Egrell S10 alternative? - Page 3
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Egrell S10 alternative?

Re: Egrell S10 alternative?

Thread was Egrell S10 alternative, i gave one (also a graphite rod ) and an opinion, thats all. Mates Egrell S10, not that old, rusty guides? I wouldnt trust it on a decent fish like that. Glad you like your Egrells but from what i saw last week with the guides I wouldnt get one.

mike
    Tangles KFC

Don't get me wrong I totally agree the guides should be alot better on a top end rod. I do believe that there are new guides now which hopefully live up to the rest of the rod. As soon as I see a hint of corrosion on my S10 guides they will be thrown in the bin & replaced with Fuji ti-sics!!

a 90'ish barra knocked over in quick time, lots of power in these rods.
    Mine is one of the older S10 blue blank models and has the older style Ti Coated guides that have proven problematic for some. I have'nt had any dramas but then I'm quite fastidious about cleaning my gear after a drop in the salt. I live about 800m from the beach so the air where my rods are stored is reasonably salt laden, so I give them a wipe down every so often to keep them clean. No gunk on my guides.

Aigutso, Not being critical of your opinion, just offering some advice on how your buddy can avoid disappointment from his S10 or infact any of his rods. I'd suggest your mate needs to be a bit more thorough when cleaning if he wants keep them in top shape. I used to just rinse my rods with the hose till I found my Fuji alconites on all my other rods getting rust build up around the inserts (hard to pick against the black nickel guide frames). I then switched to washing with warm soapy water and wiping dry before storing and have found my guides are much better for it. Just a few extra minutes each trip will see them clean and dry for storage.

I too would like to see fuji Ti-Sic guides on these rods, but they cost a lot of dough, has anyone added up what suitable replacements would cost. I reckon it would make the cost of the finished product prohibitive, but that's what you get when competing in a mass produced market. I have a Baitcaster (mass produced) that I bought on a runout special for less than I could buy the Fuji Ti-sic guides that it was fitted with!!! Obviously manufacturers don't pay retail for their hardware, but it still gives an indication of the cost of building a top shelf product.

As for alternatives to the S10.... Once I got one, I stopped looking. But really it depends on if it is the right tool for the job. If you can find a rod as light and sensitive in the tip with the power of its butt section then happy days, each of these traits plays a critical role in the makeup of this model rod that makes it the delivery tool and fish fighter of choice for me from freshwater impoundments to the shallow reefs.

Cheers Roo.

And all 2009 model Egrell rods sport 316 SS guides, so efforts have been made to overcome the issue that happened with not all, but a few rods.
    I never happened to me but I'm a bit anal like Roo boy.

Sorry roo and Tim but that same regime didn't stop my Egrell S10H guides from actually falling out due to the pitting/corrosion. I kept them very clean and was right onto them but was really disappointed with the result. I had an old T-curve that fished along side the egrell every trip - had the same cleaning done and it looks like new. The corrosion was not due to lack of maintenance on the rod and to suggest otherwise is just plain BS.

I have had the new ALPS SS guides put in and everything is good. Love the rod but that was a pretty piss poor effort with those early guides.

Quote Originally Posted by Greg P View Post
    Sorry roo and Tim but that same regime didn't stop my Egrell S10H guides from actually falling out due to the pitting/corrosion. I kept them very clean and was right onto them but was really disappointed with the result. I had an old T-curve that fished along side the egrell every trip - had the same cleaning done and it looks like new. The corrosion was not due to lack of maintenance on the rod and to suggest otherwise is just plain BS.

I have had the new ALPS SS guides put in and everything is good. Love the rod but that was a pretty piss poor effort with those early guides.
    Yep, I second that. had to change all my guides on my S2 and S4 to Fuji's. Have since bought another S10 with the new ALPS. No problems here so far.

Just a theory, however I believe Eric uses these guides to keep the cost down and to be competitive. His rods aren't a mass produced like some of the other well know brands out there. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that ALPS are about a Third of the cost of Fuji Tsic... Add these to his rod and you would most likely be paying $600+ per rod.

My 2 cents.

I'm not disagreeing with either of you Greg or Ben, but with all new Egrells carrying 316 hardware, the issue of the green guides is over.
    Sure some of the old rods did have that problem, no one is denying it, but it is unfair to say that the green guide issue is inherent with Egrells even now. It is not comparing apples with apples now that they have had a guide upgrade.

For the average rec angler, what difference is there between a $100 rod and a $400 or more rod...I doubt it would be very much.

Ausfish Platinum Member Leighton's Avatar

Then its great to see a local business that actually listens to the people who buy there products.
    Eric obviously realised there was a problem and made the change to rectify it.
    Well done Egrell Rods, a great rod gets better

I bought mine second hand s10h and it had the alps guide conversion its a great rod for offshore plastics with a daiwa saltiga s-extreme reel it certainly has the low down grunt that i was after ...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

take a look at the blue acres lamiglass rods,i've got a couple they are awesome sticks with soft tops and heaps of low down grunt ,also got my hands on a st.croix 10-17lb rod ,used it a few times it has a different touch but once loaded up seemed to handle solid fish equally as well.heaps of options if you sniff around,very few egrel rods south of the border.

Quote Originally Posted by Greg P View Post

Greg,
    Was only a suggestion based on my experience, What I found and How I fixed it. No BS. Your experience was different, fair enough. not all things are created equal...maybe the batches of guides were different.

Cheers, Roo

Interested to know what the actual price difference is between the new alps guides, fuji sic's & ti-sic's. I would be happy even if they came out with normal fuji sic guides & maybe charge a premium for th ti's

Fuji guides are not the be all and end all... like any brand with good marketing its easy to think they are the only option.

There are a few Ti Sic guides around alot cheaper than Fuji and just as good.
    For fishing reports, fishing info, new techniques and fishing news read;
    Savvy Fishing Blog

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    For the average rec angler, what difference is there between a $100 rod and a $400 or more rod...I doubt it would be very much.
    IMO & its just my opinion there is a massive difference between a $100 rod & a $400. You are pretty much comparing a Jarvis Walker to a Egrell???? No comparison & I can almost guarantee if you had both in front of you, you would be fishing with the $400 rod no questions asked. It won't catch you more fish but it will do everything sooo much better & you will feel the difference.