PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Linden Banks FNQ
Been heading up to Cow Bay for the past 10-15 years to fish with my uncle (he lives there) and we did a week long trip last year north east of Cow Bay to the reefs like morning, evening, the ribbins, etc. which was awesome. This year we are looking to head out to the area around the linden banks in September/October. The uncle only has a 14ft tinnie so we only normally fish in close and sometimes shoot out to undine and mackay on a good day. We will be using a mates 30ft old pro trout boat as the mother ship and scooting around in the tinnies when we are out there.
I was just wondering what pelagics are getting around out there at that time of year (not really too interested in Billfish) and if anyone can give us some pointers on fishing that area? I have heard that the run out there can be pretty full on so was wondering if fishing the neaps was better. We aslo plan to chase a few reds and trout so any pointers there would also be appreciated.
Should be plenty of wahoo and barracuda out there. We also had heaps of schools of yellowfin, skipjack and longtail tuna at various times last year. Spaniards will be more on the reefs proper like Opal etc.
Yeah, there will be Yellow Fin Tuna and Dogtooth Tuna in the deeper water. A downrigger would be a huge advantage for these. You would also see Mahi Mahi in late spring and maybe some Spaniards still hanging around. We dropped a Spaniard up there on Saturday that was nearly as wide as the boat in length ! Would stall your outboard if you got it trolling !
Always plenty of Trout there when there is run. Some big ones too. Try the Eastern side of the Banks for Reds around that time. About the 80m mark if the water has warmed up a bit. I prefer the new moon tides and fish the change so the run settles down a bit. The run can be extream so take 24 oz leads and braid.
The Banks only come up to around 11m so they will offer no protection if you are in the little boat. Nearest protected water is in between Batt & Tounge Reef or in behind Norman Reef.
Worth the trip up there. It is a fishing playground. Lots of options for different species. Plenty of sharks too. Good luck.
Smithy, thanks try to avoid those cuda when i am up there. Last year when i was up there we got a few spaniards and a heap of longtails...
Midnight, much appreciated. We do have a downrigger setup already on the tinnie. What sort of techniques do you normally use on the dogtooth out there and what sort of areas should we look for to target these? Have always wanted to catch one so any tips would be great. The guy we are going with used to be a pro trout fisherman and knows his stuff when it comes to the ooglies but hasn't really done all that much sportfishing for pelagics.
G'day David, great time of year to be out that way, The Hoo's , dog tooth and Yellow fin tuna will be in full flight at that time, troll/fish on the outside of L/B in deaper waters. huge spanish 30 - 50kg+ should still be around, you might be a tad early for the Dolphin fish but the blacks will be there, there is never ending spots for the reds, while you trolling around you will find the grounds, your in gods country up that way
When I find out what works for the Dog Tooth I will let you know. We have had success with the Yellow Fin but haven't got a Dog Tooth yet. From what I have been told you would need to troll deep and relatively fast for these guys. Wahoo might know a bit more ??
A few of the lads have had hookups but none boated yet. They get a bit cranky !
Definately go and have a crack up there. It is an awsome spot.
( I am Midnights mate in Cairns to save any confusion ). We get up there when ever the weather is kind.
Undine and Mackay, how well i remember those reefs and we nailed heaps of fish out there when I lived up that way. Some great night fishing wide of Saphire and Undine, for reds etc. We always caught good spaniards that time of year simply drifting out live fusileers or the good old pilly under a balloon, and at night as well!
Hope you have a good time up there in fishing Paradise.
Flatzie