Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

Thread: Garrett recieves Qld Government report on Traveston dam

Re: Garrett recieves Qld Government report on Traveston dam

Gympie gets it water from the Mary R. Borumba releases to maintain a flow in the Mary primarily for the downstream irrigation and also to top up urban supply to the Mary R towns, although this is really only for the town as everyone has tanks outside (and most in town).

Re the nuclear power station. I have seen this reported before, but am interested in how it would work as I believe most of the property owners who sold to QWI have a buy back option if the dam doesn't go ahead.

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post
    Gympie gets it water from the Mary R. Borumba releases to maintain a flow in the Mary primarily for the downstream irrigation and also to top up urban supply to the Mary R towns, although this is really only for the town as everyone has tanks outside (and most in town).

Re the nuclear power station. I have seen this reported before, but am interested in how it would work as I believe most of the property owners who sold to QWI have a buy back option if the dam doesn't go ahead.
    Thanks for that..so obviously there is already water being taken from the mary..do they propose to use the new dam for reticualtion in Gympie also ?

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    Thanks for that..so obviously there is already water being taken from the mary..do they propose to use the new dam for reticualtion in Gympie also ?
    There was talk in the paper yesterday about them now extedning borumba rather than building the traveston corssing dam.

Thanks for that..so obviously there is already water being taken from the mary..do they propose to use the new dam for reticulation in Gympie also ?
    I would doubt it as these towns take water from the river and treat it for consumption. My understanding is that the pipeline is only heading south to Brisbane, not north to Gympie or other towns. This proposed dam is a Brisbane urban water supply dam.

AFTER four parched months the Mary River, site of the State Government's proposed Traveston Dam, has stopped flowing.

No water is crossing the tidal barrage at Tiaro between Gympie and Maryborough in the river's downstream reaches.

Upstream at Traveston Crossing, where the dam will go, water is ankle deep.
    Locals say it shows Government arguments used to justify the dam are a load of rubbish.

Full article here:

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/s...37-952,00.html

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post
    I would doubt it as these towns take water from the river and treat it for consumption. My understanding is that the pipeline is only heading south to Brisbane, not north to Gympie or other towns. This proposed dam is a Brisbane urban water supply dam.
    that does make a joke of the "water grid" then...they probably won't put in pump systems to pump water back up there if needed.

On a side note, I heard they have begun incresing the capacity of Hinze by raising the dam wall.

Work is well on the way on that project
    Here's a link for some information
    http://www.hinzedamstage3.com/constr...ks_program.php
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Pinhead,

I understand that pumps are required hence the pipes, before you get the oportunity at a wise crack no I didn't think gravity from UP north would pull it down south

You said earlier that the pumps would need to run all the time? I figured on just kicking them in every year when the wet season starts and the floods especially. Huge diameter pipes with (technical term) big ass pumps that could be kicked into action when huge volumes of extra water are available. Toping up every dam we now have as it made it's way south. Once Wivenhoe and somerset are at 100% we pump it over the range to Toowoomba once they are full they overflow it to the Murray Darling. If SEQers have water tanks that support a large percentage of their needs then when those good times come the system gets a lot more water.

Im not an expert in Macro Engineering projects so I may be talking about a pipe dream that isn't possible but you sounded like you have some experience in the area so I would really like to know.

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Chris..if you want to move water you have to pump it..then all the engineering comes into play with velocities for pipe and pump diameters , head of water to move etc etc.

i think GHD did a report on this subject a few years back.

Sorry mate I wasnt clear. Is it possible to have pumps that stay stagnant for over half the year and get cranked into action when required? For example if NQLD dams are not at 100% they can be turned off until better water flows or when floods start they can be opened full bottle so massive amounts of water are redirected south?

GHD?

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

I can't stand by and see Traveston built. While I don't live there, I don't think their valley/homes/lives should be drowned for the sake of Brisbane, nor do I like the environmental implications on the river, or the Great Sandy Straights. And the last thing the world needs is to be drowning prime food producing land, when we (globally) already have a food shortage, which is only getting worse due to expanding populations (but now AGW, which is a load of frog snot).

I'd rather we were spending the billions required to pipe the water from up North, but we have no money, because of Anna.

Desal is a joke, because of Anna. Maybe could be done better and feasibly by someone else?

We should buy up all the houses in Wolfdene and put the dam there. That sure as hell ain't no bread basket. Blame KRUDD, he's the visionary who put the kybosh on it in the first place.

What a crock of a State. Pity the weather's so nice. I'm staying, even though I'm a Mexican!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

You're not a mexican Tim..you are from South Australia. Cockroaches are from NSW, Mexicans are from Vic..anyone else is just from another planet.

My understanding is that the government still owns the land bought up for Wolfdene. It also owns the land that would be affected by the raising of the wall at Borumba.

