Thread: 2.8 GQ Ticking noise

Question 2.8 GQ Ticking noise

Hi guys, here's a good one!!

My 2.8 makes a ticking noise once it warms up, and it stays until it cools down overnight. I was told it is the lifters, and to add a lifter quietner to the oil. I have tried 5 different brands, to no avail.

I also reckon the lifters would make a noise on startup, then quieten down. This is the exact opposite. I changed to Fuchs oil as well, with better oil pressure, but the same problem. Since the onset of this, the motor runs hotter under load, or up a hill as well. I have flushed the radiator, and replaced the coolant as well.

I hope someone out there has had, or knows of a similar case, that was solved. The mechanics all guess, and as we know their trial and error does NOT come cheap. (Maybe I have just lost faith in them?)

Short of putting a THICK oil in, and hiding the symptoms............?

I have done 30 000km like this, with no change. But enough IS enough.

Waiting in anticipation

Seaking
    Fishing is NOT a matter of life and death..,.,.,.,.,.,.,
    It is WAY more important than that!!

Re: 2.8 GQ Ticking noise

I have a little electronice kit thing that it put on the motor with differnt attachments and you can isolate exactly where in the motor the noise is coming from. find a place that has one of those that will point you in the right direction for a better idea. using a $20 stethescope will be hard to pinpoint the noise.

give some more clues like when it started happening, have u got an oil pressure guage.

thats the timer on the bomb mate sooner or later it will blow.

Has this noise been there from when you bought the 4by or has it developed over time??

I had a 2.8 Daihatsu that did the same thing for 350 000km eventually i did a full rebuild replacing most items including con rods crank cam pistons valves etc. Still rattly for about another 8000km then the oil pressure sensor broke off in the middle of the thread going into the block and the bloody motor dumped 8 litres of new oil out in a very short span and locked the prick up. $5800 down the drain. Shoulda left it alone and been happy with the rattle.

Are you sure it is not a head to manifold exhaut leak?
    How long since your injector were serviced?
    quote..
    I also reckon the lifters would make a noise on startup, then quieten down. This is the exact opposite. I changed to Fuchs oil as well, with better oil pressure, but the same problem.
    They would be really noisy when you have just changed the oil. Also how worn are the push rods and did they make sure one is not bent?
    quote..
    Since the onset of this, the motor runs hotter under load, or up a hill as well. I have flushed the radiator, and replaced the coolant as well.
    Check your fan hub, has it got black sticky crap around it? [Silicone oil]

Crook injectors will do this as will the injector pump if it is overfueling. Is it a turbo? Might pay to crack the injectors one by one while the motor is running and see if the ticking goes out while the injector is open. That is assuming you are not driving too slow in too high a gear and not changing down to increase the temperature.

Thanks fot the replys guys.

Yes it is a turbo, 170 000kms on the clock.

I had it serviced, and on getting it back this noise was evident. I also realised the oil had been over filled. (possibly even 5 litres thrown in, as the oil was never drained??) I took it back, had the oil level sorted out, and it was a case of SEE YA!! The noise was " Yeah, bring it in again, and we'll look at it" ......... Ummm No thanks.
    ALSO the turbo started leaking oil soon afterwards ( from the catch can, l think) Only other thing is, when l added the last "lifter treatment" in was silent for about 30 seconds, then gradually built up to the same loudness again, once it dilluted with the oil. On starting the next morning it was the same, 5 minutes perfect, rest of the day "ticking away"

Another point...... the air cleaner was changed as well, at the same service, dont know if that can be botched up???? LOL

The injectors have not been serviced yet, want to get a MAJOR service done once I find a good diesel maccie in Townsville!!

Thanks again to all who contributed to this post.
    Seaking
    Last edited by Seaking; 16-08-2009 at 11:04 PM. Reason: Need to add info
    Fishing is NOT a matter of life and death..,.,.,.,.,.,.,
    It is WAY more important than that!!

Google up the Patrol.com .It's a Nissan Patrol online club just like Ausfish . There you can ask and you will be surprised by the many responses . Just like AF so much help when you ask for it .
    Cheers Tezza

Mate, I've heard good things about Hammonds Diesel in Garbutt.

Mate,
    turn the sterio up a few knoches
    Guaranteed to work
    Learned from Buggy racers !!!!!When wheels stop turning you can go looking for fault.
    Just a afterthought Checkfan/aircon/powersteering belts
    SOMETIMES??????