Thread: Just ordered new rig

Just ordered new rig

I have just ordered my new rig after selling the last one.
    Thanks to all those in the Ausfish community who showed intrest in it I had it posted in the boating section of the classifieds.
    The new rig is a Brooker 5M CC with a 60 H/P Mercury 2 stroke from Cunninghams Marine.
    It will take 6-8 weeks to be built painted and fitted out and they will be the longest 6-8 weeks of all time.Still Ill have plenty of time to think about how I can fiit it out though (Yes dear and paint the house) when I take delivery of it I will post some pics.
    Cheers Axl

Re: Just ordered new rig

Hey champ.

I got one 2 weeks ago. Thanks to Nathan, a fellow Ausfisher, i got some things changed whilst the boat was in manufacture.

A few mods i got them to change were:
    Casting platform
    Minn Kota platform up front
    3mm checkerplate bow
    Extended splash tray/well.
    Extended trandsucer bracket.
    Ask for a 6 switch pannel instead of 4.
    Battery placed under C/C
    Fuel tank placed up front under the casting platform.

By moving these two things out of the corner, frees up so much fishing room.

Next week im getting a live well/kill tank put inside the main bench seat, plumbed out the back

With these mods, the boat does everything ive needed and im over the moon.

Great boat in the chop too, really nice ride.

Gorms

Hi Gorms83

Thanks for the reply mate I sent Nath a PM after reading his threads on the site and he was kind enough to reply to me with his phone number so I could have a chat with him got some great info of him.

The 6 switch panel instead of the 4 sounds good I will ask for that and I am going to ask to get the transducer bracket extended.

How much extra did the checker plate set you back?

Cunninghams Marine have remodeled the back of the Discovery to include a casting platform they have gotten rid of the rear seat wich I wasnt going to use anyway and it also hids the fuel tanks and the battery see pic attached.
    It can be used as seats if needed.

They have also extended the motor splash well by 6 inches although it is not in the pic.

I had a look at your rig and it looks excellent did you put the rod holders in or was this done during fit out?

I am going to put a bait mate cutting board on the splash well and I hope to add a Lowrance HDS-5 sounder/GPS as well did you fit yours or did the shop do it? I will be putting in a 27meg radio , a am/fm cd player & speakers so I think that I will let the guys at the shop do it all at once when I have purchased the items.

Whilst I am on the electrics how is yours lit up for night fishing that is some thing I will need to concider as well?

I would appreciate some pics of your rig showing the sounder , rod holders and other attachments so as I can start thinking about how and where to mount things.

Email troy.holt@santos.com

I cant wait it is going to be a long 6-8 weeks.

Attachment 52425
    Cheers Axl

Quote Originally Posted by Axl View Post
    I have just ordered my new rig after selling the last one.
    Thanks to all those in the Ausfish community who showed intrest in it I had it posted in the boating section of the classifieds.
    The new rig is a Brooker 5M CC with a 60 H/P Mercury 2 stroke from Cunninghams Marine.
    It will take 6-8 weeks to be built painted and fitted out and they will be the longest 6-8 weeks of all time.Still Ill have plenty of time to think about how I can fiit it out though (Yes dear and paint the house) when I take delivery of it I will post some pics.
    Axl, I have also just ordered (5 October) my new 4.10 Brooker Safari from Cunninghams Marine and was also told 6-7 weeks before delivery. I have a feeling the time will pass slowly. I am in Victoria but Cunninghams had the best price for the type of boat I was after and Peter was very helpful in arranging the sale.
    I have bought a Dunbier trailer locally that I will tow to Sydney to pick the boat up on and am buying a Yamaha 40hp with electric start and t/t from my local dealer. A bit of mucking around I know, but I am saving a fortune, buying everything new, and getting the hull, trailer and motor I want. All the best with your new rig, it sounds like it will be well set up when you have finished with it.

We will have to see how accurate the delivery times were at the end of it all?

Hi Gorms83

Thanks for the reply mate I sent Nath a PM after reading his threads on the site and he was kind enough to reply to me with his phone number so I could have a chat with him got some great info of him.

The 6 switch panel instead of the 4 sounds good I will ask for that and I am going to ask to get the transducer bracket extended.

How much extra did the checker plate set you back?
    The checker plate was quoted at $350 or something similar but it was thrown in with the bargaining when negotiating the deal. I find it really useful as my mum and dad who arnt atheletes anymore, can step from the warm, onto the checkerplate holding the rail, then step onto my casting platform and then onto the deck.

Also when using the minn kota, its good to stand on when getting lures out of trees!

Cunninghams Marine have remodeled the back of the Discovery to include a casting platform they have gotten rid of the rear seat wich I wasnt going to use anyway and it also hids the fuel tanks and the battery see pic attached.
    It can be used as seats if needed.
    Yeah throw some cushions on that platform and you have yourself a seat. and no need to remove the tank and battery though i would still adivise putting the battery under the C/C so its getting some weight out of the back, and throw another 25L tank in on the other side. There is 50L for you to last you a while.

They have also extended the motor splash well by 6 inches although it is not in the pic. Good work, worth every cent.

