Redclife shallows and glass

Thread: Redclife shallows and glass

Redclife shallows and glass

Gedday all,
    Well after re-arranging my show holiday to allow for an early finish to the working week, the call was made to head out with my workmate Terry to chase some snaps on placcies. First placcies where in the water by 5:15am and not long after a nice flatty (about 60cm) was dropped boatside. Not long after I boated a couple of just under squire and Terry had a nice run but dropped it then another run that broke the hook!! Tip, don't use light gauge hooks when chasing snapps!!
    The morning broke to reveal a glass out when we really wanted some breeze to push our drift. The old story, no wind when you want it and too bloody much when you don't!!
    A couple of drifts later my dead stick took off at a rate of knots and owing too the fact it was only 4lb main and 6lb leader a good tussle was had that eventually saw a nice 43cm snap in the esky!! The weather just got better and better and we managed to catch and release a few pike, flatties and a 30cm sole.
    Due to the great conditons we didn't want to go home so went back to the ramp and got some worms and went to the cockle banks to chase some tings. Got a couple and then couldn't find them again so made one more move. When we stopped the wind had picked up from 3 to 15 knots of southerly so decide to head home.
    Was approached at the ramp due to the A/F stickers on the boat and met another Ausfisher ( ShaneC) and gave him our tings to go with some he had already, cleaned the snap and went home and had it for lunch. A great day weather wise, a few fish and a few misses but better than being at work
    Cheers.....Terry.......
    Last edited by therapy; 14-08-2009 at 08:56 PM. Reason: add a word

Re: Redclife shallows and glass

Try these photos again

Hi Therapy well done on the fish

shane

Thanks Shane. When we caught the pike I was thinking of you and thought about trolling them but there was no evidence of any tailor at all today. Lots of pike though.

Cheers........Terry........

nice catch, what end you fish, margate or scarborough, i was out margate way on wednesdya got nogiht at all, 1 pike,
    4 METRES OF FUN

Very nice fish indeed. I will have to service my boat and get out there for a look. I am a catch and release type so hope to get onto a few of those secret spots for some fun.

dkbikes- More Scarby way but want to start exploring down towards Margate more

Thanks Foxy4- Compared to some of the snapps we have pulled out of there the 43cm is a tiddler but great fun on light gear and shallow water.(only 4lb and 3 metres)

Cheers......Terry....

G'day Terry, nice to meet ya mate.

Thanks for those tings, their frames are in the freezer with quite a few of their mates to be hopefully turned into bigger things very soon. As I stuffed my face with whiting fillets last night, I was glad I had the motivation to pull the tinny out of the shed!!

Cheers mate,

Shane

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Great day therapy and a bute shot of the clouds on the water. Good tussle with the light gear eh. Funny to loose your hook tip on one. Well done. Cheers

Ausfish Platinum Member Fishbait's Avatar

Nice little snapper there. Aren't those sole's ugly fish! Sounds like a great day out on the water. Darren

Quote Originally Posted by ddobson View Post
    Great day therapy and a bute shot of the clouds on the water. Good tussle with the light gear eh. Funny to loose your hook tip on one. Well done. Cheers
    It was a cracker of a morning to be out there. The hook actually broke at the bottom of the gape and it was my mate Terry. ( I'm also a Terry) Must have been weakened by the previous fish but it was a pretty light gauge hook. I use tt h's and the snap I got was on 1/16th and a 1o hook. No probs.

Quote Originally Posted by Fishbait View Post
    Nice little snapper there. Aren't those sole's ugly fish! Sounds like a great day out on the water. Darren
    Me and my mate Derek ( Dezzer) were trying to think of another critter in critter land that is not symetrical?? And can't. Definately still a work in progress the old sole!!

Cheers..........Terry.........

Very nice Terry. Good report.

Just one question: Are both Sol and Flounder the same fish or same family.

Thanks Tom