Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Italian, enthusiast, confused ...

Italian, enthusiast, confused ...

Dear "Colleagues",

let me introduce myself. My name's Stefano, I'm Italian, I'm 30 and I'm trying to deal with a problem: the size of your country, which is a big trouble for an angler used to drown his lures in a petty region like Italy, aiming at fishes not bigger than the tiniest of your barras (ok, this is maybe a bit of an exaggeration, but still I feel goosebumps when I take a look at your preys pics...).

In fact, I am spending my honeymoon over there (Nov 15th to Dec 15th) and trying to understand what to tackle and how.

Now let me tell you some more details.

Speaking of places where I have the time to fish in, we are spending:
    - 3 days in the Mackay region (we're staying in Cape Hillsborough Nature Resort)
    - one week on Heron Island (although I understand no fishing's allowed over there, apart from organized trips)
    - 4 in Sydney
    - 4 in Tasmania (Lake St Clair)
    - 4 in Melbourne

Of course I'm up to concentrate on my wife, but some time will be spent for fishing sake

Tackle: all I know is I'm thinking of a 4-pc lure fishing rod (8ft, 1 to 3 oz, moderate: it's a Rhino df by Zebco), which is a must as we're backpackers and I dont want to find my stick turned into brittles after all those flights ...
    But what reel? A 4000 Daiwa or 5000 Shimano size? Any suggestion is more than welcome.
    And what about line, fishes, lures? Is there anybody who'd want to carry the burden of steering me?

Sorry for all these questions I'm shooting out at our first 'meeting', I hope I will be able to reciprocate soon.
    And, by the way, anything you might need to know about Italy, please be my guest!

Thank you,

Stefano

Re: Italian, enthusiast, confused ...

i read up to the part that your ""booked"" into Cape Hillsborough??

unless you have booked under a different name i suggest you confirm the booking,, the number to dial is ,,,,, 49590152 ,,,, 07 of course is the area code if your not in queensland

say hi to my aunty,, once your enjoying your stay

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Quote Originally Posted by choppa View Post
    i read up to the part that your ""booked"" into Cape Hillsborough??

unless you have booked under a different name i suggest you confirm the booking,, the number to dial is ,,,,, 49590152 ,,,, 07 of course is the area code if your not in queensland

say hi to my aunty,, once your enjoying your stay

hi choppa,

mate, what you just said is making me shiver! I have an email confirmation, which is signed by Merilyn (and Robyn answered the first time).

Let me check anyway. It is kinda weird as they told me they are waiting for us on November the 18th.

Thanks anyway. Any hint about how to fish the place?

Stefano,
    I do not know a lot of the other regions, but around Cape Hillsborough should see you doing a bit of beach fishing for whiting,bream and flathead,trevally. All can be taken with bait. All usually easy fishing.

From the 18 November you have a few days of early morning low tides,with the highs around mid-day.

Probably great fishing early in the morning, though on your honeymoon you may have other thoughts on your mind!

Please be aware that the tidal run in the Mackay region is probably the largest on the eastern coast of Australia, up to 6 metres at times. A lot more tidal difference to what you have in Italy

All the best with your trip.

Stefano welcome,

If I were you I would definitely do full day offshore charter while in Mackay, Also sydney harbour is a beautiful place and you wont appreciate it as well as you would from the water. That time of year sees some very very good Kingfish fishing and there are several harbour charters that can really put you onto them.

If you haven't caught Yellow Tail Kingfish before you are in for a treat if you do chose. Pound for pound they are a great fighter and in the shallow/rocky waters of some of Sydney Harbours bays they are one of the dirtiest fighters (im yet to land one on a few trips to the bay but dont let that deter you)

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

G'day Stefano. And welcome in advance to Australia. Send a email to these people

http://www.fishabouttours.com.au/ind...=aus+-+sydney2

and see if they have a vacancy for you for a day on Sydney Harbour. Thoroughly recommended.

Let me know what your plans are for Melbourne and Tassie and I'll try to steer you in a successful and fun direction.

(AKA "Wolfy," raised by wolves in the Tasmanian highlands)

Being backpackers and honeymooners I would suggest that you leave your gear at home and look up a professional guide or fishing charter. They normally supply the tackle if you don't have any and the gear will be suited to the fishing that you are doing unlike a lot of European rods. They also have the kbowledge to piut you onto the fish to ensure you have the best chance to catch something and it also means that the you reduce the opportunity for airline staff to smash your rod to nil.

I agree, a tough call though of course as it depends on finances. Guides/charters would certainly allow you to maximise your exposure to the most fish in minimum time. In other words your time wasted is minimised to allow you to do other things... and stay married! I'll try to help you out if you give me more details.

geez choppa
    your comments and check ups are a bit creepy if you ask me,stefano trust your email confirmation .just also get choppas police badge number to.
    regards john

Hi Chris, Steve, Wolfy and John,

thank you very much!

