Yak rod

Thread: Yak rod

Yak rod

just thought I would send you a pic of my little yak rod which is a formidable weapon of choice for mostly Bass at the mo but hoping to give it a workout on something bigger soon.
    Its fitted out with an Okuma AB20F reel loaded with 3kg braid line and is all of 1 metre long, gr8 reel seat and grips and it looks like fuji guides fitted to it.
    I would class it as a medium taper with gr8 feel and fits nicely on the front of my yak without being too long and cumbersome.
    Not too bad for a Silstar "just like dads" kids rod!!
    I have had a challenge issued with something about catching a big mulloway on it and I have never been known to shirk a challenge.
    Hehehehe!!!
    Cheers, steve.

Re: Yak rod

That is a classic mate. Well done.
    What does it cast like???
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

M8,
    with the braid line it will cast just as good as anything twice its length, I just had to get used to the accuracy when casting as it is a bit harder to get used to and hit the mark but its great for yakking being of compact size. I did actually hook something that felt like a big jack on it recently and it went well up to the first snag in the water, but I reckon I was gonna get smoked anyway.
    Handles Bass no problem.
    Cheers, Steve.

Mate being thinking "yes it hurt" about some smart ar*se comment about the size of your rod, but it's eluding me at the moment

Hehehe, I swear that water temp was only 16 degrees the other week.!!

Its was 14.7.... and your left lug nut, which i keep in my tackle box, will attest to that...shark bait bought as just like dads rod look alike this morning

Good One,
    Sharkbait might have a bit of go in him yet for a bit of friendly competition.
    He has an unfair advantage though cause he has an automatic burley trail built in.
    Serves me right for betting body parts on who will catch the fish:huh:

Now jhy wants one........its catchin!

Mate,
    After seeing that big one you pulled in the other day I reckon I need a bigger rod!!!
    It was huge and I liked the way it floated in the last few metres after you pulled it outa the snags,...I thought you were gonna pull its head off!!
    It was enough to make you sick m8, Yr a lucky man!!

Steve, nice looking area you are fishing. Gonna be a great Bass summer me thinks.

Can still tast it mate!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Shuda got the camera out for the event

Hi Pete,
    Mate, looking forward to a bit of freshwater action, specially in warmer weather. A coupla coldies, nice scenery and some good company, gr8!! And the best thing is I've got all season to give Stonecold a flogging at fishing. Think I may need all the time I can get though as the big fella seems to know what he's doing

Quote Originally Posted by rabbi View Post
    Hi Pete,
    Mate, looking forward to a bit of freshwater action, specially in warmer weather. A coupla coldies, nice scenery and some good company, gr8!! And the best thing is I've got all season to give Stonecold a flogging at fishing. Think I may need all the time I can get though as the big fella seems to know what he's doing
    Good luck with it Steve. Are you guys far north of Coffs? Always keen for an adventure if you are planning a trip.

Pete.

I might give up now boys...while Im ahead

But the lure of a coldie while floating down the creek is sooo appealing!..Peter we're nearly 2hrs north of Coffs but will be travelling down closer to Grafton shortly.....did I mention that Rabbi?...found another creek we need to check out...2 actually, after this mornings jew session