More Giant herring

Thread: More Giant herring

More Giant herring

Been catching plenty of these guys of late. Havent got one to eat a lure or fly yet though. Got 2 this morning on the 4lb which is still great fun.

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Re: More Giant herring

Onya Ben,
    I got a couple last year at that size, they've got plenty of ticker about them.
    Good work again, Jeff.

Ta Jeff. Going to give them a rest for a while now. Up your way for a week starting tomorrow. Ben

Great sport fish, worth hooking them for a bit of fun.
    Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught.

i got a few of them last year, great funn on light gear, and jump out of the water like crazy
    4 METRES OF FUN

Quote Originally Posted by BLOOEY View Post
    Been catching plenty of these guys of late. Havent got one to eat a lure or fly yet though. Got 2 this morning on the 4lb which is still great fun.
    Ben i got heaps of these last summer and cant wait to start chasing them agian this summer... We got all ours on "walk the dog" style surface lures so may be worth trying some of those out. Maria's Wise dog was the gun lure its also very easy to get walking!

Dropped one last year that would have given the 1m mark a nudge he got all wrapped up in the leader and broke it after one of the many crazy jumps!!
    They just go plain mental when hooked. Can be abit hard to get them to swim off though which is a shame.

Joe

Where about are you getting them, just never seen herring that big before? Thanks Ky. The herring i have caught on the sunshine coast are different and not that big.

Ausfish Platinum Member breamnut's Avatar

you may have been catching tarpon up your way mate , but there are plenty of giant herring up that way to thats size and much much bigger

Hey joe, I've thrown every lure in my box at the ones in this location including walk the dogs but they aren't commited enough to smack em(when i'm there anyway). Had 3 bigger ones shoulder eachother out of the way chasing a popper a while back but they still diddn't hit it. Ky, breamnut is spot on i reckon. Ben

Nice fish mate, almost bullet like.......

Regs,
    Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons