anchor rope diameter

Thread: anchor rope diameter

anchor rope diameter

what diameter anchor rope is required for a heavy 18 foot glass boat

10mm, 11mm or 12mm

I need to buy a long length (150m) or splice a couple together, but don't know what the smallest rope that will be suitable is

my anchor well is not very big, so smaller the diameter the better, but still has to safely do the job

Re: anchor rope diameter

Thicker == easier to retrieve(manually)...I've got 10mm, and I find that bare minimum for retrieve.

10mm is heaps mate and you'll find that even 8mm will do, from memory the 8mm has a breaking strain of about 700kg so it's plenty! If your planning on using it on deep water the thinner the better. Dont be tempted with the 12mm to much drag in the water to anchor accurately with if your pick is on the smaller side!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Ausfish Platinum Member tenzing's Avatar

Hey mick , agree with above.
    10mm is fine . I have 150m of 10 mm and 10m chain, when put away neatly that fills a 45 l esky. It all takes up room.
    Dont pull it up anyway, use an anchor retrieval float . I use a 12mm ezy lift on the 10 mm rope . It goes on easy and slides well too but still wont let the rope slip back.
    Brendan

all good then. I have a 12mm ezilift and didn't really want any more than 10mm rope.

Happy now!

Ausfish Platinum Member -spiro-'s Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post

10mm is heaps mate and you'll find that even 8mm will do, from memory the 8mm has a breaking strain of about 700kg so it's plenty! If your planning on using it on deep water the thinner the better. Dont be tempted with the 12mm to much drag in the water to anchor accurately with if your pick is on the smaller side!

Ians on the money Mick with his statement
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]