Thread: Surf Rod for saltiga 4500z

Surf Rod for saltiga 4500z

I have just picked up a used Saltiga 4500 for a good price and need some help in choosing a surf rod to suit it. I would like a light rod that casts well and is strong, length from 11 to 13 ft with 12ft being the preference. Must be 2 pce or 3pce as must fit back of Triton ute with a canopy. Was thinking Daiwa moonraker, heartland, pro emblem .
    Saltiga surf looks good but too exy . I want something similar to above in other brands which may be cheaper or I might have to wait till something comes up in used market.

Any ideas?

Maccas

Re: Surf Rod for saltiga 4500z

What size slugs are you tossing? I think you will find 11-13ft too long/big for that reel and for tossing slugs in general. You can pick up a Gary Howard Phantom 10ft but they do a 11'6" too from memory for under $300 custom made. The Daiwa surf rods are excellent casting rods they are not durable and are designed to toss lures not bait.

Thanks for the info.

I haven't done much beach fishing and nearly all of it has been baitfishing with the heaviest bait being casting a pilchard for WA salmon which grow up to 12kg but mostly 4-8kg. I might use it off the rocks some times so I want something reasonably powerful but still light . Given what you have said about the reel not being right for a longer rod I guess that 10-11 ft is the length that I should be looking at. What other rods in that length would suit.

Does anyone else have an opinion on possible options?

Maccas

I'd agree with what John said, both the Daiwas and the Phantoms are very nice rods. Maybe something from the Nitro range as well.
    If you only fish the rocks occasionally, just take extra care when you do so.

Its a bit hard to recommend a rod without knowing what you are targeting with it or what you will be using the most ie baits, metals. For baits i like rods around 12 - 13' 6" and with metals 9 - 11'.
    There is also the Daiwa Sensor Surf and Seajigger ranges on top of what has been sugested but it would depend on what it is being used for.

Thanks for the info guys. I am going to do both lure and bait fishing soI guess whatever I get will be a compromise.That's why I need the benefit of your experience. So I have some questions.

Why does length of the rod matter for baitfishing versus lure fishing as some lures would weigh as much as bait?

Why is the Saltiga 4500z not suited to 12ft rods?

Is it easier to cast a 10-11 ft rod than the longer rods and is there much difference in the distance you can cast? Obviously the rods have to be of similar quality.

Maccas

Nitro Messiah fits most of your criteria - 3pce, 13' & can handle a sizeable reel & casting weight/line weight

Longer rods are softer on baits like pillies. Less likely to rip them apart on a cast. They also help when lobbing heavy sinkers with bait. Its also what what we all grew up using and for some old habits die hard.
    The shorter rods ( around 10' ) are lighter and easier to handle when casting metals for long periods. Distance wise i have seen guys toss metals forever with 13' rods but for me i dont get the tip speed during a cast to get the same distance as my 11' rod. Honestly there are heaps of guys using longer rods for metals with no problems at all. I think we ausfishers are tackle rats and like any excuse to by another rod, well i do thats for sure.
    I dont think there is problem with a 4500 saltiga on a 12' rod. They are a heavy reel ( when put up against a 4000 size daiwa ) and you should be able to find a rod that balances well with it esp if you are looking at graphite. I would look at 11' - 12' as a compromise, i rarely use my 13 6' rod nowadays.

So what do you think would be the perfect rod in a graphite at 11-12 ft that would suit the Saltiga 4500z.
    I probably need something that will cast up to 100gms. Are any of the loomis surf rods an option.
    Is it worth spending the extra money on a quality rod.

It would still be hard to recommend what i think would be the perfect rod. What i like is not the same as what what others may like. I also havent seen the nitro or gary howard rods so cant comment. Maybe the daiwa sensor surf range may have what you want and would be a good compromise between bait and metals. If looking at the gloomis rods be aware that the reel seat is quite high on these. I like a high reel seat for casting metals but it can be a bit uncomfortable when fishing baits ( many of the other rods mentioned are the same but not as high ). Other than that i would guess that they are excellent rods, i have looked at them on US sites and have considered getting one sent over.

Quote Originally Posted by NIZ180 View Post
    Nitro Messiah fits most of your criteria - 3pce, 13' & can handle a sizeable reel & casting weight/line weight
    Nice recommendation, I was just about to type the same thing!
    I want one!
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Has anyone used any of the Ron Arra Lamiglass surf rods from the states?? They seem to be reasonably priced & are pretty popular over there judging by some of the US surf fishing forums.

Quote Originally Posted by LostNearBribie View Post
    Nice recommendation, I was just about to type the same thing!
    I want one!
    I reckon the Nitro range of rods are top value for money plus u get a top notch warranty aswell. I've got 2 magnum butts that have served me well over the years & plan on adding a few more to my rod rack. The Messiah, Assassin, Gulf stream & Godzilla are all on my wish list.

my 4500 is sweetly matched to a daiwa emblem pro 9'6" pe 2-4 cast 50-120gram.
    I cant for the life of me use a rod any longer than that effectivly with a lure!!!

Do you baitfish with that rod. I looked at one, they are nice but maybe too short for tossing pillies.

Had a look at Sensor Surf which is 12 ft so thought that was the way to go.Prefer something about 11 ft but haven't worked out what yet.

Has anyone used Sensor Surf with a 4500 or similar weight reel?

Has anyone used any of the Ron Arra Lamiglass surf rods from the states?
    Yeah, I have one (XSRA 1204) that I use exclusively for spinning. It's a very effective rod with 65-85g metals but definitely too fast for bait fishing. I use a Snyder sea-raider for pelting pillies out the back, so I get to play with 2 rods!

Re. using the saltiga as a surf reel, personally I wouldn't! Don't get me wrong, the saltiga is a top reel (I have one too), but if you're surf fishing at night, you're bound to get some salt + sand in your reel, and the saltiga is not very easy to clean...