Mondy Frustrations
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mondy Frustrations

Mondy Frustrations

Hi All

Talk about frustrated ......

I just completed what was the most frustrating barra trip that I have had - but an enjoyable one!

Fished with Trev & got off to a good start with a high 80s on the first evening Attachment 50214(storm wild eye shad ) ...... we missed some bites & Trev dropped a couple . ..... but a good evening had
    The next day ..... we ventured into Bird bay ( my first time) & while fishing a shallow flat , i get a good solid hookup on my favourite gold X Rap ...... a few nice jumps from a solid 90s fish & I tell Trev to grab the camera to get some boat side shots (well you know me & cameras) ........ GONE .... boatside.
    fished the rest of the day for not a touch till we go back for our evening session in south B - Trev & I both got some good hits plus some barely negligible taps ( both @ the same time - at one stage) ...... then Trev gets 2 little taps on consecutive cast - stops on the third & hooks up with a feisty fish that tries to sink the hornet with a jump under the boat - you should of heard the bang! ....... fortunately a nice 100 even makes it to the mat Attachment 50215 ........ I got a couple more hits the jolted through the rod - but fail to connect.
    The next morning .... Trev directs me into a wind blown bay & I manage a little fella on the gold X Rap after only a few casts - Yes Trev you are good. ...... We moved around a fair bit ..... went in to go in to Town before recommencing our evening assault . My frustrations continue with a couple more big hits (abraded leader - but no cigar)
    I then have a morning to myself & venture to what as been the stage of some great encounters over the last few tripsAttachment 50216 ....... & it continues - working my favourite weed edge I get slammed on my favourite gold X rap - A bolt toward the trees 2 jumps & all over red rover - jump off ....... the very next cast (made longer down the edge)..... & I'm solid ...... a dark hued fish makes for the trees but I turn it - Its a race to cut its escape route - but it heads back toward me & the weed edge ( right around a tree) - no problem I'm thinking till I try to unwind it - one way & then the other way ....... & back again - The fish jumps again before it flounders on the surface - ever so enticing at only 5 feet away ....... Unfortunately the net is on the front deck - I'm on the back court - Then there is a couple of kicks & the 30lb braid parts ..... with the estimated 105 taking with it my gold X Rap ........ 90mins later I get a swipe at another X Rap - but with just a big boil - Nothing .
    Later that night I manage another little fella ....... but missed several more big hits ..... including one that took line on the hit - Eventually with a cool breeze blowing & being up the back of south B - I got the Heeby Geebys- & decided 1 last cast ......... & yes a massive hit on a 6" Storm swim shad but no connection ...... the spooks got the better of me & it was back to camp for some socialising with Daryl ......... Eventually we called it a night after enjoying a good fire & port.
    The Final morning went by without even a bump ...... & talk about a pea souper ...... came back in ( had a beer with Steve & Spud) & went into town for some more fuel ( dragged Daryl along too) -
    I got Daryl to come out ( to stop me from getting the Willys ) Headed up to the creek bed that we had fished every night & since it was still early ( all the activity had come during the last residual light) - I headed over to a once productive nearby point ( not peppered point ) as the conditions were ideal with a north wind & waves crashing on the shore. I explained the history of this location to Daryl .... where to cast & what to use - etc etc when not 10 mins later .... my black & gold slick rig gets thumped - the rod loads & nothing ........ Daryl just looks at me flabbergasted - 4 inches of chaffed leader.
    not long after I'm about to lift the slick rig out of the water & a decent barra has a swipe at it ........ "did you see that?" - Daryl nods - "I'll be F"d I wondered what that was "
    Then finally when Daryl changes over to a Drop bear slick rig - tail dipped in Chartreuse dye ( but thats another story) & Daryl gets a couple of little taps & strikes on the third - Up she comes - a very solid metre .... jumps & i go to throw the rope ( lots of submerged stick around the boat we needed to clear before bring the fish too close) - unfortunately on its next jump the slicky is ejected ...... Daryl is pretty happy to have got the hook up & seen the fish jump against the last rays of sunset as the back drop . i missed a couple more solid hits & Daryl has one that swims straight at him so he cant get the hook set ( thats when you need a spin outfit )
    Eventually after things went quiet ...... we called it a night & headed back for a roast chicken dinner - - MAAAGNIFICENT
    Once again it was good to share a boat with Trev ..... & Daryl ( Daryl is still there & no doubt will try my spot again tonight ....... hopefully he nails some )
    Enjoyed having a beer & chat with Steve & Spud.
    A big thanks to Foxie for stocking the spot light that I needed after mine crapped itself - fortunately 50M from the boat ramp
    Great conditions with waters as high as 24 Deg C - (23 last night at 7pm) - & north winds for the most part
    But .... it was a frustrating trip - i cant recall missing that many strikes on placcys (95%) - ...... now, time to work out what I was doing wrong before the muster .

