What fuel do you use?

Thread: What fuel do you use?

What fuel do you use?

As the title says what fuel is everyone running for their 2 strokers? Standard ULP, 95 or 98?

Would also like to know what fuel company you buy it from. BP, Mobil, caltex, shell.

I used to drain my fule after each trip but now i have a shed I'm going to keep the fuel in her.

I used to buy just ULP from Mobil, but if 95 or 98 has decent benefits I'll bump it up.

thanks

neil

Re: What fuel do you use?

Your book, like mine probably says ULP and thats what I use.

If you live close to me on the Gold Coast you should continue to drain your tank after each trip. PM me for details about where to deliver your waste fuel for me to dispose of for you.

I think you need to buy fuel from outlets that dont sell E 10 etc if you can find them.

Also it is probably better to stick to the majors as it has been claimed that some of the cheaper fuels are not always up to spec. Dont know if thats true but I'm sure someone on here with have some thoughts.

Dont forget to PM for delivery details!!!!

What could go wrong.......................

Quote Originally Posted by Chimo View Post

If you live close to me on the Gold Coast you should continue to drain your tank after each trip. PM me for details about where to deliver your waste fuel for me to dispose of for you.

I think you need to buy fuel from outlets that dont sell E 10 etc if you can find them.

Also it is probably better to stick to the majors as it has been claimed that some of the cheaper fuels are not always up to spec. Dont know if thats true but I'm sure someone on here with have some thoughts.

The "waste" fuel goes into my 4B. I cant remember the last time i put fuel in it.

Yeh wouldn't use E10 in my lawnmower net alone in my boat.

I have been told that the higher octane fuel makes them a little smoother and easier to start.

neil

BP standard unleaded, largely because it's on my way, have heard rumours any fuel can be adulterated with ethanol lawfully without warning but have also heard there is not enough ethanol to actually service the fuel that is sold as ethanol blend....one just thows their hands up...again!!

I use standard unleaded, but if its sits there a tad too long rather than using it as weed killer I'll mix in a couple of litres of prem 98.

I use BP 95 unleaded for a two stroke 40HP. Can't say I've ever had a problem.

Normal old Mobil unleaded for me... it's just up the road .
    I've never had any problems with it, and the motor still puts out heaps of grunt.
    I'de never put any ethanol blend in the boat. I've tried it in the car & ute but it seems to lack power and economy... back to the regular stuff!
    Leigh (Kero).

Quote Originally Posted by Chimo View Post

You can drop off all othe "waste" fuel at my place if you like (I'll save you on all of those disposal fees ).
    Leigh (Kero).

Hi Guys
    I started a thread about our local servo offering nothing other than E10 fuel.

I contacted RACQ and also my car manufacturer. The advice i got was bot to use it if it is not reccommended for your vehicle or boat.
    Go to Shell, Woolies etc and get your fuel. They are going to continue to stock regular unleaded petrol.

The advice i was given is that if you don't use all the petrol you cannot let it sit as you do with regular unleaded fuel, apparently it separates and you end up with water etc on the bottom of your tank and of course as soon as you start the engine it is water pumping directly into the motor. Also have you heard that E10 as I have heard can actually cause a plastic fuel tank to break down.

I will also mention that when i questioned the local servo as to the use of E10 in my car they told me it was perfectly ok to use and that major fuel suppliers have been adding at least 5% of ethanol to their regular unleaded anyway. Point is according to them to make a sale I can safely use it in my car.

Ronnie

In my Opti I have always used Premium ULp in either 95 or preferably 98 if i can get it. I just fill up my tank before i go. Premium doesn't seem to go stale as easy as normal ulp.

Mechanics have told me to use premium in any fuel injected vehicle because it burns cleaner & the is less chance of fouling an injector.

Adrian

I have soley used ULP, and the motor runs fine... My last 2 trips I have topped the tank with 95 pulp.. Not enough in the tank yet to notice any difference... But I will continue for a few months to see if my motor runs better on PULP then on ULP..

I buy my fuel for any servo that doen not sell E10...

Octane is ping resistance not energy density. in fact as I understand it the 91 ron is more explosive and better powerwise for low compression engines. In my highly strung rotax 125 cc 2 stroke karting engine the 91 ron went hard.

The reason 98 is better is because its just cleaner and more carefully produced and therefore more consistent. Not more powerful.!

I always use BP Ultimate or Mobile 98 in the etec. These are the only one I know that aren't mixed with ethanol.

I would stay away from Shell fuels, they contain so much detergents its not even funny anymore. This is the only fuel that some bike manufacturer's (namely honda) would void their warranty, apparently the detergents strip away the lubricants on the 2 stokes.

Ausfish Platinum Member bigjimg's Avatar

I use caltex/woolies premium 95 only.No other brand.Jim
    Haines Signature "FinaLeigh" 580F 135 Optimax
    CH 81 & 72 VHF

The stuff that is now costing a bloody fortune.

Try to stay away from e10 but just use the standard ulp, just have to go fishing more often. Thats the excuse i use with the Missus.