Thread: Optimax 115 - 135 price check

Optimax 115 - 135 price check

Just after a price check on these two engines.

Has anyone done any better than the following in Brisbane or surrounds?

115 $13500 fitted

135 $16500 fitted

Thanks in advance

Foggy

Re: Optimax 115 - 135 price check

Graham

I think Bill ( vitamin sea) had priced up some opti's recently he might be worth a pm!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

hey foggy, a workmate priced the 115 about 6 weeks ago and he was quoted the same as you,i got a price on a 150 optimax from coopar-oo marine and it was 15800 fitted,hope this helps yah
    cheers rosco

Just had the 115 fitted 3 weeks ago- same price. Rang around NQ at the time, all roughly about the same.

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    hey foggy, a workmate priced the 115 about 6 weeks ago and he was quoted the same as you,i got a price on a 150 optimax from coopar-oo marine and it was 15800 fitted,hope this helps yah
    cheers rosco

I will give them a bell Monday hmmmmm 150hp that will make the old haines 17L sing along. I know of a few with 150's on them, but I reckon the 135 would be ample. Currently running a 93 120 johno, so even the 115 will be higher rated that that probably.

Thanks for your input

Foggy

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post
    Graham

I think Bill ( vitamin sea) had priced up some opti's recently he might be worth a pm!

Thanks Ian. Will do. Still have not been out in the cat yet.

Foggy

I'm thinking of doing the same thing next year, ditch the old Black Max off the 17L and put a new donk on. The Optimax seams to be the best value in the 115 size, which I think would be plenty for that boat. I've got a 135 on at the moment, it'll do 40knots, but realy, whats the point. It's a very rare day you can even get close to that, unless you're fishing in the swamp water.

If it helps, fellas, I run a V4 115 (prop rated) 93 Yammy on the Seafarer which is longer and heavier than the V17L and similar V (21) and it gets out of the hole well and runs to 60+kph with several big boofs and all the gear, so you blokes with a 115 new should have a good time with it.

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Quote Originally Posted by ozscott View Post
    If it helps, fellas, I run a V4 115 (prop rated) 93 Yammy on the Seafarer which is longer and heavier than the V17L and similar V (21) and it gets out of the hole well and runs to 60+kph with several big boofs and all the gear, so you blokes with a 115 new should have a good time with it.

Just remember the 115 Opti are a 3 cylinder inline not a V4. The V4 would have heaps more punch. I have a mate with a 115 opti on a mustang 1750 (tournament these days) and it goes OK. My yalta 555 has a 115v4 and would blow the mustang away. I would go the 135 (V6) just my 2 cents! Oh and I did price a 135 at Coorparoo marine earlier this year for 15k fitted.

Arrgghh...good point mate. I should have remembered that Merc dont do a V4 and go from the inline 3 to the V6. Yep the 115 V4's box above their weight. Its always amusing to have people look at it on the back and say...Jeez, a bit light on and then we go fishing and its, Bloody hell it goes pretty hard...

CUNNINGHAMS MARINE at Clontarf. 3284 2342

Speak to Ian Cunningham face to face -

$13,300.00. (115hp Optimax with Vengeance Stainless Steel Prop, Smartcraft Guages, Twin Batteries, Battery Switch - All fitted up and wired)

Very neat and professional job, cleaned the boat afterwards, took us for a watertest prior to ordering in the bay for free, took us in the bay for the initial water teat after fitting at no extra cost.

Job was done on time when they said it would be and nothing was too much trouble. That goes a long way with me !

Cheers: Dave

Quote Originally Posted by DigFishing View Post
    ... took us in the bay for the initial water teat after fitting at no extra cost.

Cheers: Dave
    I have heard of spoon feeding clients, but that's ridiculous

PS. Ring Brian at Wondal Rd Marine - he often sells second hand Opti's that are like taxi's - hot miles and very good value I reckon. Tell him the bloke with the old Vagabond with the Yammy on the back said to show you the "ones in the back room".