PS: broke my trailer again

Ausfish Platinum Member DEANO68's Avatar

Re: Mondy Frustrations

goon on ya chris, good to see daz hookup also, and yep hope he gets amongst them this arvo,
    lets hope the action heats up in a few weeks.....and the trailer,? well that was prolly expected... see you in a few weeks..
    deano..
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

Nice work Chris, don't be too hard onya self mate, it will all come together one day

Well done matee.

Pete.

I know the feeling, was very frustrating!! but you were getting hits and hookups and returned without a donut!

Not bad for a beginner mate

More fuel to the fire.....................

Gunna be a good spring I reckon!

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Not bad for a beginner mate

More fuel to the fire.....................

Gunna be a good spring I reckon!
    I'll get there ...... eventually

Its looking good Brian ........ 24 Deg water temps on Sat arvo ( near Bird)

Yeah, mate was up last week, and pulled a 114 out of the next bay up from your fav, said similar with water temps, I didnt believe him!
    He said he still spooked plenty, I told him he needs to work on his approach a little more, rack the leccy and come in swinging tree to tree like Tarzan!
    Sounds like a good trip mate, you saw a few, landed a couple, happy days, and Muster approaching - YEE HAA

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Chris, good to catch up again...still not a bad trip..imagine if you had of landed 1/2 the hits, it would have been spectacular. I am going out tommorow arvo (seems the best time now the N winds are here). let you know whats up.

Cheers Steve

You are a legend mate, certainly getting plenty of action regarless of fish in the boat.

Nice stuff and condition certaily seem well awesome to say the least.... more wrm days ahead too so look out september I would say.

I hope Daryl keeps one connected...

Nath

Well done Chris, Sounds like an enjoyable couple days. Those Bloody Barra i reckon have a brain wave similar to Trevs, They are were he says Well done.

Cheers Lachy

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Yeah, mate was up last week, and pulled a 114 out of the next bay up from your fav, said similar with water temps, I didnt believe him!
    He said he still spooked plenty, I told him he needs to work on his approach a little more, rack the leccy and come in swinging tree to tree like Tarzan!
    Sounds like a good trip mate, you saw a few, landed a couple, happy days, and Muster approaching - YEE HAA
    Its looking good for the Muster Brian ............. Best of all I was encountering fish in the early morning (8ish)

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Chris, good to catch up again...still not a bad trip..imagine if you had of landed 1/2 the hits, it would have been spectacular. I am going out tommorow arvo (seems the best time now the N winds are here). let you know whats up.

Cheers Steve
    Always good to catch up with ya Steve

Yeh .... I guess it was OK - however its a little bit of a downer when you find the fish & cant convert a hit. (jump offs & stitch ups are par for course)

Those Northerlies ...... SWEEEET

Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    You are a legend mate, certainly getting plenty of action regarless of fish in the boat.

Nice stuff and condition certaily seem well awesome to say the least.... more wrm days ahead too so look out september I would say.

I hope Daryl keeps one connected...

Nath
    I reckon he crapped himself when he struck & up she came........ It was a nice fish too

So with a little luck ....... he can land one

Hey Nagg, forgot too mention....I drifted into some shallows and as i made a cast i didnt notice the massive girl sleeping beside my boat in scooping distance!!! well when i made the cast she woke up and jumped like a hooked barra!!!! BANG!!! into the side of my boat lol 10cm higher and it would have been a barra on my floor

Nagg, you may not have landed as many as you hooked but you sure seem to know how to find them and get them to hit your lure. I am surprised how many people mention Monduran along with Jump offs and lost hookups. Thats how its been there for me.

Do you think its like when you play golf and there is a water trap- you always end up hitting balls into there. Do you think because its Monduran and usually trees and snags everywhere we go too hard, get psyched out or something? Why don't the hooks seem to stay in for so many at Monduran?