Thread: new triton any good

new triton any good

I am looking at getting a new dualcab ute and was wondering if anybody has had anything to do with the new 2.5l triton diesel. I tow a reasonably heavy trailer for work and dont want to be replacing clutches all the time.

thanks in advance

Re: new triton any good

Cant be any worse than the navara! I looked at the triton when I got my car and I reckoned it was the best value for money on the market. 2 things turned me off, the smaller tray and that shape of the cab. Based on the service I get on the wifes mitsi I really wished I had bought the triton now. We had some issues with her car and took it in for a service, everything fixed under warentee + a couple of minor bits we did not know were bad.

The dealer we use is norris motor group at nundah. I am keen to hear what is said about the triton because that is probably going to be my next 4wd.

workmate has a 4x4 duelcab base model,is going back for its 1st service so 15000 km old and is gettin the back end leaf springs rebuild while there ....to soft in the back think they are adding another spring as well....this was the cab chassie model....other than that he's really happy with it,
    cheers rosco
    p.s i have the mazda bt-50 4x4 duel cab have had my springs rebuit as well..

There does seem to be a lot of 12 mth old tritons on the market compared to some of the other utes.....

Gday all,
    well I reckon they're alright, I'm picking up a new GLX-R next week. The new model has the longer tray, largest rear seat area in the class (I've got to fit twins in the back), and comes standard with side curtain airbags and I got it cheaper that the run-out deals they were doing a month or so back. And I like the shape of the cab and you can't go past that warranty.

We have two at work under 12 months old, can't complain about either the 4cyl or the v6 models.
    We also have three other tritons up to ten yrs old now and none of them have needed any major repairs requiring the ute to be off the road for more than the time of a regular service. I think the worst thing so far is a thermostat replacement. One ute has 250 000km on the clock and just last month had the prake pads replaced and they still were not worn near the metal. These utes carry their max capacity at least once every week.

I drove one on a cattle station up the dirt roads and corrogations. they normally drive the landcrusier utes out their. I found it was a very poor ride on the red top. going round corners it would tend to be very difficult to manage whereas the cruiser was very solid in the turns. the front suspension was just too soft too and any bump would produce an oscillation. i got the feeling that the tail was unbelievabely hard to manage at any speed on the dirt.

saying that their motor is excellent. very effecient and an enormous amount of power and torque at all revs. and the drive train seemed pretty good.

Just my opinion and hope it helps

Owen

I too would be very interested in any ones experience with a new triton, I'm thinking of upgrading the falcon, but can't decide to go with either the 3l TD Ford Ranger for the 3.0t towing or go with the triton, lower towing capacity (that I wouldn't use the extra anyway), but that 5 and 10 year warranty thing sure has the old mind ticking over.

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/231...d-test-review/

Have a look at that review on the Isuzu

The suspension boys tell me that they get a bad vibration in them if you lift them so much as an inch. Apparently its a problem and they are struggling for a fix.

I don't hear a lot of bad words about them around the traps so that is a good sign.

BilgeBoy

No - its brand new and you can have one of the first and tell the rest of us.

Good luck!

White Pointer
    Last edited by White Pointer; 09-10-2009 at 10:32 PM. Reason: Grammar

Quote Originally Posted by 610 View Post
    I am looking at getting a new dualcab ute and was wondering if anybody has had anything to do with the new 2.5l triton diesel. I tow a reasonably heavy trailer for work and dont want to be replacing clutches all the time.

thanks in advance
    Buy an auto and allow $1500 to upgrade the suspension no matter what brand you buy.......
    The triton was on my shortlist when I was looking last year - couldn't ignore the price they were offering at the time.

had my glrr for 3 months.
    took it up the beach without any probs.
    tows my 5mt stacer like a breeze.
    great accelleration. good on hills.
    very confortable.
    plenty room inside.
    for a run around car in city, bit country driving, iam extremely happy.
    i got petrol.

greg

I'd be sold on the new Triton if I were in the market for a 4x4 dual cab diesel.

The tray in the new models apparently is larger, not sure by how much actual size but when you see them side by side it's a visible difference.

Ive got the 3.2 diesel and its great before that i had a d40 2.5 navara and it was crap for towing and had no power down low.The triton leaves it for dead.As for the 2.5 triton I am worried it may suffer the same problem as the navara in that they screw too much boost in to get the power up in the higher revs and it might not make enough power down low where you need it for towing.I hope im wrong time will tell.
    IS THAT A ROD IN MY POCKET OR AM I JUST HAPPY TO BE FISHING