Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Underwater Cameras

Underwater Cameras

I'm looking for a camera that can survive life in a centre console and perhaps take a shot or two in shallow water. Teds has an Olympus for about $400 that looks OK. Any other suggestions?

Re: Underwater Cameras

g'day horse, we bought one of those panasonic ones that the guy skips across the creek in the ad on telly. pretty impressed with it, it's supposed to be able to handle rough use and a 1.5m drop onto a hard floor and is rated for 3m underwater. it has heaps of customisable settings (that wifey uses) or you can flick on the "dumb" switch and just point and pull (for me)

Is that the FT1 camera? Iam looking for a waterproof, strong camera also. Leigh
    http://www.panasonic.com.au/products...?objectID=4955

Quote Originally Posted by PADDLES View Post
    g'day horse, we bought one of those panasonic ones that the guy skips across the creek in the ad on telly. pretty impressed with it, it's supposed to be able to handle rough use and a 1.5m drop onto a hard floor and is rated for 3m underwater. it has heaps of customisable settings (that wifey uses) or you can flick on the "dumb" switch and just point and pull (for me)

yep, that's the one. we bought it in april, they'd only just been released and we were going overseas so looked around for duty free deals. we got it from photo continental at mt gravatt for cheaper than any duty free deal we could find either here in oz or in singapore or the uk so were more than happy. we did a fair bit of research/argueing on all the compact digital outdoor style cameras before we settled on it and are pretty happy with our decision. we used to get into a bit of motorsport and found that the time delay (from pressing the button to the shot being taken) on digital compacts was a pain in the @ss, one of the cool things with this camera is that the time delay is not that great and if you hold the button down it will take multiple shots quicker than you can think. what this means is that where in the past we would get the @ss end of a rally car in the frame because we were too slow, we now just hold the button down early and you just go back later and pick the shot you want to keep and wipe the rest. it also does full hd video as well, make sure you have the biggest capacity sd card you can get for this. another plus is that it uses sd cards which are fairly common/cheap where i think the olympus uses a proprietry (olumpus only) storage card.

Neil, I have the Olympus tough u8000 waterproof to 10m (i have taken it to that depth before while spearing) as well as the crushproof to 100kg etc... the only fault i can find with it is that it has the tendancy to make peoples skin really white in some low light conditions when the flash is the only lightsorce.. also because it is an underwater camera and everything needs to be sealed it only has a very small 3x optical zoom (however they should be releasing a new one with 10x soon) as paddles said it does need to use a olympus XD card if you want anything over 2gb storage on it.. it does have an SD adapter for anything under that though..

Nidrac...

I used to have one of those Olympus Mju700 underwater/shockproof ones and to be honest the image quality was CRAP! The images on my old Canon Powershot A80 that I have a 40m depth waterproof case for absolutely smashed the Olympus and it only had half the megapixels! The Olympus one has the worst image sensor for digital noise I have ever seen in a digicam! Even in good light there was visible noise in the images. I personally would not get another Olympus after that experience.

On the weekend I was using a Canon Powershot D10 (canon's underwater offering) and it takes brilliant pictures in all light conditions. Its video is unbelievably smooth and is only limited in length by the size of your memory card. I dont know all the details on it but I gotta say I was pretty impressed at the video I got with a turtle at Cook Island. Even coming up out of the water when he was coming up for air, the camera changes the apeture quickly for the changing light conditions.

Check it out here:
    http://www.canon.com.au/products/vis...ershotd10.aspx

Horse, I'm doing the same research. I currently have a olympus 1030 and it's been good, however not sensational.

I'm looking at the panasonic FT1 atm, has greater mp and better zoom than the olympus, intelligent auto AND the big winner for me is the movie mode is in true HD.

Cheapest i've seen so fr is $440 at videopro.

I used to have a Pentax Optio WP model. Great camera for the price. Even got a couple of mag cover shots before it died in the end. Did have to take alot of photos to get a couple of good ones though.

