Thread: Navara 2007 STX V6

Navara 2007 STX V6

Had a look at a v6 Navara this arvo and I'm after any feedback from owners (Good or Bad).

Been searching the Web and there appears to be plenty of issues with the clutches/fly wheels in the diesel models. Do the petrol models have the same dramas?

Does anyone have any fuel figures for the V6 models. Will be towing a 14ft tinny on weekends but other than that it will just be a daily driver.

Roo.

Re: Navara 2007 STX V6

Fuel consumption will be high, I had a petrol STR and it was a shocker, they get up and go like you would n't expect, but you pay for it at the pump. The clutch in the petrol and diesel will be the same, it is just that diesels outnumber the petrols by about 20 - 1 so you don't hear about them. I would imagine that they would be prone to the same issues though. I have a pathfinder now with the same clutch as the STX navarra, I am approaching 60k without any clutch issues so far but my mate who has a navarra of roughly the same vintage and k's is on his third clutch through warranty claims, last time in they upgraded to a heavier duty job. He really had to kick up a stink and make some serious noise to get these repairs under his warranty though.

Kev

Thanks Kev.

I took it for a drive this arvo and you're right.....they go pretty hard for a 4WD. The engine puts out nearly 200 KW apparently. Makes the old 1HZ in my Cruiser feel even more slower now...if that's possible!

Roo.

I have a 2008 diesel. I love it! I use it as my work car driving round town during the week, beware they are bloody big though and turning circle is woeful. If you are doing a few kms I would seriously look at a diesel. Much more economical, mine now has around 160kw and 500nm, so they can still go alright.

Most of the clutch issues I have heard of is people riding the clutch while reversing the boat or caravan, big no no! They only have a small flywheel and clutch which overheats pretty quick.

I have the 2007 (late) diesel and its been a piece of crap since I bought it. Done about 50000 now and since the last disaster with nissan its actually going pretty good now.

The thing I hate the most about them is the useless brakes. My rotors were gone at 30000kms. Got them replaced with aftermarket rotors which are ok.

Other problems, turning circle is crap. headlights are crap. paintjob is crap. lots of squeeks.

Best parts, the auto transmission makes this by far the best car I have ever driven on the beach. Drives like a car, not a 4wd.

Thanks for the honest feedback fellas. I also noticed the turning circle is pretty ordinary during the test drive. Reckon my 105 series could probably turn inside it.

Found a link to the Navara Asia forum during a search on AF....there is currently a thread running on there dealing purely with D40 Warranty issues. I think I've read enough now.......

Roo.

Mate have a look at the triton and hilux forums too, every make has its list of lemons unfortunately. I reckon the brakes on my D40 are brilliant, it stops far better than my other triton or the missus's Rav4. The paint is very thin, not sure what the other brands are like. I was all set to buy a hilux until I read all the clutch horror stories, then decided on a new GLXR triton until I saw how many were for sale 12 months old, I'm still not sure why that is, but it scared me....

I love my Navara. Can you tell lol?

Matt, I know what you mean. A quick internet search revealed plenty of unhappy Triton owners (lots of diesel engine/steering dramas). Many have seemed to resort to selling the vehicle after unsuccessful repair attempts. Can't blame em really, who has the time to keep dropping their near new vehicle off back at the dealer? They do seem cheap though.....

I recently found what appeared to be a good late model, low km hilux dual cab. I knew about the clutch issues in them (from mates) but was still pretty keen to have a look anyway. Unfortnately, or should I say fortnately the seller was honest enough to admit to a clutch problem in the vehicle already. I ended up simply walking away from that one. Someone else can deal with that.

Seriously, what is the go with 4wds these days? Since when did it become acceptable to build a 4WD that could possibly require it's first clutch replacement or brake rotor replacement at 30,000 kms? Who cares whether its covered under warranty or not, but perhaps the manufacturers need to rewind the clock a bit and place a bit more importance on reliability and longetivity.

After the last couple of weeks, even though it's up over 250,000+ kms, my cruiser is looking just that little bit better every time I think about selling her at the moment......

Apologies for the rant guys.

Roo.

I have to honestly say that since my last warentee repair with nissan (read complete fuel system replacememt) it has been going great. I did my research before I bought it and thought it was best value for money. I went out to by a hilux, came home with a navara.

The car itself is great to drive. Shits over the hilux and it does not have that stupid bizarre front overhang low nose thing that the hilux suffers from.

The problems I have had are 95% dealer problems (brakes exluded) and after a bit of a fight they will sort shit out. Tip, village nissan have the best prices, but forget it when it comes to after sales support.

I drive a auto v6 STX for work. Goes like the wind and the auto/v6 are a good match. Fuel usage is 14.5L/100 mix driving, but this falls horribly south if you get up it. Comfy, but a shocking turning circle. I have 35000k on it and no warranty issues so far.

A word of warning re Navara - if you get caught in water, the electric windows and central locking shutdown leaving you in a vehicle that fills up in well under a minute and unable to get out. Either have a life hammer at hand or a window down when crossing any water. Voice of experience, unfortunately.

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post

A word of warning re Navara - if you get caught in water, the electric windows and central locking shutdown leaving you in a vehicle that fills up in well under a minute and unable to get out. Either have a life hammer at hand or a window down when crossing any water. Voice of experience, unfortunately.
    Shouldn't matter, you can't open a door underwater until the pressure has equalised on both sides, that faster it fills up, the quicker you can escape.

Quote Originally Posted by YOOT View Post
    Shouldn't matter, you can't open a door underwater until the pressure has equalised on both sides, that faster it fills up, the quicker you can escape.
    Shouldn't matter??? Try it - it DOES matter! Read my post again, even with equalised pressure the doors won't open as the door's central locking short circuits and locks down. When you are within seconds of drowning inside a flooded car, this is kind of an important issue.

The Rodeo diesel auto 4x4 also serves as a daily drive and boat tractor for its 2-tonne mate. Got the shock of my life today - I had to fill it. That's 2-days short of one month. It took 61 litres.

Complaints:

Too soft seats - would like more lateral support

Dumb cruise control switch-gear

Low range is barely 25:1. OK for me and what I do with it - but hardly a 4x4

Doughy LSD - a feature of all Isuzu products. Mitsubishi LSD eats it.

Goods points:

Lazy engine and easy to stay with traffic and be economical

Pulls 2-tonne like it isn't there but burns about 25% more fuel - which is not bad

I'll never wear out the brakes or tyres but that's probably down to me as much as anything

Pretty well put together

Verdict:

I'd buy another

White Pointer