Definantly a great jack lure. Have not tried the bead idea but might have to give it a go in dirty water or night fishing.
i was talking to a guy at the tackle shop who told me prawn stars are excellent for catching jacks. just wondering if anyone has had any luck using them. this guy told me to put a few of those little beads that glow in the dark up under the belly of the prawn star but i havnt been game to try it out yet.
Definantly a great jack lure. Have not tried the bead idea but might have to give it a go in dirty water or night fishing.
Check out some of Creek Vermin's reports - he seems to do alright with them on Jacks.
Apparently they're excellent for jacks, though the only fish I've caught on mine so far was a 57cm flatty whilst trolling one behind a kayak.
G'day mate, i love my prawnstar and they'll catch just about anything, i've caught plenty of jacks but also a lot of cod, trevally, flatties, queenies, bream, tailor etc... they are a great lure and if you can get the action right they are a top performer in the tacklebox.
The trick is to keep them suspended as long as possible then give two short flicks and suspend again. the flicking action of the tail can be heard by fish for miles so keep the lure in the water for as long as possible and remember, if an area is worth 1 cast, it's worth 15.
Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught.
probably one of the most under rated lure on the market, not all that flash to look at, hardly ever get advertising time on fishing shows, but they work a treat, don't be too fooled by the flicking tail thing, it mostly works when you hold the lure and pull the line on dry land, but in use, the lure does not have enough resistance/weight in the water to make it work, I have watched it a dozen times when snorkling, but it does work, and it does attract fish of all species, including one good Snapper last summer for me, but I would reckon they would get a tad costly if used on jacks and things that "bite".
No, theyre no good for jacks at all..........
Everyone uses em differently, and they are hard to go wrong with.
My trick is to let em glide along the bottom while the boat is drifting, using next to no flicking at all. Theres a vid on youtube showing Jason Medcalf doing this. he reckons real prawns use too much energy flicking, so real prawns just glide with the current on the bottom. So imitate the real thing.
Ive also been using 2 red beads between the first and second treble, this keeps the trebles in place, cos they do tend to come out easily.
Lotsa info on the prawnstar website on how to use em.
Jacks just hate em, especially the bloodup color.
Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.
Prawn stars defintly like the best jack lure.
jeremy
I love prawn stars they r my goto estuary lure snaps jew huge bream!
everything but jacks!!
hope i didn't waste ur time!
But theryre meant 2 b awesome!
only today i cast mine into a good looking snag easy ten times with no result, changed lures to a small pencil popper (white with black stripes) and hooked up straight away with a 43cm jack out of the same snag i dont know weather he wsas just angry cause i was annoying him so much or what. He did attempt to swallow it which suggests he was feeding not a sign of aggression.
I never seem to be able to get prawn stars to work properly.
(quote)don't be too fooled by the flicking tail thing, it mostly works when you hold the lure and pull the line on dry land, but in use, the lure does not have enough resistance/weight in the water to make it work, I have watched it a dozen times when snorkling(quote)
I've been using mine for over a year now, i have 3 of them but i have a favorite natural colour one that definetly flicks, it gets fouled up in that position. its a lot more flexible then when i first bought it. the flicking action works well for me. it imitates a distressed prawn.
Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught.
Ben,
Here is a bit of info I posted on fishing the prawnstars a couple of years ago - hope it helps.
"Yep the old Prawny is still one of my favourite lures for jacks, barra and most tropical estuary species. Unfortunately for those who are tying on their first Prawnstar they don't fish real well straight out of the pack.
The first series of Prawnstars that hit the market from the boys in Bundy were spot on - they had quite a stiff tail section and very rarely did the tail snag into the body section. However in an attempt the break into the massive US market boys refined the mold and trimmed a small amount out of the tail section (called the Soft Tail series) this unfortunately led the tail catching up inside the body quite regularly and it is a real pain in the a**.
To help out some the Prawnstar virgins, here are some tips I use to make the prawny a better fish catching lure;
1. Replace the middle hook with a VMC or Owner at least one (preferably two) sizes up from the one you get in the pack. This helps give the hook points some clearance from the body and aids hook up rates.
2. Place two red plastic whiting beads on your leader after you have threaded the line through the middle hook and before you tie to the back hook. This prevents your knot catching in the eye of the larger treble.
3. Forget all about the flicking hype / promo crap on the packaging. The lure fishes best cast tight to the structure and let it swim to the bottom on light tension ie rod tip held fairly high.
4. Concentrate hard on detecting the smallest tick, flick or movement of the line. The fish can tend to suck the prawny in without much indication. For instance myself, Steve Booth & Steve Morgan (Fishing Monthly boys) did well at the Lucinda jetty many years ago catching big fingermark up to 8 kilos on the prawnstars. The bite was the smallest little tick very simialr to a bream bite, however once you hit'em and set the hook it was very much a different story.
5. Strike and strike hard! Very important, most people I speak to about prawnstars complain about dropping hooked fish a couple of seconds into the fight. To increase the catch rates you really have to drive those hooks home.
Hope this helps some Ausfishers catch a few more fish on the prawny."
Trent"