Quote Originally Posted by Blackened View Post

Horse, I'm doing the same research. I currently have a olympus 1030 and it's been good, however not sensational.

I'm looking at the panasonic FT1 atm, has greater mp and better zoom than the olympus, intelligent auto AND the big winner for me is the movie mode is in true HD.

Cheapest i've seen so fr is $440 at videopro.

check here mate,
    http://www.shopbot.com.au/pp-panason...ce-167979.html

Have to check postage costs of course

.........................'THE FLATHEAD ASSASIN'........................

Quote Originally Posted by Travesso View Post
    I used to have one of those Olympus Mju700 underwater/shockproof ones and to be honest the image quality was CRAP! The images on my old Canon Powershot A80 that I have a 40m depth waterproof case for absolutely smashed the Olympus and it only had half the megapixels! The Olympus one has the worst image sensor for digital noise I have ever seen in a digicam! Even in good light there was visible noise in the images. I personally would not get another Olympus after that experience.

On the weekend I was using a Canon Powershot D10 (canon's underwater offering) and it takes brilliant pictures in all light conditions. Its video is unbelievably smooth and is only limited in length by the size of your memory card. I dont know all the details on it but I gotta say I was pretty impressed at the video I got with a turtle at Cook Island. Even coming up out of the water when he was coming up for air, the camera changes the apeture quickly for the changing light conditions.

Check it out here:
    http://www.canon.com.au/products/vis...ershotd10.aspx
    Have to agree. I have the olympus and the photo it takes is crap. Have not used the panasonic or canon but looking to trade mine in. I will probably go with canon due to their reputation.

Thanx for the link Zooter.

Trouble is with all these sites, when you read "please not, user manual may come as a photocopy in the english language) usually is a giveaway for a grey import, usually forfeiting warranty.

Horse, I did more research yesterday, during harvey's last camera sale, they were going for $383.... which is insane. There's due to be more sales later in november.

We’re still looking for a Underwater camera too, like the sound of this one
    Olympus MJU 6000 12mp 3.6x zoom as I’ve heard its tougher than other cheaper models.
    When we went to getprice we found some

Getprice - http://www.getprice.com.au/Olympus-M...tal-Camera.htm

http://www.citiwideonline.com/au/ Olympus MJU 6000 $245, these do come from Hong Kong, but have full warranty, there are customer reviews on shopping au site.
    Movie mode- Recording format AVI Motion JPEG
    Also Olympus MJU 6010 at $300
    OR
    Fujifilm Z33 underwater camera - 10mp 3x zoom at bigW its $298, online $153
    OR
    Canon PowerShot D10 , $340 online,
    Some cameras don’t give details for movies the canon is 640x480 mov. I think.

for a cheapee there's one a Aldi - Traveler UW 8, 8mp 3x zoom $199, not much details about it thou. wouldnt say it can go 10m if others can't!!!

The canon looks the goods, with good reviews. Not cheap but if its as good as they say, worth it. Nothing worse than loosing once in a life time photos to a dodgy camera.
    Could be a nice chrissy present of me to give the misses. Leigh

The other option to look at is buying a medium priced camera and then an underwater camera housing to suit. It works out a bit more expensive but the quality is far superior and the underwater casing acts as a great protector for the camera whilst on the boat, in the sand or car. It is totally protected from the elements but still takes a brilliant shot and picks up sound when taking videos. I have done a lot of scuba diving over the years and have used both the early Canon S50 and now have a Sony DSCN1 which I've had for about 3 years. The Sony is awesome underwater up to 30m and you can even buy a Red filter for depths over 10m to replace the lost colour beyond that depth. I'm sure Sony has a current model and underwater housing which is the equivalent. This is a bit more serious but the shots are great. The Sony takes excellent video footage as well. I've posted some of my vids in the Video section.

Happy shopping.

Its a bit more complicated than it looks. I will have to check out a lot more options