Isn't that where the whole 'rest the meat' thing came from? To give you time to make the gravy in the juices.....
you must have proper gravey made from the pan juices of the meat, that way you get gravy to suit, like Chicken Gravy for Chicken and so on, packets and tinned gravy is OK for a rushed dinner, but nothing tops off a baked dinner like proper sauce/gravey!
Here is a good way to do spuds that go great with lamb.
Place peeled and cut (however you like) spuds into a microwave pyrex dish.
Add 1/4 to 1/3 cup cider or white wine vinegar.
Add a sprinkle Italian herbs.
Add a pinch paprika.
Place pyrex lid on and par cook on high in the microwave.
Remove and place in baking dish with olive oil and more herbs, Salt to taste.
Roast till golden.
Got hold of some duck fat from the local butcher today. Par boiled the peeled and cut spuds for about ten minutes. Drained them into a collander. In the saucepan i boiled them in, I put two tablespoons of duck fat, some ground rock salt, then in small batches tossed them around the pan to coat them and rough them up. Put them into a non stick baking tray, then blasted them in the oven at about 240degrees till they were golden and crispy. Niece gave me the thumbs up! went well as a side for the char grilled lamb forequarter chops. Had a tossed garden salad and homemade garlic bread as other sides. (with a Marlborough Suavignon Blanc to wash it down).
bloody hell..I did not know you blokes are a bunch of master chefs..I cannot even make toast without cremating it.
some of those spud recipes sound yummy.
Had the leftover spuds tonight, warmed up in the oven. To go with the marinated Y-bone steaks done on the BBQ. (marinade was equal parts tomato sauce, bbq sauce, chicken marinade...with a splash of olive oil and a teaspoon of crushed garlic). other sides were a pasta salad, tabouli, and the ubiquitous tossed garden salad. (and the ever present snags.....no way i can bbq anything without putting some snags on.....the dog wont let me back inside unless he gets his sausage).
I reckon the secret is definately the half boil and blast furnace heat in the oven to brown/crisp the outside.
Stoooooooooooppppppp you mongrel bastards - yep the lot of you. I have reported your posts to admin!!
You mongrels are making me drools so much I'm going to have to buy a waterproof keyboard
Please stop now as I am not home till later in the week and will have to put up with slop and swill till then.
At least put a warning on the posts if you are talking about nice food.
Stop rubbing it in Greg and if you put up a photo I'll go ballistic.
PS Peeled, par boiled and dry roasted - yum. Charcoal meat - is there any other sort!!!
Glad you liked or more importantly the niece licked the spuds in duck fat. Would be interested to see how goose fat compares if you get hold of it. After this thread started i have had roast spuds once a week with a thickly cut rib fillet and creamy garlic and brandy sauce, and yes using all the juices from the steak. If i die of a heartie in the near future i know who to blame.
Deckstar it doesnt sound crazy too me. I do a lot of raost meats with all sorts of jams rubbed in. Bloody delicious.
Well mate!
You are not going to die of a heart attack going round the Point this weekend as you havn't replied to my PM!
Any more of that food though and I doubt any falling rock will squash the fatty you will become.
Rob.
Here is my fave way to do spuds and its a meal in itself.
I do this different every time so give or take with ingredients.
I put Mex spice and that is a proven winner.
(They are Paprika,Cumin,Chilly powder).
Salt and pepper is up to you.
One BIG spud per person being served
Slice a "H" shape in each spud , but not all the way through, Say 1/2 to 3 1/4 through.
Place on Microwave dish with a sprinkle of water and cook till soft (Done)
Start up oven at 180c
Next
Dice and fry bacon till they are tid bits. Set aside
Dice and fry one small onion , Set aside (Onion optional)
Julian sandwich ham (or real stuff) and set aside (don't fry).
Shred cheese
Next
Take each spud and press down on it with a masher (But dont mash it) until it breaks open and forms a base for toppings.
You want it "Smashed", not mashed
Add a dob of butter to each and add a sprinkle of bacon, onion, ham, Mexican spice and then the cheese.
Place into oven at 180 deg C
While that is cooking about 20 min, Prepare guacamole, Sour cream, Chilly sauce in there own containers for the table as condiments.
Place these condiments onto golden spuds and serv a side of plane old hot baked beans on the same plate.
If you know how to smoke baked beans all the better.
Enjoy
My bad, I double posted this for some reason so Ive deleted this one but had to write 10 characters or more. There , all done
Last edited by flybloke; 21-10-2009 at 08:04 PM. Reason: My bad