THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE
You're going to Melbourne?
Stefano
Theres a backpackers in Gladstone but Gladstone isnt a real big backpacker destination so it isnt really an all night party place like other backpacker hostels .
Youre welcome to stay at our place for the night if you are going to be in Gladstone between the 20 to 23rd .
You can tell your wife that I'm perfectly sane now and I havent had the urge to hack anyone to pieces since they let me out of the mental assylum last time
Only joking. I've got a terrible sense of humour
I'll pm you with a few details and you can think about it. The decision will be made by your wife anyway.
One thing I would recommend though is making time for fishing awoonga dam for barra while you are in Gladstone . An ausfish member called A-DIFF-PERSPECTIVE comes from Gladstone and he takes guided fishing tours out on Awoonga Dam for barramundi. If you pm him you can find out the cost etc and youll be able to see if your schedule and his, allows him to take you out. You wont regret it .The photo below is of a barra my son caught in saltwater and there are a lot of fish caught this size out at Awoonga Dam.
Ciao
mangomick
THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE
Stef - please contact me by PM or email through my website, or copy the phone number from it and give me a call.
Poppers - might be OK up north in Q'land... these guys will tell you as I have no idea, but don't bother for down south or Tassie. Spoons? "Wobblers" are as cheap as chips at Kmart so why not get them here? They will catch you some salmon off teh beach up the east coast of Tas. A very basic kit of lures/hooks/sinkers will not cost you too much and you won't need to pack it.
If your reel is a decent one it can be small and still handle a bigger fish. The line you will be using in tas will be around 6 pound. A slightly heavier one for bait fishing in the salt might be handy... or better still a couple of reels of leader material.
If you are not fishing a lot, just go the basics because once you start to pack it never ends.
See ya in Oz.
(AKA "Wolfy," raised by wolves in the Tasmanian highlands)
Mate, the Eastern side of Heron is not a green zone and apparently not a badplace to flick a few lures about. Check with the resort though. They mnight not be too happy about it. Island is up for sale.
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
G'day Stefano n welcome onboard "Ausfish"..By now yourve realised Ausfish aint a bad crew at all n quiet helpfull.
Read where yoou want to visit so i'll add a wee bit to the replies..
Cape Hilsborough A top visit and yes at high tide you can fish off the rocks but make sure you fish from somewhere you an leapfrog back to dry landnce tide is high and take wet weather gear with you.
offshore grounds are god fishing there also.
Melbourne!! make sure you spend an evening on the Southbank, tops of local entertainment(Baskers) and heaps of Top Greek eateries .Did i say Greek eateries lol???..
Heron Island??...Missus n I spent two days there and i run outa interest after the first day but sure for young couples spending a Honemoon on the island there may be more to do and enjoy of the place..Is a very nice Island , Good meals and some nice big Fish hanging around t Pier though you cannot fish for them ey..
You go out Fishing offshore with Mongomick i'm sure you will have Memories of Gladstone to pass on for yonks:0 Nice Town with top people..
Just stay away from that Newby fella, he full of trouble he is n leads people astray with his Bob Danials..
Tassie ??, cannot praise the place enough and advise people to spend more than a copla weeks down that way..Heaps of nice Rivers,waterfalls,Forests,Caves, You like staeks they have the best. And the beer is drinkable.
Do take the time to do some research regarding where your intersts may lay with Tassie..lake St Clair is Beutifull..
Cheers and Wish you a warm welcome ..
G'day Volvo!
Thank you, thanks everybody, as you have all been very helpful. What I read between the lines you all put down is a very good motto: "Have fun in Oz and don't bother too much about what to fish, where n how". That is definitely what I am up to do. I'll get a 4pc travel (up to 1 1/2 oz), a spinning reel I already own, a couple of spools with different braid and a small selection of lures. Anything else should suit the place I am I will buy it over there.
I will be happy to pop by and shake hands (and have my shout at the pub) in case our roads are crossing (Chris, Mick, I will get back to you in pvt as soon as I make clear dates and destinations).
Thanks again. I think you will read from me again before my departure.
Stefano (& Stefania, who has the rotten luck to be my wife )
Where are you staying and what are the touristy things you are going to do in Sydney?
Lots of stuff rainy or sunny and give us an idea of budget and food you like and we can suggest a couple of places to eat and keep he wife happy. Tell us what you are into and I'll give you some ideas of things not in the brochures.
Into Adventure, What age group are you?
Into walking, trekking?
Do you jog , run for fitnes? Some great coastal and city runs
Do you Kayak ? Can take the wife and sneak a rod along.
I should ask as most of my italian mates can't swim as their parets couldn't and never taught them. Be very aware of our surf if you aren't confident.
Stefano and Stefania? Can't you be more imaginative than that?
Sorry Stef.
(AKA "Wolfy," raised by wolves in the Tasmanian highlands)
You cheeky old bugger Pete.
Firstly, It is JACK DANIELS ya bloody illiterate...
Stephan, he is right I do tend to lead people astray....But Pete being Greek an all, he reckons I am bad ey?
Pete, I believe the Greeks inveted sex ey mate????The Italians turned her over and used the right bits???
Then the POMS perfected the whole proceedure.
Mango Mick. I will stick with my bluecharts mate. Eastern half of Heron is not green. Apparently....
Steph ya better check this with the Island mate.
Seeya in OZ
(Pi$$ up at Mangos joint when the ITI gets here Pete) I will bring the Jacks....
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
Hi Cormorant,
thank you. Seemingly we are staying the whole four days in Bondi Junction. The idea is to rent bikes and 'patrol' the city this way.
We're pretty much into hiking and thought of spending a day in the Blue Mountains Nat Park, but this is not a binding agenda and any recommendation is more than welcome. Any other good place for hiking?
And what about kayaking? The idea of teaching my wife a little rowing while we're there is enticing me indeed.
About swimming, do not worry: I started at the age of 6 and Im an experienced apnea diver and spearfisher (wont bring over the gear though: too much room and weight for backpacking). I know anything's bigger and more dangerous over there, though, currents above all.