Old mate could live at newport and instead of getting tank craned over house as they don't seem to have much room there. Decided to float the tank around and drag it up the back way.
Strangest thing I have seen at a Launch ramp ? That's a easy one................
Someone that can actually LAUNCH or LOAD their boat in a very short amount of time and get the heck out of the way !
Oh no, it's a world wide thing . I watched it again this last weekend , he backed onto the MIDDLE of the ramp and proceeded to load all their crap, the dogs, the kids , waited for his buddy and wife ,loaded their crap and then had to discuss where to park the truck and trailer, 20 min. later he launched the boat .
I was loading the gun in my mind.
Up at the casino ramp at Broadbeach a while back and saw a new cruisecraft resort get backed down and the trailer get sunk. Guy starts motor and mate undoes trailer coupling and boat and trailer reverse away!
Could not believe what i was seeing until i noticed all the ratchet straps wrapping the trailer to the boat.
Turns out the owner was driving his trailer around the corner to his canal front boat ramp that had no road access.
TC
Yeah, I've had this happen to me twice. Car locked up with trailer in water and nobody to be seen. Both jetski trailers.
One of them came back and he was the owner/manager/mechanic/tester? of a well known jet ski dealer here on the Gold Coast.
He then told me to get out of the way cause my boat was tied up to the pontoon about 10 feet out from his trailer and he reckoned he couldn't maneuvre into the trailer with my boat there. I told him "funny that, I couldn't maneuvre out of the water with your bloody car there!"
After a nice exchange of words, he jumped in the car whilst mumbling something about bloody fishos not having a clue and screamed out of there. If these are the guys that are selling them, now you know where they all get it from!
Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds
- 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
- 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
- Heaps of extras, in top condition
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Down Evans one day there were 2 jetski guys parked across the ramp. Yep, across it.
It's a 5 bay ramp so no worries but they were sitting on the last bit.
Thye moved pretty quickly when I started backing the trailer down...and not stopping.
Some words exchanged and I kept backing.
People my age can be hard of hearing...and blind when they want
And then there was the day the guy with the hovercraft came into the ramp....and kept going up the ramp, through the carpark onto his trailer.
How good is that I thought
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Just saw the same thing on Sunday Finga.
A large rubber duck pulls up to the ramp at Manly Habour, Brisbane, lowers the back wheels and the one at the bow. Starts a motor and drives up the ramp and round to his car and trailer in the carpark. Steered with the same steering wheel that turned the motor and front wheel. Had hyd. power to 1 of the back wheels
Jeffrey
while not too strange i have seen nudist skippers and partners a few times around the goldy. saw santa with a big sack cruising around once too.
so your the one following me around......
Strangest or funniest thing I've seen was something i did. I hadn't been out for ages and was pretty excited, i backed the boat down, jumped in and drove it off over to the pontoon, grabbed me mate and headed off. Next thing he was pissing himself laughing, i looked over and heres my navara and trailer still on the ramp. Was very funny. Tried to get out of it by saying i thought id leave her there it would make things easier and quicker when we get back.
I have told this story before but it is too funny not to tell again... I was fishing at Dohles Rocks a number of years ago.. the rocks are pretty much out from the ramp 50m so I was watching the comings and goings all morning.. the ramp was very shallow and ran a long way out until it was deep enough to launch but this guy with a tinny must have thought that once the trailer wheels were touching the water he was right to launch... so he undoes his tie downs and gives the tinny an almighty push from the front.... it came off the trailer allright, right up until it got to the back of the trailer and basically upended itself so the front was sticking straight up in the air... if that wasn't comical enough (for an onlooker but not for him) the whole boat did a barrel role off the trailer and landed upside down beside the trailer in 2 inches of water..... if I wasn't on a hot bite I would have gone to help but as it was ... well you know ......
2008 Signature 520C with the Suzuki 90 4 stroke on the back