I had a look at your rig and it looks excellent did you put the rod holders in or was this done during fit out? The boat came with 4 rod holders, and i negotiated another 2. Didnt put one next to the rail down the back as your reel tends to hit it and not allow the rod to point in the correct direction. Ive also got another 2 Scotty rail mounts to go on up the front, either side of the bow rails. Handy when setting up for a jewfish spread and something to hold the flick rod when we are doing something else on the platform i.e landing fish or getting those bloody lures out of trees.

I am going to put a bait mate cutting board on the splash well and I hope to add a Lowrance HDS-5 sounder/GPS as well did you fit yours or did the shop do it? I will be putting in a 27meg radio , a am/fm cd player & speakers so I think that I will let the guys at the shop do it all at once when I have purchased the items. I was thinking about a bait mate, but ive opted to put an aluminium insert inside the main bench seat that will act as a live bait tank, and also a kill tank/drinks esky. Look at my previous posts, there was a thread that went no where. Its getting done at the moment. The HDS 5, the minn kota and the X125 (sounder up the front connected to the minnkota gearbox) and the bait tank will be fitted by a guy who was recommended a mate. So far, everything he has done has been perfect, but he is in Sydney. He also fits Foxtel to boats, i was tempted.....

Whilst I am on the electrics how is yours lit up for night fishing that is some thing I will need to concider as well? I still only have the one light at the bow for allround white light. Ive since heard its illegal so in time im going to get it set ontop of either a T top binimi or ontop of the current C/C windscreen bar. Still cant believe if it is illegal why they still put it out on their boats. Id love to get some under gunnel LED lights put in, but to be honest ive already stretched past my limit and the minister for fun and finances is putting the handbrake on. Might get it done in time.

I would appreciate some pics of your rig showing the sounder , rod holders and other attachments so as I can start thinking about how and where to mount things. Ive fitted 2 downriggers, which are great. Put them up near the drivers seat so i can do the driving and monitor the depths for the 2 guys fishing. What i would suggest is getting some blocks of either wood, or the thickest plastic from clarke rubber, and re-inforcing the downrigger blocks, and possibly the rod holders. When you put some pressure on the rod holders, either side bends up down a bit showing that the aluminium isnt that thick. Apparently its not a problem but since the rubber went on underneath, the sections either side of the attachments are firm. Nathan suggested some S/Steel ones which might be stronger that the plastic ones i use. Ill try and get some photos on here soon, well atleast before your boat gets here.

Email troy.holt@santos.com

I cant wait it is going to be a long 6-8 weeks.
    6-8 weeks is ages, but not if you keep busy.Spend some time making up rod racks attached to carpeted marine ply, and source everything you need. So when the boat gets there, 1 day fit out and your on the water.

Best of luck pal, i hope you and your family get as much joy as what my boat has brought me, my family and my bank manager.

Gorms.

Gorms
    Thanks for the info mate I cant wait to start fitting her out I am away at work till next week when I get home ill go and see Peter up at Cunninghams marine and see what sort of deal I can get on some goodies.
    Cheers Axl

geoffmck
    Sounds like you have some work to do pal but every penny saved is worth the effort. Peter up at Cunninghams is certainly helpfull when it comes to ordering over the phone good luck with your purchase post some pics once you have her I will be doing just that in about 7 weeks.
    Cheers Axl

I picked up my new 4.1 Brooker Safari yesterday. I was a bit to tired to do much today after the 2 day drive but have had a good look over her, and the welds/workmanship etc. are as good or better than any I have seen on a tinnie by any manufacturer. She looks and feels as solid as a rock. I have booked her in next Tuesday to have the motor fitted and will post a few pics when that is done. There were heaps of boats in the yard at the Brooker factory so hopefully for those who are waiting for one to be built, one of them is yours. All up it was exactly 8 weeks from order to pick up.

on ya mate

be safe. enjoy

Quote Originally Posted by geoffmck View Post
    I picked up my new 4.1 Brooker Safari yesterday. I was a bit to tired to do much today after the 2 day drive but have had a good look over her, and the welds/workmanship etc. are as good or better than any I have seen on a tinnie by any manufacturer. She looks and feels as solid as a rock. I have booked her in next Tuesday to have the motor fitted and will post a few pics when that is done. There were heaps of boats in the yard at the Brooker factory so hopefully for those who are waiting for one to be built, one of them is yours. All up it was exactly 8 weeks from order to pick up.
    goeffmck

Sounds geat mate I hope everything goes well for you.

I hope to have mine with in the next week it should be sitting at Cunningham's ready for fit out and I will also post some pics once I pick her up.
    Cheers Axl

Went up to Cunningham's today and picked her up 6-8 weeks turned into 10 but at least its here.The wind will start blowing now I bet.

I have'nt had a chance to get any pics yet as we have been busy setting up for tommorrows festivities I will post some in the next couple off days.
    Cheers Axl

Congrats on the new rig and Merry Christmas. Look forward to seeing some photos of the new rig with "blood and scales" on the gunnels
    Wal

Gee mate, cutting it fine to get it by Christmas. Congrats.

Thanks WalFish no blood and scales as yet but as soon as the weather settels there will be I have been of the water for way to long.

goeffmck tell me about it mate I got home midday xmas eve and as I said we were busy right through till boxing day now the weather decides to go bad at least we are finally getting some long over due rain in my neck of the woods.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Cheers Axl