Thread: anaconda tents...........any good

anaconda tents...........any good

hey guys,

looking at getting a new tent
    ive seen the spinifex gladstone at the big snake and it looks quite good and at $189 seems like you cant go wrong, its got a large room (4 sleeper) with a front room (2 sleeper) and small veranda thing,

has anyone had experience with the spinifex tents....?
    it feels the same sort of quality as the others around but i wasnt sure seeing as though you dont hear a lot about them online,

otherwise i was looking at the oztrail breezway family tent

any advice is appreciated,

Re: anaconda tents...........any good

Sounds like a good price we paid $50 more ,camped 5 times now, had a few minor leaks thru stitching in rain and have sprayed with that water proof stuff which should fix it . Reckon its a good value for the price .

Quote Originally Posted by yellahunter View Post
    hey guys,

looking at getting a new tent
    ive seen the spinifex gladstone at the big snake and it looks quite good and at $189 seems like you cant go wrong, its got a large room (4 sleeper) with a front room (2 sleeper) and small veranda thing,

has anyone had experience with the spinifex tents....?
    it feels the same sort of quality as the others around but i wasnt sure seeing as though you dont hear a lot about them online,

otherwise i was looking at the oztrail breezway family tent

any advice is appreciated,
    Mate, I am running the Spinifex Avon 4 man and have had it now for about 3 years, no dramas, easy to assemble (1 person can do it). Price and quality are good. Go for it...
    Fillet and Release Squad

I also have a 4 man spinifex have used it a couple of times now with no drama's

shane

I've had some spinifex stuff from anaconda that was pretty crappy. Haven't really looked at their tents though. I suspect the quality isn't great ... BUT if you have any sort of problem they'll replace it no worries.
    I guess it depends on how often you think you'll use it and in what conditions.

Anyone used one in decent winds?

neil

I would check out what you can get from some of the others. Downunder does some good deals on Oztrail etc. I would be happier spending a period of bad weather in one of them than a Spinefex

I have an Oztrail tent that been in some pretty strong winds and handled it perfectly, great tents, just be sure (no matter which tent you buy) to buy some seam sealer, most tents are water "resistant" only and if you hit some patchy weather you'll be mopping it out with a towel.
    Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught.

Quote Originally Posted by HONKY DORY View Post
    Anyone used one in decent winds?

neil
    Yep, last Aus Day. Would have been blowing about 25-30kts when a storm come through. It twisted a fair bit but stayed together in one piece. pretty noisy tents with the outer annex though.

Have got a camper now but will keep the tent. The kids at some point will get sick of sleeping in the same room as Mum & Dad.... I can shove them in the tent
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM