Thread: Baffle Creek next week

Baffle Creek next week

Gday Guys,

Heading up to Baffle Creek next week for a few days fishing. Could anyone let me in on whats biting at the moment, any crabs about?

We are going to camp - Is there a reasonable camping ground and ramp access? I have also heard stories about rock bars everywhere - Does this mean it is a mid tide up only creek?

Any tips would be appreciated

Cheers Rob

Re: Baffle Creek next week

Baffle Bobs has good camping and a good ramp. Take a GPS so once you plot a clear course - either up or down stream - you can follow it. Downstream mostly sand bars and difficult at low tide. Upstream rock bars. The fishing is worth it though.

yeah make sure you mark ya way back from upper as its has alot of rocks ledges and groins and damage would be costly

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

baffle creek what a great spot yes mate caution is a must after my last trip i found out just how important the tides are at this great fishing spot ,i went because i was told about the great jacks and at that time i was a jack virgin, not any more the first 4 days we had 4 flathead but on our 5 day the tide let us in to a new world of fun we had enough water to get into a spot we were told about by a local mate. me and my mate steve landed18 jacks and lost as many we also caught 6 big mudies on the hook using live bait we were blown away i hope you have picked the tides right mate good luck and tight lines hilly

just got back from BC two weeks ago and their wasn't a crab in sight....for two week we had 12 pots out every day and we didnt come home with one. Bob did say he thought it was still a bit early in the season....
    As said, slow and steady is the way if you dont know your way around.
    rocks and alloy props dont like each other......
    When you put the boat in go to the east of the island in front of you because if its not right on high tide you wont get thru the west side.
    really a sounder is a must for that place.

Thanks a lot for the tips guys - Obviously Dad has heard the same thing because he has just bought a sounder - never though I'd see the day !

Thanks for the tips. I've never caught a jack either but hopefully that changes. It so happens that i broke down on the weekend next to a fishing tackle shop (how convienient . A new battery and $80 in fishing gear later - I reckon its a sign..

mate i know its a great thing to get a jack on a lure butif ya a jack vuirgin get some live bait and finda drop off near a rock ledge if you head to the west of baffle bobs boat ramp there is a ledge area down there and further round a must see be carefull though and get a map as well to help navigate its a rocky place and prop damage can and will happen if ya not carefull also

Thanks for the tip Nipsta. I think i'll google earth baffle. The rock ledges sound promising for bream and grunter this time of year as well if we can't snag a jack