Thread: Fishing Cooktown?

Question Fishing Cooktown?

G'day Guys,

Heading to Cooktown for 2-3 weeks in mid October 09. I have a Quinny 4.75 Centre Console/ 70 Yamaha that will be going with us so any info on best places to stay, ramps to use, weather, etc would be much appreciated,
    Ricko
    When all's said & done... more's said than done!

Re: Fishing Cooktown?

I am looking at going in April 10
    I have had mixed stories about the van parks
    I AM GOING TO RENT A CABIN
    I was told the best thing is to do a charter for a day then use your own boat.

Ken

Cheer's for that Ken! Much appreciated.
    We have sussed out a budget cabin for $90 pn at Cooktown Holiday Park
    but wanted to see what other parks there are, and if anybody had any
    comments on any of them. The day charter idea is a good one. We might give that a shot.

Stayed in a cabin at the Big4 van park just on the town side of the cemetery last October. They were excellent - very clean and comfy. Heaps of room for the boat as well.

Thanks Cam! Someone else said the same about Big4 so all good!
    Can you tell me what was the weather/wind like in Oct as that is the time we will be there? I have just got back from fishing the Escape- Jacky jacky & the trade winds blew for 3 weeks (25knots+) before I arrived & the whole week we were there. Also did you fish the rivers or offshore or both?
    Ricko.

Hi Ricko,

The winds can be a bit unpredictable but in general you'll find September\October is still a bit early - it can blow 40+ knots day and night (as we found out last year). Late Oct at the earliest really. Having said that the owner of the place said that 2 days before we got there they had a tv cew filming a fishing segment and got 2 dead flat days (same old story - shoulda been here yesterday).

Yeah, doesn't matter where you go fishing thats the story huh!
    Might book in for 2 weeks in early November and see how we go!
    Thank's very much Cam for your time to reply,
    Ricko.

I'd definately try for November over October to have some chance of getting a spell of doldrums weather.

I'd look into booking a house. Give the real estate agents a try. You might be surprised. We got one looking down right over the bowls club and river. Down to the bowlo and RSL every night for tea.

G'day Smithy & cheers for your reply.
    The only other time frame available to us is around 10th December for 2 weeks.
    I know from fshing Cape York that it's pretty hot at that time but so is the fishing usually. Any reason other than heat/rain not fish in December?
    Good idea about estate agents. I have rung Rainforest Real estate but thats the only one I could find? Any others you know of that are worth a crack?
    Ricko.

Get onto Nickstock and RussB on here. They are both locals. Russ owns The Lure Shop. I stayed at his place last time I was up as he is a mate but the time before we were in a house. Personally, I don't reckon Cooktown is that hot. I reckon places like Ipswich, Maryborough, Rocky etc. that are down at sea-level but inland can get hotter and more humid. Cooktown picks up any northerly and it is pretty dry and desolete so is not as humid as say Cairns. It is a bit like Bowen. A pretty dry looking landscape. I'd give Dec a crack but November would be the time for me cause I would want to chase marlin. I know mates that have stayed with Russ around Chrissy/New Years have done a lot better in the estuaries than the Oct/Novs I have been there. The water takes a while to warm up. The river systems are long and deep with overhanging branches. There are no real saltpans or big shallow lagoony type areas or wide shallow expanses for the water to warm up to get the jacks etc on the chew on lures. Livies win hands down. The local guides are live bait experts, catching it and fishing it.

The Lure Shop 07 4069 5396

There was also an excellent tourism website for Cooktown run by the council or someone that has all the businesses in town. Search for the real-estate agents through it.
    Last edited by Smithy; 25-08-2009 at 06:54 PM.

Good onya smithy, all that info is gold ! I'll have a look around for that site.
    Got onto a local bloke today as Rodman suggested & goin out with him for a day or so to suss the place a bit before goin it alone. Local knowledge ...... just can't beat it!!
    Thanks again to all who took the time to message me .... Much appreciated!!
    Ricko.