Thread: Heddon jiggly torpedo

Heddon jiggly torpedo

Had a bit of a play around with this tiny torpedo this arvo. Stuck a couple of flappy wings on it from a jiggly cicada. Removed the prop and black nikko underneath.
    Originally had the rear trebble only on but had 6 hits for no hookups. Moved it to the front and got 3 from 4. This one casts further, isn't a bugger to rig in the dark and doesn't get torn appart. Work's well 3 fat 45's last night.

Re: Heddon jiggly torpedo

nice fish booey, good work on the surgery , sounds like could be a few being made, maybe for me?hehe
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Ha, No worries mate. Why don't you grab the carton and i'll rustle up some materials and we'll turn a few out. Ben

Hi Ben, do the wings give it much action on the water? I like the nigth walkers, will be giving them a go when the closed season is over .
    Did you turn the body yourself too?

Cheers, Mick.

Mick,Yes mate the soft wings give heaps of action on the water. Not in terms of body roll and splash as the nightwalkers do though. They flex heaps when you jiggle the rod tip and then push a swell of water forward as compared to a breaking wave of water when they come back to their normal (neutral) position on the pause. When you see them working it is alot more subtle action but looks far more natural. The spot that i fish gets no attention from the bass at all from hard winged varieties but switch to a soft winged one and they get instant attention. It is a stocked one by the way so not doing anything illegal and they all get released. Ben