Wahoo Research - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Wahoo Research

Re: Wahoo Research

Hi All

For those that are interested - I've just published a website for my research project www.wahooresearch.com

Only a few pages are complete at the moment, but I plan to finish it in the next couple of weeks. I hope to be able to give an outline of all of my research, as well as post interesting photo's etc. By simply bookmarking this page, it might make it easier for people to contact me if they catch wahoo.

Cheers and enjoy
    Mitch

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

Mate, if you haven't already, get onto some of the NSW forums. 2 which come to mind are spearoz.org. Alot of the guys on there are well versed in chasing pelagics and I'm sure would be only to happy to help out.
    Another is sportfishextreme.com. It's primarily a LBG (land based game) website but has a large contingent of boaties on it. It is comprised mostly of central coast-sydney anglers so should help cover your southern extremities and allow you to guarantee that you're covering all regions.

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

Also just thought, maybe try and get onto some Lord Howe Island charter operators. The boat that services Lord Howe, the Island Trader, has a frozen containment in it should you require them to be shipped back to the mainland. As a widespread pelagic population I'd imagine that It'd be a prime location to gather the far Eastern fish of the East Coast population, with LHI being only 500 odd km off the coast.

Thanks for the help mattooty - I'll definitely be investigating all of those options. It would be great to get fish from all extremes of their distribution off eastern Australia.

Mitch, Our clubs target fish for our club weekend in November (14th and 15th) is Wahoo. I will reinforce your requirements at the club meeting prior to the weekend. We have a BIG meeting in November with reps from Rapala, Williamsons Lures and Peter Pakula doing talks, so the enthusiasm should be to the fore.

Secretary - Moreton Bay Boat Club Game/Sportfish Section

Ausfish Platinum Member Midnight's Avatar

Gday,
    Nice website Mitch, good work!

Greg,
    What date is the meeting above?
    I am still trying to get over there on a club meeting night to join the fishing section. Every month I plan to get over there and am always away with work!

Myles

g'day Myles

The meeting date for November is MONDAY 9th......not tuesday as it normally is. The reataurant is closed monday nights, but the cafe is open....and they do great pizzas, as well as the club BBQ. We have the entire back deck on monday night so there is plenty of room for guests as well...the more the merrier. Meeting starts at 7.30pm....food available for purchase from 6pm.

Thanks Greg,
    I have that day off, see you there!

Myles

Mitch

Tried to give you a ring today ( Sunday) but i guess that's a work number, i'll have another go tomorrow, as i've got 5 wahoo frames in the ice box atm but no freezer space!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Nice one Ian,
    Care to share where you found the Hoo frames?
    I'm planning to go and try to find a few later in the week.
    Myles

Myles

Breaksea Spit northern end of Fraser Island, were were up there trying to find a few blacks and sails , which were pretty quiet ( Smithy got a small black though) we also had heavy tackle on board which was lucky as we tagged a nice blue in 600m!

Ps. Note to self, never run 4 rods with 2 anglers onboard again , very nearly ended in disaster. Fortunately the fish took the skip bait with the circle hook otherwise it would have been lost!
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

There were also some hoo getting round here on the Sunny Coast on the weekend, but only splinter versions, not real ones. Ymer got two and snipped by a couple of others.

Ian - thanks for the call today, and thanks a lot for keeping the wahoo frames for me. Sounds like there were a few around up at Breaksea, hopefully the boys fishing the Hervey Bay tournament in a couple of weeks get heaps for me.

Smithy - good to hear there are a few burning around the Sunny Coast. Real small ones are very important to the project as it allows estimates of when fish mature, as well as helps create more accurate growth models. If guys are catching small ones (obviously have to be legal size), i'm very interested to try and get those frames.

Mitch

Hi All

I've just spent the last couple of days adding A LOT more content to the website for my wahoo research project. For those of you who have been there before, there should be some new interesting stuff for you to check out. For those who haven't been there it, the address is www.wahooresearch.com

Mitch

Hi Guys

Just bumping this thread back to the top. Please remember to the frames of any wahoo you might catch and give me a call so that I can pick them up. Hopefully they show up in good numbers this year.

Mitch.