Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Diawa Saltist Lever Drag

Diawa Saltist Lever Drag

G'day all,
    I'm looking at purchasing one of the new Diawa Saltist lever drag reels but I'm not sure whether or not to get the 2-speed model or the single speed. I'm interested in the smallest size (20) and would like to know if having a 2-speed just means that it's something else that can fail or if it really is worthwhile? I have no experience with lever drag reels and would appreciate any advice regarding this topic. Also, what would be a good price for both models?

Last edited by t4topcat; 27-09-2009 at 04:07 PM. Reason: typo

Re: Diawa Saltist Lever Drag

I bought the two speed 30 and find it great and haven't had a problem with it. I went the two speed for big reefies and cobes for bottom bashing.Depends on what your using it for. I 've only used the lower gear on cobes and sharks .......but it handles the punishment . Hard and strong for the reel of it's size

VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Hi JT,
    yeah I reckon they will be an awesome reel, and I really like the look of the 20 as it is small, relatively light and yet a powerful reel that will hold a fair amount of braid in the 30lb - 50lb region. I'm also thinking of a rod to match it to - one of the matched rods from the Diawa range or a Monster Mesh, or possibly something else. Not sure at the moment, all I know is that I need to upgrade.

Great reel got a couple in different sizes. great for their size. imo the 2 speed offers more for same money and very usefull if somthing a bit bigger comes along.

Lumox,
    yeah that was what I was sort of thinking, the low down grunt for turning a big bugger then once they are up off the bottom you could kick it up to the higher speed. Also have you tried casting with yours?

yeah Chris you can cast with them especially the smaller models. top reel, the drags quite sensitive and powerful. still to really test one out under extreme load but they feel solid and am sure there wont be any probs. mat

Good to hear that Mat, I think that I've made my mind up and will order the 2 - speed 20 today, could you suggest a rod to go with the 20? Like I said I'm thinking that I'll try to get the matching Saltist LD rod for that model but i'm not sure when they'll show up here in Mackay.

Chris i opted for the Soleterra Okuma extremely light and suited the reel well.
    Around the $200 skins thou i went for the 24kg to 37 kg Extremly light and has a great taper and light in the tip . They have them in a lot of different weights. Will post some pics of it later.
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

G'day all,
    how's this I was in the shop today all prepared to purchase the following set-up:
    Saltist LD 20
    300m 40lb Nitlon
    Saltiga Hiramasa 6' PE4
    all for $1000 neat. So the guys spool up the reel and we mount it on the rod and then go to set the drag, we set it at around 4kg (at strike) over the rod and then decide we'll check what it is pulling when it was at 'sunset'. What do you know , it was actually loading LESS drag at sunset than it was at strike. This situation had not only myself but some very knowledgable lads that work at the store scratching our heads, so the boys then tried a 30 and found that it was working well. So needless to say i haven't purchased what I'm after yet as it was the last 20 in the store. I have to say the guys at the store have been excellent (as they always are and they are now contacting Diawa to try and sort it out. But I've got to be honest and say i'm a little dissapointed at the moment.

Last edited by t4topcat; 30-09-2009 at 06:23 PM. Reason: Typo

Hi again,
    by the way do you think that this combo sounds alright as it felt great in the shop (nice and light, could fish it all day) and had some real guts at the bottom end.

Here's a bit of personal experiene for the mix, I recently purchased single speed 3o sized slatist ld from the states for a recent swaines trip. After the first day, and only ioding bream and other baitfish caught the reel shat itself. Instead of producing 11kg of drag as stated it only produced 1 - 2kg of drag. The reel will be sent off for repairs shortly, however this was quite annoying because this was my heavy outfit. I was also quite annoyed because I am only a student and I purchased an expenisve reel so that it would not break; go figure!!!! oH AND i MATCHED MY SLATIST UP WITH A SILSTAR CRYSTAL BLUE JIG 24KG ROD, all up it is very very light; lucky to be a kilo

Keep us informed of the outcome mate.

G'day all,
    well it seems that Diawa are sending up a new reel and we'll see how that one goes. Apart from the fact that I've been swamped with marking the weather has been blowing a bit so I don't feel like I've missed out on fishing because the reel didn't work out at the time. I can't wait to get it and give it a go. The boss has informed me that I have to have a garage sale to reduce the number of rods and reels I've got and to help pay for my new aqusitions, still looking at Samurai 502 and a 3000 or 4000 size threadline (Certate Hyper Custom or Saltiga Game 3500 - dreaming!), probably a Sol or Heartland........dunno. Can't think of that now got to get throught this little ordeal .

You know you want the Hyper Custom!!! IMO its a perfect match!!! Why not try the new twinpower SW 5000 or 6000????

Did Daiwa mention what the problem was with the reel?? Hopefully its not a widespread manufacturing issue as I really want one of these reels.

G'day NIZ,
    no mate they haven't mentioned anything as yet they just said they'd send a new one up ASAP, that's all I've heard. Apparently the Daiwa reps must check these sites out because they mentioned that there was chatter about my problem online when Craig from the tackle shop called them. BIG BROTHER is watching.......

Keep you posted on what comes of it anyway, as for the Hyper, I can't justify it at the moment (identcal twins on the way), but I have put a bid on certate 3500HD on ebay so I'll see how that goes for now.

Last edited by t4topcat; 08-10-2009 at 06:37 PM. Reason: typo