Nice stuff, great cod.. mate how big were the bigger trevs u reckon?
Haven't put a post up or fished in 5 weeks while I sold my boat and sorted out the new one. Gave the new one a run the other day as a trail run and sorted out all the little options I've never had before .I've been waiting all week to get it on the water and have a fish out of the little beast. Its a little 4 metre Seascape Viper with a 2010 Suzuki 2 stroke 40 hp elctric start and boy does the suzi put some sting in the little boats tail Its a great boat with a good sized live well and plenty of storage, Front and rear casting platforms and everything in the boat has a home so I'm wrapped. Woke up about 5 times last night and had a look out the window to see that bloody wind blowing and I thought bugger I'll turn off the alarm and have a sleep in but Garrett gave me a kick about 6 and said come on old man we'll take a couple of bream rods out and try out the live well. we had a quick session around the river and Bulimba creek. We never struck a full on bite but we were kept interested for a few hours. We did manage 3 bream , 2 tailor,While fishing a mangrove area I hooked a small trev but what was exciting was the encounter with a few of his bigger brothers in a metre of water charging thro the shallows chasing prawns. I scored a nice 53 cm estuary cod on my bream gear on 4 bl leader. Just as well I lipped him and he didn't get a chance to scoff down the lure with that light string. Also lost a great fish as the hooks pulled as we see sawed with one another as he was determined to find his way into a thick wooded snag. Anyway it was a nice morning with a bit of fun and all fish were released after a little holiday in our well. Most enjoyable thing was shareing the new boat experience with the boy and both coming away thinking this little boat is the ducks nuts. Cheers
Nice stuff, great cod.. mate how big were the bigger trevs u reckon?
Giantrsquid... I would have called them for mid 40s. They were a couple of feet down as they shyed the boat on the way past and then came up and hit some bait about 20 - 25 metres behind the boat. Still a welcome encounter in Aquarium passage
That's a nice Cod Chief.
Got any more pics of the new rig?
Cheers, Jeff.
ggod stuff chief , lucky with that cod on the light string , did you try out the blades ? i took the young fella down to the brissie this morning but didnt have much luck so we dived into boggy and found a school off 30-40cm flathead to play with for a couple off hours . I was looking for the high visibility boat but didnt see you .
cheers nico
Hey Chief, always good to get a new rig. Did you get co-pilot with your leckie, Peter.
"We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
"Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"
happier than a Dog in a street full of street lights
Congrats on the new boat Chief and successful blooding of it!
Good one chief, dont forget the white shoes and clean the feet of all guests ahah, good start with a few fish
hey mate glad to see you back on the water. Now go chase some of those oversize Threadies!!
Cheers fellas
Nico... I stayed up the river and fished the shallow banks around the mangroves on the top of the tide and first run out so I was useing shallow running lures. I reckon I would have blown a few blades on the light string on those mangrove roots throwing them where i was.High visability boat Champ
Leighton... I'm wrapped with the boat. Lorraine had a look over it the other night.
Duncan... Mate I've been going off my head not fishing and Thanks to the blokes like Nico and Callop who gave me the chance to deckie on their boats but everytime I had an offer I had someone teed up to see the boat or off to weddings. It was just unbelieveable Don't worry mate those threadies are high on the agenda and I'll be hitting them soon. Might have to grab a couple of these ###### boney bream Young Brisbane Boy has been using
Nice boat Chief. I bet you can't wait to get it properly dirty. The Cod on Bream gear is a good way to start with it
great little boat some good times a head, it was a bit windy today
Hey Chief, nice looking rig ya got there mate. See ya out there soon.
Marty.
Marty,,,, you certainly will, I'll be putting some time on the water every chance I get
Horse ... actually the cod went really well on that gear , he just wouldn't throw in the towel and played up quite a bit,.We had to put a little bit of room between him and some rocks with the leckie . he had a few scorching runs . I did have another fish that covered some ground with a blistering run but I ended up pulling the hooks while keeping him off a snag. Both me and Garrett were pretty sure and called him for a jack but we didn't sight him. Great fun tho
hey chief,
that a great looking little rig, i hope to see to heap of reports and articles out of her.
brett