Thread: keeping soft plastics

keeping soft plastics

hey all just joined & was wondering if anyone could help me with this? I do alot of fishing with gulp soft plastics for flathead and bream so im after some ideas for storing baits not used and how best to keep them when fishing as the seal bags they come with always seem to leak! cheers

Re: keeping soft plastics

I put mine in a small container, you can fit a few bags in one containter. dependin on what size plastic.
    CHEERS BRAD

Mate try the ziplock bags that u can put ur sanga's in

get your plastics out of the bag and put them in one spot. get the bag and throw it away and use a tupperware container. when you put ur plastics in the container then fill that container with berkley gulp alive scent (keeps the plastics from drying out) and put ur sort of ripped plastics in a different container with some scent and use them wen the fish r destroying ur new plastics

good luck
    Live To Fish, Die To fish

get a gulp recharge pack

Word of warning guys. Put some 6" drop bears in with my poppers (Rooster). The finish and paint came off the poppers!

Regards, Rob.

I've never had too many problems with the bags leaking (had a few, but that's it). I have more of a problem with some of the Gulp bags that just won't open!
    I also tend to keep any used gulps in a separate bag, especially ones that haven't been hit/torn, but changed 'cause I wanted to try a different SP. They seem to keep well for a while, but then get somewhat 'on the nose', then the whole bag gets tossed.
    I tend to keep all my 'squidgies' in tackle boxes, as they're 'dry'.
    I have a long, rectangular container that I keep my 'library' of 'scented' plastics in (in their bags)....

I store them in flat tupperware containers, if they are getting dry i'll put in whichever fish attracting oil i have.

On another note, i get those moisture absorbing crystal packs and put them in with my hooks and hard bodied lures, trebles etc. It keeps them from rusting, you just have to replace them every few months.
    Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught.

Mate I've got one of those fold down material esky thingos from K mart. they are insulated and have a silver foil lined on the inside. The gulps sit nicely across and they hold about 30 packets. Insulates your plastics from the sun and sits them up right in a row . Zip around the top. Perfect to throw around the boat.

I've tried all types of containers to put them in, Tupperware, little containers from kmart, crazyclarks stuff. And they all leaked like a sieve.

BUT i have finally found one that doesn't leak.

www.locknlock.com.au

I brought a container of gulp alive for their juices put all my gulps in the locknlock then added half the juices.

neil

Get a ziplock bag,bucket,tackle box or box ,thats what i usally put them in.

jeremy

Hey Liegh

I find with the Gulp packets if i squeeze the air out of it by folding it over as i am sealing it this helps heaps. It kind of makes it a bit like a crivac pack so it sucks in & generally you can tell if it is not a good seal on the bag if it doesn't stay this way. Since i have started doing this i have had very few leaks because the packs themselves aren't that bad its just alot of the time you don't know if you have sealed it properly.

Also my brother uses one of the deeper tackle trays you can get from Anaconda made by mojico. they are deep enough to stand the packs upright in them & they fit 2 packets side by side so probably close to 40 packs all up.

Hope this helps.
    When all else fails "stick it" on the bottom!