World Rod Project - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: World Rod Project

Re: World Rod Project

top stuff Owen, looking forward to the finished product

cheers Murf

CP on and final packing & tightening done.
    I have to go overseas for a couple of weeks so I won't be able to start the real deal till then.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Owen that spider is absolutely stunning!!. The colours and wrapping are sensational. You really have done a great and worthy job on this "World project".

Outback Rods

Owen - This is a truly amazing thing that is going on - What a talented bunch of people. If I obtained the "World Project Rod" it would be "straight to the Pool Room" with it . BUT... How about Auctioning off the "test one" right here on Ausfish & have "Suggestions" as to what "worthy cause" the money raised should go to? I know you said it had a few mistakes - But who cares it looks good to me!! Just an idea . Sammy

Finally finished the spider for the world rod project.
    No trims or epoxy on it as whoever does the guide trims will need to ensure that everything matches.
    Plus it all needs to be blended into the magnificent grips Mark Blabaum has done.
    Pretty much impossible to outshine work like Marks, but I'm happy with the result.

Can't wait to see what the rest of the crew have in store!
    Owen

What a true statement, Owen the work is a credit to your tallent. leigh

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Fisher View Post
    Owen that spider is absolutely stunning!!. The colours and wrapping are sensational. You really have done a great and worthy job on this "World project".

Outback Rods

Totally Awesome Owen !!..

ML~~~

Cool Re: World Rod Project

Awesome work who ever ends up with it will be one happy camper ,damm you Owen you've lifted the bar to high for the rest of us lol
    regards mick

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Looks the nuts Owen. Well done.

Avast ye matey!

G'day Owen,

This is the first time I've viewed the final product in place. I know I said it all before but you have done a fantastic job on this one. The colours all compliment and the weave is tighter than a bankers wallet. The Funnel web is the perfect Aussie icon for a job like this. Next time - what about a blue ringed octopus?

G'day Mark,
    The rod is in Brazil at the moment getting a cross wrap by Jorge Possebon.
    Really looking forward to that!
    Aparently the CP on the weave has gone a bit feral so it may have to be cleaned off and re-applied.
    I only put CP on, with no epoxy.
    Never done that and left it alone before for such an extended period.

As far as the octopus, maybe we need to look at an all Aussie rod?
    I'll do the weave, you can do a kick arse cross wrap and Ross can do some killer guide wraps.
    All we need is a handle guru and a worthy charity.
    If it was a boat rod, Ross could do some leather grips (see how I palm out all the hard work LOL)

The Boyne-Tannum hookup up here runs some raffles every year that regularly raise several thousand dollars per item. Usually things like cancer research etc. Mostly it's sporting memorabilia, like signed footy jackets etc. so I doubt a rod would raise the same money, but you never know.
    Owen

Great idea Owen.

I may have the man for a handle, or at least a butt.

Would it be a Green and Gold theme ?

BTW, nice work with the World Rod.

Owen,

Mate that is a great idea. Maybe we could get a blank supplier to donate a blank (I have a couple in mind) and perhaps one of the tackle companies to throw in the componentry? I was also thinking of Paul Kneller to do the handles if he is interested. He does some fantastic handle work in a different style to Mark Blabaums. Something to think about!

Also, perhaps the AFTA Show in Surfers (August) may be a good place to draw a winning ticket? There would be heaps to organise but I'm more than willing if you are interested. We could also open the draw up to forum members etc.

I'm up for it.
    The AFTA show would be fine.
    We could do the tickets online.
    Easy enough to set them up as a paypal item.
    Owen

If you want me to try and organise a blank I can get onto it straight away. I'll also try and contact Paul Kneller if you are happy with him doing the handle (I have to clear that with him first). I also speak to Ross fairly regularly so I can approach him and see what he thinks. What type of blank was the World Project and built for what style of fishing?