PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Awoonga Arvo!! "Perceiver"
Well with a week at tafe being a mental strain it was the arvo that let the mind be free. (Well so i thort) Hit the water with the Water Temp up higher then i have seen it for quite some time. Had a suss around the area for a gud half hour to find myself a Bay with what i thought had the right variables for the day. Well to make the fishing harder with no electric we let the wind blow the boat in and the anchor was deployed. Now this bay was special, It felt like all my senses had been forfilled. (Birds "Abundant", Water temp "Balmy", Weed "Crisp", Wind "Ideal") this all made up for a thought that barra would be caught. With only a few hours planned to fish it was good to get Dad back out the dam. Fished around and got in a position that would be suffice for the rest of the afternoon. With Barra O'clock coming quickly i made the call that we would catch a fish soon. (Only with one thing in mind, the wind had droped). With Dad dummyin with a hookup trying to make me laugh was the trigger, 2 winds later he was on a fish fell for the dummy. With a quick tussle dad lost the arm wressle a nice 90+cm fish away. 2 cast later I had hooked up on my bream outfit (2-4kg rod, 2500 Stradic, 8lb braid , 20lb leader) I was determained to land a barra on this outfit and was happy to see a nice 87cm Barra hit the net . With the wind picking back up to a light breeze it was half hour to try a few different things. Well the wind droped back off just on dark and the fish were triggered to bite again. With a nice 90+cm fish on the end of the bream stick it was a nasty battle with the fish doing arial acrobatics and dislodging the hook in the process. With a Local Legend fishing no more then 50m away getting his client onto a nice fish it was a good note to end the day on. Home by 6:30pm and sit down for a nice drink.
great catch on that gear well done but you will suffer some agonising results if you keep using that stuff ,there are some monster ooglies i there that love taking that line class for a ride good luck with your next encounter,
Warrior, Yeh mate its a heart pounding experience. For one the area fished was a nice open bay with little structure. Good spot to test my luck. being only 5 K'sfrom the dam its good to try stuff out. I have had much more luck on triggering the barra into biting on lighter line classes. To me this is pretty obvious why but I honestly people are fishing impoundents to heavey. Its an Art, all planets have to align to get ebst results.
Hi Lachy good to see you and your old man got onto some Barra mate.
You would have been mad not to get out for a spot of fishing with this weather, it makes me think i should have taken the last 2 months off and the next couple as well, El Nino type weather crickey...
Well done on the light line captures, just shows what can be done hey. I think many have forgotten Barra history with much of the Northern Anglers using 12lb Platy for most of their fishing in by gone years. And that's on salt barra for record captures in flowing current.
Local legends puting clients on to fish is something i never get sick if seeing, as it's often very hard work on wised up fisheries.
Nice fishing Lachy,
Well done mate. Thats a healthy looking fish. Looks like Awoonga is about to fire up big time..if its not already. your so right, Lightest gear possible will aways get more hookups than heavy...no matter what fish your chasing fresh or salt. your skills were shown to land the fish on light gear, well done on that too!
You barra fishermen are a strange breed, I hope your senses weren't forfilled by the crisp weed you found Lach. Whatever aligns your planets I suppose. Ha Ha.
Well done stay with the light gear its the best fun in open bays.On my first trip and first awoonga fish ever i got a 104 cm 14kg on 4 lb and 2kg stick in a weedy bay it was heaps of fun.Ended up using that gear the whole trip and didnt lose a fish, much more enjoyable and skillful out in the open,cheers.
Hey there Locky, that's enough fishing boy. Time to hit those books & do some study to keep up to the exacting standards modelled by the older NRG tradesmen!! Ray
Nice work Lachy,
I snooped about in other areas just to check out the depth and weed layout, so I missed seeing most boaties on Friday. I saw Harro with clientelle; they boated nice fish also. A couple of great barra jumped on my line for the afternoon, so I went home before dark time, pleased with what I saw. It is nice to see you tuning into factors that can help your catch rates, and being at the ready in the right locations for 'bite time'. Happy fishing, thanks for the report and photos.
Johnny
Johnny- thanx mate was a awsome afternoon and much was learnt that afternoon. Yeh i seen your boat at the ramp and thought i might have seen you in a certain bay but out looking you were . Will have to organise a trip out with you won day your not busy. something i would enjoy greatly.
Dick- haha thanx mate, I have been giving it a pretty good go laterly and rewards coming in.
Yeh Chris Was happy with an arvo like that. Even though alot fo fish wernt caught it actually was won of the most enjoyable afternoons. The fish were really a bonus. Its starting to pick up. All good signs.