just like horses and dogs, it`s not always the one that looks best that works best.
there`s been some chat on US sites about this new Daiwa ld. not all good.
that`s the way i would go, but i have always prefered shimano overheads over daiwa. it will probably cost you more.
I've been told by some of the guys at my local tackle store that the Talica's have had their fare share of problems too. Now I'm not biased one way or the other so I'm just looking for a reliable, small overhead that doesn't weigh a tonne and is comfortable to use all day. on initial inspection the Daiwa fit the bill, as for reliability, well, both reels are new to the marketplace and I feel that they will both have teething problems. At the moment there is a bit of a "suck it and see" situation going on for me, I'll probably stick with the saltist purely due to budget constraints (most bang for my buck so to speak).
Last edited by t4topcat; 11-10-2009 at 09:11 AM. Reason: submitted before finishing
i just got back from a swains trip and used a TLD Star 20/40 with 50 lb braid and carbontex drag on a 20kg livefibre black bass rod and caught all reef species plus spanos and large cod and trevally and sharks.
This reel is very light and has stainless gears and a good anti reverse system.
Got mine for $175.00 on sale and it is the toughest, most reliable overhead i have ever had.
The speedmaster is a little quicker, but will do the same job.
i also put a Torium handle on it for a bit more leverage.
Well, G'day folks,
I better be upfront about this from the start........I'm here for a rant and to 'vent' a little. The saga of the Saltist LD 20 is continuing, was in the tackle shop last week and they still haven't had word back regarding the "replacement" reel that Diawa has "lost". Considering that I have paid for this reel over 2 months ago I'm begining to get a little pissed off about this at this point in time. Now let me say that I'm not upset with the guys at the tackle shop, they've been fantastic and I feel that they are as frustrated as myself, but rather with the Diawa representatives who seem to me to be a bunch of inept, mouth breathing simpletons who couldn't organise a chook raffle to save their lives. I'm currently composing a letter to Diawa (Australia and Japan) to make an official complaint about the support service that these guys provide and if this costs someone their job I couldn't give a rats arse, I'm fed up with recieving shoddy service and support from some of these guys out there in the retail sector (don't get me started on ARB at the moment - dented my brand new MN Triton 3 times while putting on the canopy and then made a joke about it, among other problems). Apparently there is no stock in Australia at the moment but when I was in Brisbane there was stock at Tackle warehouse, but up here in regional Queensland it seems that we are second rate and don't deserve the same level of supply and back up (and I grew up in Bulimba, not that far from Tackle warehouse at Camp Hill so I'm not just whinging).
Anyway, lets see if the guys from Diawa see this little missive as they troll through the chat boards (WAKE UP BOYS AND GET YOUR HANDS OFF IT!!!!!!).
Well..........I feel a little better..........now I can go and cuddle my new born boys, Noah (might be a boat builder) and Hamish (identical twins - 6 days old)
Cheers all
Mate thats an absolute disgrace!!!!! Why the hell should we even bother buying locally when this is the back up service you get???? I bet if you bought from plat or japan tackle they would have had a replacement sent to you ASAP. People always say to buy locally as you get backup service warranty, whatever!!! The best backup service I have ever recieved have always been from overseas sellers.
It's a shame becuase i have got ten the upmost out of mine and am very pleased with it. Was hoping the 40's and 50's to be out now to have a go at one. I'm thinking the 50 be a great size.
But an Accurate to may be for me
See about Xmas Bonus
VHF CHANNEL 21
CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges
Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)
G'day folks,
well I've settled own a bit. NIZ, mate I don't mind buying local as I like to support the guys in town and they look after me as much as they can which I appreciate ( I will buy O/S at times though, but only when it's too good to pass up), what I don't like is the system in this country that dictates you can only purchase retail O/S goods once they've gone through importers (can someone please explain to me exactly how or what an importer does that constitutes VALUE ADDING?). So these guys slap their sweet percentage on top of any costs that they've inccured and Bob's your uncle we're paying through the nose, the retailers have to put their margin on goods and that's fair enough, but effectively we're paying for two shop owners. Retailers in this country should be able to deal directly with the manufacturers and order from them without having to deal with importers, and in doing so maybe retail costs would become comparable to those O/S and as such deter shoppers fromo going offshore unless it was an issue of availability. But it'll never happen becuse it was set up this way during colonial settlement (if I'm not mistaken, thanks to our old friends the Poms) and the government loves the fact that they can probably double dip into our pockets (Geeze listen to me I sound like a conspiracy theorist).
JT, I think I'll stick with it the problem is that I actually really like Daiwas product, it really has soured the taste for further purchases though and I'll have to think long and hard before I take the leap again. Although now that the boys are here I wont be purchasing much fishing gear for a while (at least not until they're old enough to be a viable excuse )
Cheers all
Mate sorry to hear your still having dramas mine havent faulted at all, as for the service mate that just sucks!!! congratulations on the boys mate.
I received my reel back a month and a half ago now all fixed up. Since then I have caught some thumper reds, coral trout, cobia and nannies off cairns and the reel has performed exceptionally well. They are a good reel when they work; that is the key I suppose.
G'day folks,
sorry I haven't replied, been at the hospital the boys and mum have been in for two weeks now and looking at a third probably, but at least everything is on the up and up now.
As for the Saltist Saga as I've now nickname it. Apparently there are no LD20's in Australia and the boat with the stock arrives Christmas day, so we wont see any here until well into January probably (if at all, I'm beginnig to feel like I've dreamed that these reels exist and that I'll never actually recieve one). Now call me a cynic but I bet that the big boys down in Vegas will have stock for Christmas that they have recently recieved. I wonder if anyone could check up for me and drop me a line as I'm a bit busy at the moment as you can tell by the time I'm writing this, it would be appreciated.
Anyhow, cheers people and take it easy
I have a2speed and a single 20 ld they were given a solid workout for 2weeks before I had some drag issues .
I have them back but have not put them to the test yet.
I must say they were a pleasure to use when working and stopped plenty of solid fish with ease, I just hope I have no more problems.
Hi Chris,
I have sent you a PM.
Janelle
PS If anyone knows Chris can you let him know to check his PM's please