Beach combo

Thread: Beach combo

Beach combo

Hey Guys,

Long time viewer, first time poster here. Looking at finally getting a decent beach setup to get out the back of the gutters to hit some tailor and salmon at Stockton Beach and wanted to get some advice on what set up to get.

I'm looking at spending about $250 - $300 for rod and reel only and was looking at a combo of the Alvey 6500BCVRR and one of the following rods - Wilson MT7144, Wilson Sea Coaster or the Alvey 650 rod. Any thoughts on these guys? I haven't heard too much about the Alvey Rods and very interested to hear your thoughts.

Also I was wondering if there is any difference between the 6000BCVRR Alvey and the 6500BCVRR Alveys except cost, ie does the 6.5" cast further or have a faster retrieve and so forth.

Anyway guys looking forward to your feedback. Had an instance last weekend where there was heaps of salmon but just couldn't cast out far enough with my current rod. Now it's payback time hahahaha

Last edited by zuluwoffle; 02-09-2009 at 07:09 AM. Reason: typo

Ausfish Platinum Member mowerman's Avatar

Re: Beach combo

Gary Howard 13 ft 6 Greenback. with an Alvey.

Just let it rip.

Rod
    My dictionary defines green as ‘unripe, immature, undeveloped'. Perfect description.

Most political parties are seen as interested in what the voters think, the Greens are seen as thinking the community should be interested in what they think.

Ausfish Gold Member

Can you get a Gary Howard Greenback and Alvey for under $300?

What's the going price for the rod and the Alvey model that is mentioned?

Rob.
    Ballina.

Mate

I would seriously suggest looking at a 650B. Use the old KISS principle and you will enjoy using the rig. This will leave much more $ to go towards the rod which is the most important part of the equation. The only Alveys I like with drags etc are for offshore work. Nothing beats the thrill of a direct fight with a good fish

Ever thought of using an overhead like a TLD15 or Jigmaster? With a bit of practise 100-110 metres is easily reachable casting largish baits, and you are set up for anything really big which might come along.

The Gary Howard was around $200 5 years ago when I got it.

The Alvey is a lever drag light surf. Holds plenty of 25lb mono.

Dont see why you would need anything bigger. Unless you want close to a k of line.

Rod
    My dictionary defines green as ‘unripe, immature, undeveloped'. Perfect description.

Most political parties are seen as interested in what the voters think, the Greens are seen as thinking the community should be interested in what they think.

So Rod, the lever drag would be just as good as the star drag models?

Also Horse while I'm up for a fight as that's the fun part. Don't you need to control the spool with your hand if you hook one? I'm just so use to using drag on my eggbeaters. But will definately have a look at it cause as you said, the more money I spend one the rod the better.

Thanks again for your feedback guys. Really appreciate it cause there aren't many good tackle shops near where I live )

Ausfish Gold Member

The Gary Howard would be in the $230-250 range now I think. Fancy Alvey about $120? Simpler Alvey about $80. You can probably do nearly as well with a much cheaper rod. Depends how much fishing you intend to do.

Hey Chisel it would only be about once or twice every month but hopefully more in the near future

Wherabouts in Sydney are you?

Out towards Schofields but travel up to Port Stephens every couple of weeks to see the parents, sleepy. Why do you ask?

Quote Originally Posted by chisel View Post
    The Gary Howard would be in the $230-250 range now I think. Fancy Alvey about $120? Simpler Alvey about $80. You can probably do nearly as well with a much cheaper rod. Depends how much fishing you intend to do.

I started with the alvey on a cheaper rod. 13ft 6 Jarvis Walker, about $80 I think.

Nice rod but my casts were all over the place. Long,short,right,left. WTF is going on here. Had a good look over my right shoulder when preparing to cast one day.
    With the weight of the lead and a pillie the tip of the rod was bouncing all over the place.
    NO control at all.

So I spent a few dollars on something decent.

I still use the Jarvis. Has a big eggbeater on it and a chrome slug. Permanently.

Rod

Gday mate, dont worry about the Alvey rods, dont know about the Garry Howard rods but if you can find a Snyderglas 13ft "surf special" it will look after you well !!

The 650 will cast further and is obviously going to have a faster retrieve if that is needed. I am still using the surf rod I bought 30 years ago. Before you buy any rod, strap the reel to it and ensure that the balance is perfect. Just makes a fishingsession so much more enjoyable if you aren't fighting 13 foot plus of rod all day. And go with direct wind, the old palm drag is much more sensitive and accurate then any star or lever drag hands down.