Thread: Bribie fishing tips

Bribie fishing tips

Hey Guys,
    heading to Bribie this weekend for a bit of fun and some half serious fishing . Prizes and bragging rights amongst the boys involved so would appreciate any info and where to fish and what's currently worth targeting.
    Staying at Bongaree caravan park and fishing out of 4.2mt quintrex.

Cheers in advance

Dean

Re: Bribie fishing tips

Hey Trekkadog,
    I'm also keen to hear of any good tips for the passage this weekend.
    We've got a few blokes camping at Mission Point for some fun & half serious fishing.
    Leigh (Kero).

places you could try would be the bridge on a slackish tide, mouth of ningi creek, cooks rocks, Buckley's hole, cockerel banks ( winter whiting)

neil

Quote Originally Posted by Kero - CruiseCraft View Post
    Hey Trekkadog,
    I'm also keen to hear of any good tips for the passage this weekend.
    We've got a few blokes camping at Mission Point for some fun & half serious fishing.
    going that far up i would say keep going and go to coochin creek, or the yellow X out the front of toorbul. you would probably out do everyone if you fished out of the back of your boat out the front of your camp too.

I'm trying to get my boat back i the water by then, what site are you going to?

neil

Flatties boys, plenty around at the moment.
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Quote Originally Posted by HONKY DORY View Post
    going that far up i would say keep going and go to coochin creek, or the yellow X out the front of toorbul. you would probably out do everyone if you fished out of the back of your boat out the front of your camp too.

I'm trying to get my boat back i the water by then, what site are you going to?

neil

G'day Neil,
    We'll be at site 2 from Fri - Sun. Drop in for a beer if you like.
    What boat are you in? I'll keep an eye out!
    Leigh (Kero).

Kero - the area has many spots to choose from -
    Try "the Ripples" at the mouth of the canal at Pacific Horbour or the old Avon Wreck - throw some soft plastics around & see what grabs ya . Under the Bridge is also a great spot using those new "Octo-lures"? from the Brisbane side of the bridge about the 4th pylon out is what we call the "double pylon" it is easily identified as the only one with 2 concrete poles per leg - just under there is the spot - beware the fast running tides though- use heaps of lead or the old faithful paternoster rig when the tide is flowing fast. Heaps of flatties around at the moment as well. You could also try to drift along from the bridge out to the mouth over the gravel patches (on the Bribie side) this should pick up some good mixed results. If you see a Grey 6.5m walk around scooting around ("Pelagic Magic") with a Husband & wife & little Girl on board - give us a yell.
    Cheers Sammy

My boat is a quintrex dory. It has a scissor lift bow mount on the front.

Campsite 2 is one of the best IMO.

Hope to see you there ( if i get my boat finished)

neil

sorry double post

g'day boys
    drifting the bank from spinnaker sound to pacific harbour entrance should see you with a feed of sand flathead winteries and the odd plate size flounder, there have also been a few just under squire to make things interesting on the 4lb gear.
    cheers gary

Don't bother nothing there mate!!

Thanks for the info guys its much appreciated

hey mate, the mouth of ningi creek goes good and you could also try the oyster leases beside it although i have never really done much good there i do hear about people catching some nice bream there. also try some sand flats for flatties and bream. try using a 2" pepper prawn i have done good there on them in the past. good luck

Thanks very much guys, any point in throwing the crab pots in??

Kero, I'll keep an eye out, hoping to be on the water afternoon through to evening

Dean

Throw the Yabbi pump in also - gets great results.
    Sammy xx