SE Qld hasn't got a water problem, its got a population problem and despite what fear mongers like Pinhead and others say about manageing population growth (they'll be killing the first born ..etc..) there are many social and economic incentive and educational ways ways that population growth could be better managed and diustributed in Qld. Its not rocket science, any cow cocky knows there's only so many head you can put in the bottom paddock before you flog its condition. The SE Qld paddock is already full. If you buy some more time (for growth and $ making by property developers, wave of building industry etc) by damming another river, where do you dam next time you run into water supply versus population constraints? and the time after that and the time after that???

The anti-conservation brigade often have a shot at 'greenies' for having no sense of balance along the lines of 'we are all conservationists at heart and want to look after nature, but there's got to be some balance...." Well, when you look at the entire SE Qld bioregion most of its rivers are ecologically stuffed in terms of their integrity (Noosa might be an exception but it is more representative of the Cooloola sands than the rest of the SE Qld bioregion) - the Mary has a lot more integrity left than the rest and is brimming with threatened species representative of the SE Qld bioregion. In terms of a sense of balance we should as a Qld community be prepared to keep one river representative of the bioregion undammed on its main channel stem).

We shouldn't even need to be arguing the toss about this threatened species versus another, the debate should be at a river basin level and keeping some thing sacred instead of sacrifing them on the mythical alter of sustained growth forever (its BS!).

BTW I never claimed that the dam would result in the extinction of Mary River Cod as a species (as someone claimed above) - but I will state that I belive the best remnant Mary River cod population and some of the best habitat in the main channel of the Mary River lies in the Traveston Dam project reach and will be stuffed by it if it goes ahead, something not in the interests of the recovery of the species from its currently highly endangered status.

The unsustainability of McMansions and spreading Lego land throughout the SE corner should also not be dropped onto the Mary valley and its residents including its creature ones.

I just got back from a four day camping trip on the Mary River with family, caught a heap of fish and cannot understand why anyone interested in fishing could support the stuff up of one of the best remaining riverine ecosystems in SE Qld.

With regards to the bought up land, if the dam didn't go ahead I reckon we should get it turned into a riverine recreational park - with camping and fishing possies for lovers of riverine ecosystems!!
    'Stick to fishing instead of fighting' - JC

Quote Originally Posted by Jim_Tait View Post
    SE Qld hasn't got a water problem, its got a population problem and despite what fear mongers like Pinhead and others say about manageing population growth (they'll be killing the first born ..etc..) there are many social and economic incentive and educational ways ways that population growth could be better managed and diustributed in Qld. Its not rocket science, any cow cocky knows there's only so many head you can put in the bottom paddock before you flog its condition. The SE Qld paddock is already full. If you buy some more time (for growth and $ making by property developers, wave of building industry etc) by damming another river, where do you dam next time you run into water supply versus population constraints? and the time after that and the time after that???

The anti-conservation brigade often have a shot at 'greenies' for having no sense of balance along the lines of 'we are all conservationists at heart and want to look after nature, but there's got to be some balance...." Well, when you look at the entire SE Qld bioregion most of its rivers are ecologically stuffed in terms of their integrity (Noosa might be an exception but it is more representative of the Cooloola sands than the rest of the SE Qld bioregion) - the Mary has a lot more integrity left than the rest and is brimming with threatened species representative of the SE Qld bioregion. In terms of a sense of balance we should as a Qld community be prepared to keep one river representative of the bioregion undammed on its main channel stem).

We shouldn't even need to be arguing the toss about this threatened species versus another, the debate should be at a river basin level and keeping some thing sacred instead of sacrifing them on the mythical alter of sustained growth forever (its BS!).

BTW I never claimed that the dam would result in the extinction of Mary River Cod as a species (as someone claimed above) - but I will state that I belive the best remnant Mary River cod population and some of the best habitat in the main channel of the Mary River lies in the Traveston Dam project reach and will be stuffed by it if it goes ahead, something not in the interests of the recovery of the species from its currently highly endangered status.

The unsustainability of McMansions and spreading Lego land throughout the SE corner should also not be dropped onto the Mary valley and its residents including its creature ones.

I just got back from a four day camping trip on the Mary River with family, caught a heap of fish and cannot understand why anyone interested in fishing could support the stuff up of one of the best remaining riverine ecosystems in SE Qld.

With regards to the bought up land, if the dam didn't go ahead I reckon we should get it turned into a riverine recreational park - with camping and fishing possies for lovers of riverine ecosystems!!
    some of you blokes need a lesson in comprehension..at no time have I ever said anything about controlling the population. I am an advocate of the democratic system and this permits people to live where they choose. I find your comment about killing first born offensive.

Jim..it appears you want every river to have pretty trees hanging over the banks..platypus frolicking in the streams and butterflies overhead..not gunna happen...even you camping along the river has created damage so if you love it so much then stay away from it.

Even the best cow cocky would also know that their land clearing in the past has led to some of the worst land degradation this country has seen so let's not put the country folk on some sort of pedestal..they are as much to blame for todays problems as are we all.

I am also a firm believer that human life is sacrosanct and is to be protected at all costs and if that means building a dam then so be it...as I said previously..if Rudd and Swann had not canned Wolfdene then there would not be a problem today.