Honestly what I was thinking of was to get there with some decent travel gear and adopt a little "here and there" - strategy. Casting a couple of lures where we have the chance and the time (we have a tight schedule over there), as we are used to do when we travel in Italy. I know it won't be the most successful of strategies, but this is something my wife is used to. You know, harbour and beach fishing with lures, a coupla hours here and there.

And the fact is ... professional charters are worthy but quite expensive and won't make it for less then a day off. I am fond of fishing but, still, I love my wife more. And I am afraid she would not appreciate as much as I would a full-day trip with other fishing buddies and that typical fish stench we all enjoy

Do you think this approach would turn out to be a total unsuccess? In case, please tell me.

Wolfy, thank you for your kindness! Coming to Melbourne and Tassie:
    - we have an uncle in Melbourne, so we'll be left very little time on our own (and the fishing even less). This means I will have to stick to a very easy and time-saving fishing.
    - Tassie: we are spending a coupla days on lake St Clair then a couple of days in the Sout East (Hobart to Wineglass, but the schedule is yet to put be down).
    Do you think I could get something out of it?

Thanks again!

Stefano

Stefano

G'Day Stefano
    Mate
    Are you heading out to Heron Island from the marina in Gladstone ?
    mangomick
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Stefano... I see where you are coming from I think. Not ideal for fishing maybe, but ideal for other things like holiday/family/honeymoon etc.

I think you said a 4 piece travel rod, spinning reel type? Around a 2500 size reel will get you onto some fish without taking up too much bag room, and hey if they break off, all the more fun right? If you get some time in Melbourne I might be able to take you out on the bay in my boat if you are allowed...

In Tassie, the above rig will do at Lake St Clair. I would buy a few basic lures while you are here, then jsut ditch them before you go home. If you go up the east coast you will be able to fish easily around Swansea and catch a few salmon just off the beach in the evening, or the river near there (can't remember) is supposed to be teh best bream fisherie in the world. (Not that I can catch any there though) and try to get to St Helens, a tad further up the coast but the fishing there is awsome. Sheltered bay and wharves and jetties etc to fish from, you might be a little underpowered again but what the heck.

You will find I hope that you will run in to like minded nutcases who will love to take you out in thir boat or something early one morning, while Mrs Origlia has a sleep in... I'll bet you will. If I was travelling, that's what I would take.

Lastly Stefano, you ask "Do you think I could get something out of it?" Well, I think it will be a kickarse trip. Shit-hot.

Quote Originally Posted by mangomick View Post
    G'Day Stefano
    Mate
    Are you heading out to Heron Island from the marina in Gladstone ?
    mangomick
    Good day Mick,

yes, mate, we are catching the launch in Gladstone to reach Heron Island. I just saw you live there. If I am not wrong (should check the schedule), we're sleeping there the night before we leave towards Heron. Ever been on Heron?

S

Quote Originally Posted by wilcara View Post
    Stefano... I see where you are coming from I think. Not ideal for fishing maybe, but ideal for other things like holiday/family/honeymoon etc.

I think you said a 4 piece travel rod, spinning reel type? Around a 2500 size reel will get you onto some fish without taking up too much bag room, and hey if they break off, all the more fun right? If you get some time in Melbourne I might be able to take you out on the bay in my boat if you are allowed...

In Tassie, the above rig will do at Lake St Clair. I would buy a few basic lures while you are here, then jsut ditch them before you go home. If you go up the east coast you will be able to fish easily around Swansea and catch a few salmon just off the beach in the evening, or the river near there (can't remember) is supposed to be teh best bream fisherie in the world. (Not that I can catch any there though) and try to get to St Helens, a tad further up the coast but the fishing there is awsome. Sheltered bay and wharves and jetties etc to fish from, you might be a little underpowered again but what the heck.

You will find I hope that you will run in to like minded nutcases who will love to take you out in thir boat or something early one morning, while Mrs Origlia has a sleep in... I'll bet you will. If I was travelling, that's what I would take.

Lastly Stefano, you ask "Do you think I could get something out of it?" Well, I think it will be a kickarse trip. Shit-hot.
    Chris,

you are great, mate, you got it right. Thank you very much! For the inputs and the encouragement.

I will be more than happy to go out on a fishing trip with you, if you have time (or anyway to offer you a drink -just tell me how I can get to you-). And be sure Mrs Origlia would be happy as well.

About Tassie, it all sounds great. By the way I can find some room in the backpack to carry a 3-4000 reel (I have a hunch that the bigger the better over there ...) and a couple of spools, in order to have different strings close at hand.

About lures, I was thinking of a bunch of poppers (we use them frequently for bass fishing here in Italy) and metal jigs / spoons (for any kind of pelagic) as for a start. Would they work?

S