M/T tyres

Thread: M/T tyres

M/T tyres

Hi all ,

just about to remove the Cooper ATR,s from my 80 series cruiser ( will keep for beach and road work) and replace with either......

Mickey Tomson ATZ 4-rib 265/75R16LT or the ATZ 5-rib

I have been told the 4-rib are noisey

Any thoughts ?

cheers JIMMY

Re: M/T tyres

Jimmy

Mate i have fitted MT atz 4 bars to my patrol and am very very happy!! Just did 6000 km trip out to Alice around the McDonald ranges, across to Birdsville via the Simpson desert then home. The terrain was black top , gibbers, sand, some mud and heaps of sharp rocks and the tyres were great. I've had BFG At's , Cooper MT, and now the MT atz 4 bars and these are the tyres i'll be sticking with!!

Ps Not real noisey at all imho but i have come back from mudders!
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

I have micky t's atz 5 rib, 1st set ,14mm of tread new, worn to 7.5, 8, 8, 7mm tread depth after 60 000km with 10 000km of outback gravel and gibber roads. No chipping to 3 tyres and minimal to 1. I do 6 tyre rotation at about 10 000km. Replaced with another set for this years trip, now at 15 000km with no signs of wear with mimimal damage but 1 tyre with a shallow rock cut on the side of the tread, so far these tyres have done a 10 000km trip including gunbarrel highway, oonindatta track. How do I rate them 10/10. I have been paying $250 a tyre, fitted and balanced.

Thanks for the reply boys.

Still need some report on the noise the factor from the 4 rib which I am leaning towards. Ian , your info is good , bit hard to judge as anything would be quieter than M/Ts

JIMMY

Hey there, I run the M/T ATZ 4 ribs in that same size. b4 These I had highway terrain tyres, and while the noise is noticable, I dont find it annoying and I hardly notice it now after having them for 6 months. If you have the stereo on
    The noise is loudest between speeds of 80-100 kph, but once at highway speeds I dont hear them.

I find them to be a great tyre providing good grip on road, and great grip offroad. I reckon go the 4 rib over the 5 rib especially if there for more offroad work, as the're a lot more aggressive. You wont be disappointed. Next time ill be getting the MTZ's.

I have just been chatting to my brother who is getting a pair, he was inclined to go for the 5 bar because of the noise factor but the tyre guy said the 4 bars have less road noise than the 5 bar for some reason. hope that helps!

ian
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Road noise from an aggressive tyre has a lot more to do with how they are cared for on the vehicle, rather than the shape of them.
    They need a lot more care (rotation, balancing alignments etc) than a normal tyre because they wear into uneven shapes very quickly. Driving style, vehicle loading etc also has a lot to do with it.
    Buy aggressive tyres, but be prepared to look after them.
    I run Hercules Terra trac MT's because I need traction tyres from time to time and they are cheap. My ute doesn't get an easy life and is loaded differently from day to day thus affecting the alignment. You can guess that my tyres are a bit noisy, and at 30K they'll get binned for a new set. The oe dueler 693's made it to 23K before being completely scrubbed so 30K for a $160 tyre is looking like good value to me. 693's in my size are over $300 each.

P.S. the Mickey T's do look the goods though.

Geez Ian now I am confused...........better ring a few more tyre dealers !

Good info GBC

JIMMY

Well I just contacted a M/T dealer in Miami, Qld, and he said he can't get the 4-rib till December cause they broke the mould in the U.S...............unbelievable !

JIMMY

Ausfish Bronze Member Aussie Spirit's Avatar

Jimmy, Give Steve a call at Tyres & More over towards Virginia, he stocks the tyres that you are after and say Lindsay sent you.
    I have been doing heaps of research on the 4 and 5 rib along with the MTZ's and have just ordered a complete set for the triton in the 4 rib.
    Aussie Spirit
    Stacer Proline 3.75
    Rego: WG951Q