Wahoo Research
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wahoo Research

Wahoo Research

Hi All

Some may remember about this time last year I posted a call for assistance with wahoo research that I am completing for my PhD through the University of Queensland. Just to sum up, I am currently 12 months into a 3 year PhD project looking at the biology (age, growth, reproduction, diet), ecology and stock structure of wahoo off eastern Australia. To do this, I need to examine a total of 500 wahoo from various locations throughout the full extent of their range (North QLD to SE NSW), with specimens collected from each month of the year for at least two years.

Through the help of many recreational anglers, spear fishers and game fishing clubs (many members of this website), charter operators and governement organizations (DPI, AFMA) I managed to collect over 100 wahoo specimens last summer. This was a great achievement considering I had only recently started my project and I was stoked with the response from the fishing community.

Seeing as the water temps are starting to rise, I thought I'd post a message to remind everyone that this project is still ongoing, and I aim to collect 400 wahoo specimens over the next 12 months. It will be a huge effort if I can achieve this goal, and support from all fishing sectors will be essential to the success of this project.

Therefore I ask that if you catch any wahoo over the coming months, could you please keep the fish frame (taking care not to damage the internal organs) in your freezer, record the date and location of capture, and contact me to arrange pick up of the wahoo. I can give you leak proof bags and specimen labels so that storing these wahoo is easier for you. Also, please pass this message to all of your mates that may catch wahoo.

Feel free to contact me if you have any further questions about my research, or would like to notify me if you have a wahoo that needs picking up. My contact details are:

Mitchell Zischke
    Email: mitchell.zischke@csiro.au
    Ph: 07 3826 7312

I'll be bumping this post from time to time to remind people that I am chasing wahoo frames, as well as keep you updated to how the project is going.

Mitch

Re: Wahoo Research

Yep no worries mitchell, lets hope for both our sakes that they turn up in numbers this season, no that the el nino is back it could be good!

ian

Ps.

hervey bay comp is the first,it could be worth a email to the organizers
    http://www.hbgfc.org.au/
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Good luck with it all Mitch, I'm sure you'll get plenty more from the Ausfish community. Sweet looking sign as well.

Thanks Mitch. Was thinking of you tonight when i was at a comittee meeting organising the upcoming Game Tournaments. We still have some bags and tags...and will make sure that we can contribute to your project. Our first Tourney of the season is the Ladies Billfish Challenge...which will be November 21,22. I will emphasise the Wahoo Project at the briefing and keep in touch with you if any are captured. Im sure Captain Rednut will do likewise for the Bribie Club. Smithy should be also on board from Sunshine Coast.

MBBC Game/Sportfish Club

G'day Mitch,

Good to know you're getting support from the people via Ausfish Community.

Good on you - Will pass this onto a few Charter operators I know & Do a bit of trolling off Flinders Etc myself - your # is in the mobile - I hope you hear from me . Sammyxx

I've had a few emails and calls from guys who are happy to help out with this project - thanks for your support. Let's hope this season is a cracker and their are plenty of hoo around.

Fish from areas outside of SEQ are very important so if there is anyone on here who is likely to get fish from central/northern QLD or down in NSW I would love to hear from you.

Mitch

Ausfish Platinum Member Midnight's Avatar

Gday Mitch,
    Im heading out on Sunday and I'm hoping I can send you a few frames, dunno about whole fish, that will depend on how many we get!

Will it be ok for your purposes if i freeze the frames in a standard white rubbish bag? I dont have any big clip seal bags. If we get a few I will definately get some of your bags and tags for next time.

Myles

Myles,

In case Mitch doesnt answer you before you go. He mainly requires the frames, with head and gut intact......so ice em on board, then knock the fillets off without puncturing the gut cavity. Whack em a plastic bag(if you have to break the backbone behind the gut to fit thats ok), seal the bag(to stop contamination of your freezer) then freeze. Record the location and time of capture and he will be more than happy. He did a talk at our club last year on what he is after, so I hope I got it right. This is one research project I am more than happy to endorse..he is a fellow fisho with the same ideals and philosophy as the rest of us, trying to make his way in the world of marine science by earning his PhD.

Thanks Greg,

I will do my best to get a few worthy specimens in the morning.

Planning on heading out wide for the arvo tide change to try for my first billfish of the season.

Myles

GL with the project, MJ. If hell freezes over and I actually land a wahoo this season, I'll give you a yell.

Sleepygreg has got it right. I just need frames, but with all guts etc undamaged. Its fine to put them in garbage bags etc and you can snap the back bone in as many places as you need to fit them in the freezer. All fish from one trip can go in the same bag, but preferably put each fish in a different bag. I just need a general location and date and I will definitely be a very happy chappy. Good luck tomorrow Midnight, I imagine the Hoo cant be too far away.

Cheers Mitch,

Fingers crossed eh!

I will be in touch if I get some frames for you.

Myles

Sorry Mitch, sorry to report no Hoo frames for you this week.

Hopefully next time out.

Myles

Sorry to hear that you didn't get onto any wahoo frames last weekend. They can't be too far away with that warm water cranking down the coast so keep your eye's posted and your ratchet's on.