You can get worms and usually pipis along the beach.
Beach fishing is not usually as reliable as further north, I reckon, because dart are not as plentiful. Still get bream, whiting and tailor ... and the odd salmon.
I'm heading to South Ballina for a weekend in October and I have a few questions if anyone can help.
Any other general info about the area would be great.
- What's the beach fishing like?
- Is it worth taking the boat to fish the river?
- Is there fresh bait available (worms, pippies or yabbies)?
Thanx in advance.
You can get worms and usually pipis along the beach.
Beach fishing is not usually as reliable as further north, I reckon, because dart are not as plentiful. Still get bream, whiting and tailor ... and the odd salmon.
I fish the beach there a few times a year and usually find it good if the conditions are favourable. Never had any probs getting worms there either.
I haven't been there for a few months now but last time the erosion was pretty bad and could only drive on it a few hours either side of low.
Vegetarian - Ancient tribal slang for the village idiot that can't hunt, fish or ride.
while you over the south side give the south wall a try, tailor, bream, jews.
Mate do a search on south ballina, Im sure theres quite a bit of info available.
Stonecold
I did the search thing to death but no mention of bait collection enywhere, especially yabbies. I think I'll take the boat and a pump.
Mate, take the pump. Go to the section of North creek just upstream of the old peolple's homes. Sand/mud flats there have decent numbers of yabbies.
Beach worms were plentiful before the storms. Watched a pro pull 65 in an hour within 100m of the South wall.
If you want poddies or cunjie give me a pm.
Regards, Rob.
Mate they are butchering the big Tailor on the beach at the moment, check out nuggets forum, surf reports !!!
No worries BGG, some good sand and mud flats on the southern side of the river, across from the RSL club. Plenty of yabbies there
Fair chance you will run into some good salmon atm from the beach and the sth wall. Found them after a tip yesterday around the 3kg plus size.