MUSTER 2009 & a cast of several - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: MUSTER 2009 & a cast of several

Ausfish Platinum Member DEANO68's Avatar

Re: MUSTER 2009 & a cast of several

hey mob..it was a great few days, sorry i missed alot of you , getting there sundy arv...nath has pretty much summed it up, great people lots of laughs. .and met a few new faces also, scotty (vet), great to share a yarn round the fire mate, good luck in the upcoming events..blooey, nice fish mate, also nice jack on the hollow...ROB, from coffs, you had a blinder mate, especially that last fish 1/2 hr before home time..awsome to watch someone get round a boat with the grace of a starteled gazzelle. ..and still land the fish, good stuff...pete as always, great to catch up and awsome to see you boat some fushies. ..chris and trev , always a pleasure to share a fire , feed and a beer, or coke trev..nath, biatch..awsome always great to spend a day fishin, n campin..lots of laughs. .oh and i also hooked a couple o fushies.. ...
    see you all round the traps..
    deano...
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

Thumbs up Re: MUSTER 2009 & a cast of several

One of the pleasing things about this trip was not only the quality of some of the fish landed ( 3 over 120cm + several over 110cm) - but the amount of little tackers caught (40s-70s)........ I really goes to show just how good the stocking is in monduran - Well done MASA

Too true Nagg, lots of small fish around, shows that the MASA is doing a great job, so thanks to those guys for providing us a great fishery.
    cheers scott

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Good pics Nath. Well done, you acheived a personal goal with the softy's, looking forward to seeing how they impact on your fishing style (hard core hard bods angler) in the future.
    Good fish Prinny, bout flippen time one hit the mat!
    cheers brian, one thing i didnt mention, at 99cm and the first fish that i have got to the boat on the spin gear.good fun.
    dean..
    i will never die.

Spin gear??? Ya cant catch barra on spin gear, I read it some where!

Im sitting here plotting a week at the end of January, trying to time it between end of school holidays, on the moon rise, and miss the moonie loonies on the week end.

also, the morning session, after throwing placcys all morn, decided to try something to wake them up, picked the loudest rattlin HB i had, a jimmy red eye..woke one alright forth cast in two twitches in, the lovely lady must have thought i had lost it, she caught it ,swam straight at the boat and jumped up and kindly gave it back to me. ..was good to see a change in tactics arouse some attention..
    deano..
    i will never die.

One thing I did notice and Trev we talked about it was the Barra free jumpin thursday night.... Earlier the amount of Fleeting Gar was amazing.

Nath

Nice work on the barra Deano. Its a good pic.

Lee

Quote Originally Posted by leelee View Post
    Nice work on the barra Deano. Its a good pic.

Lee
    cheers lee, those jimmys you left us went down a treat when she swam off...
    deano..
    i will never die.

Hey Chris,

Nice report & all. A few big fish every trip makes those trips special. 3 over 120+ is great work... well done to all.

What were some of the key things you picked up on during your stay at Mondy? What were some of the most noticeable patterns that you recognised?
    Sounds like you experienced some good conditions too. No doubt some of the finer points in this would have definetely got the big fish on the move?

Theo
    TT

Quote Originally Posted by TinarooTriumph View Post
    Hey Chris,

Nice report & all. A few big fish every trip makes those trips special. 3 over 120+ is great work... well done to all.

What were some of the key things you picked up on during your stay at Mondy? What were some of the most noticeable patterns that you recognised?
    Sounds like you experienced some good conditions too. No doubt some of the finer points in this would have definetely got the big fish on the move?

Theo
    Hi Theo

Actually , I found the conditions difficult ....... while it was warm enough during the day - night temps were quite cold & so there didn't seem to me much in the way of bait or fish activity after sunset. Temps varied between 23 & 27 deg over the course of a few days.
    Winds were all over the shop ..... shifting from SE/SW to NE / NW daily .... often winds would change direction 2 or 3 times a day..... difficult to work out a pattern.
    Rather than windblown points & bays ....... flats with creekbeds seem to be the go.

As for the big fish on the move ..... yes they are active & feeding Best of all there was no fish kill over winter

Quote Originally Posted by DEANO68 View Post
    cheers lee, those jimmys you left us went down a treat when she swam off...
    deano..
    Tooo easy. it was the least I could do.

Lee

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Hi Theo

Actually , I found the conditions difficult ....... while it was warm enough during the day - night temps were quite cold & so there didn't seem to me much in the way of bait or fish activity after sunset. Temps varied between 23 & 27 deg over the course of a few days.
    Winds were all over the shop ..... shifting from SE/SW to NE / NW daily .... often winds would change direction 2 or 3 times a day..... difficult to work out a pattern.
    Rather than windblown points & bays ....... flats with creekbeds seem to be the go.

As for the big fish on the move ..... yes they are active & feeding Best of all there was no fish kill over winter

Add to that Chris, with quite a few fishos in the Muster Mob working the dam over that period of time, a large number of previously successfull spots were fished, based on the prevailing conditions. It was interesting to note where the fish were holding, despite the constant prevailing boat noise.
    Do fish in these areas become accustomed to the racket, and is it only the fish in the back blocks that take flight at the flit of a sparows wing?

Gday all, back to reality, long drive home Friday, holiday makers clogging up the road.
    Spent the day yesty cleaning gear and storing. I didnt want to gernie out the boat, loved the smell but got it done under sufferance.

Gonna wait till Rob sends me his pics to put up a report but we had a great trip, met heaps of new AFers and caught up with the brothers.

I will admit one thing, after 3 trips for zip and then dropping 2 good fish in an hour, finally putting one on the mat saw me overcome with relief and emotion, I am glad only Rob witnessed it and he has sworn never to mention it

Pete.
    Last edited by Pete62; 20-09-2009 at 09:13 AM. Reason: spelling

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Hi Theo

So was the wind the only factor?? Come on Chris you spend so much time on here trying to stimulate thinking and you have just spent a week on a barra dam and the only pattern that you could get out of it was they were caught on a rod and reel with a hook? You are a better fisho than that mate. Why were they feeding on the flats?? I'll be interested to here your thoughts.