Thread: Taylors beach

Taylors beach

has anyone gone out through the mouth of taylors beach lately? i wanna head over to the palms on wednesday and thats where i used to leave from but not having been up there in years i'm wondering if i'll get out and back.
    cheers nathan

Re: Taylors beach

Port Stephens way? u can still release ur boat there

Sorry i should of put in that i ment the one near ingham.

Hey Nathan,

I haven't been out from taylors in about a month, finding it easier to just go from lucinda, the sandbars are something you really have to watch as they change quite regularly, what size boat do you have mate?? in our 4.2m quinny if we can get the boat in and motor it out to the mouth then you can get out the front as the majority of the sand is near the ramp these days. one thing you have to watch is that the channel markers no longer show the actual channel, when we were there last we had to stay further inland and do a big loop to get around the sandbar inbetween the 2nd and 3rd (as your heading out) markers.

Nidrac

thanks heaps Nidrac, its a 6.2m boat so i think i will just leave from lucinda. probly not as easy to drag over sand bars as my old 4.35 tinny that i last launched from there

No worries mate, yeah it'd probably be your best bet unless you know your going to be coming in or out on the full tides, we used to do it all the time in out old 5m boat because of the lack of traffic compared to lucinda however like you said now we've upgraded to a 6m plate, its abit harder to drag over the sand so only the tinny gets launched there...

Nidrac