signs.Hmmm but do you have a car, it will be worth paying for a half day charter on arafura blue water charter guaranteed to get some big black freight trains and some big goldys.If you dont have a car let me know and ill think of some close spots,were you staying mate .cheers rob.

Hi rob, Mate thanx for the info and yes i have been told that the big lizards are quite scary. Yeh mate transport is all sorted. My mate and i are both going and my mates sister is a a local. She works on the croc farm, but lives out at humpty doo(we staying with her). She said we can use her car for the week. yeh i herd that the Arafura Charters are good. Will definately organise a trip with them. As the charter would only be one day some land based spots would be nice to try out.

Cheers PM

G’day dude, few people on here from Darwin I’m one of them.
    Late November could be a little bit tough depending on how much (or how little) rain we’ve had. Heaps easier if you had a boat, might even pay to hire one for a day or two to go out on the harbour.
    East Point rocks/Fannie Bay rocks would be a great bet at that time on year, early morning there flicking lures should see you pick up a barra or 3. Big barra get caught there every year.
    If there’s hasn’t been much rain you could go and try inland in some of the billabongs, not really my thing but some people enjoy it.
    If you’re into live baiting give that a go off just about any rocky point and you should pick up all manner of fish at that time of year.

Mate Sallad Fingers is onto it for ya ,follow what he says ,and yep hire a boat most have marks on the gps . or the go would be to go to Bynoe harbour and stay at Crab Claw Island and hire a boat there ,close to some reall good fish .cheers rob.

Hi Fellas thanx for the help, Will be studying up on the area in the next weeks. Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic_Magic View Post
    Hi Fellas thanx for the help, Will be studying up on the area in the next weeks. Cheers
    No problems, I strongly suggest you pickup a copy of the "North Australian Fish Finder" book (http://www.######.com/).

Edit: obviously i'm not allowed to post links to other websites.... anyway, they're readily available up here in tackle shops and newsagencies.